Customer Reviews for

Beyond the Highland Mist (Highlander Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 1272 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(695)

4 Star

(321)

3 Star

(153)

2 Star

(45)

1 Star

(58)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

LOVE IT!!!

I love all of KMM's books, I can hardly put them down! I loved the sweet side of the Hawk in this book where he builds a nursery. That's just sweet. Then he loses her and gets her back and then devotes himself to building it back again!

posted by Anonymous on June 3, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Fun time travel romp (from The Tealeaf Review)

As a very devoted Outlander fan, I could not pass up the opportunity to delve back into the world of the Scottish Highlands. What I was not expecting was to giggle so much. Honestly, I haven't read a romance novel in ages, so I'd forgotten just how many times "raging ma...
As a very devoted Outlander fan, I could not pass up the opportunity to delve back into the world of the Scottish Highlands. What I was not expecting was to giggle so much. Honestly, I haven't read a romance novel in ages, so I'd forgotten just how many times "raging manhoods" and "swelling bosoms" were mentioned - I had to bury my face a couple of times in a fabulous fit of immaturity.

But, really, I can't resist a good time travel novel. Nor can I resist books full to the brim of muscley warriors either. Adrienne's flat out resistance to Hawk was absolutely frustrating! Just because he's pretty doesn't mean he's a bad man, you silly woman! It only took you two-thirds of the book to figure that out.

I also felt it could have been a little shorter - some of the resistance scenes felt a little redundant, but overall, I actually really liked it. It was quick and entertaining, and was similar to first Outlander novel without all the.you know.epicness. I will definitely be getting the next in the series.

posted by LizTea on March 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2003

    A Nice Try

    The author tried to make this a good time travel novel but the heroine, Adrienne, was a stereotypical brat. She was so against things that she had little experience with that I got very frustrated with her. Hawk was a great guy, however. His perfection was envious and why he stuck to Adrienne I dont understand. It seemed to me that the author was trying to make it a fantasy novel and she failed. This book started with promise, with the faeries, but it ended dreadfully. I haven't read any of her other works, and after this I don't think I want to, but this book was truly a dissappointment.

    7 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2014

    N

    May i join?? - Whiteclaw (tom cat)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2014

    To:MISTCLAN

    Can I join?@-+Hawk+-@

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    Definitely don't read right after Moning's Fever Series!

    I really appreciated the male lead character that the author created in this book. He had so much heart and quickly came across as someone to root for; however, the cat and mouse games between the love interests were not fun for me, just frustrating. Also, I really enjoyed the world Moning created, particularly the fact that it included the Fae, whom I find so entertaining from her Fever series. However, I kept waiting for more political intrigue, more side stories and complex storylines. This just wasn't that kind of book. For most of the book, it felt like a simple romance novel, which was not what I was expecting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    This book isn't of the caliber of Moning's Fever Series

    Karen Moning's Fever Series was probably the most unique series I have ever read, I read each book back to back, just couldn't put them down. That series had everything I look for in a book that grabs me (i.e. adventure, intrigue, mystery, drama, strong female heroines, magic, mystical, scenic, madness, funny, and interesting and sexy love stories. I kept reading this book, so I could see when the other shoe would drop, where was the unusual twist in the plot? I was disappointed. Karen you pulled me in, but you left me there. I won't purchase #2 in the series. Sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    Glad I bothered to read more of her books...

    This is the worst of all of Karen Marie Moning's books. The characters are likeable but the lines are often cheesy and too done up. I feel like she came up with this story and then slapped it together in one month. It's too dramatic at some points so it's almost painful to read at some points. Even though I enjoyed the book,I would skip this one and move onto the other books in the series which are much much better and more entertaining. If you didn't like this one... read another one of Karen Marie Monings. This is the worst of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    eh.

    ive been reading a lot of highlander stories, and i had a lot of high hopes for this book, but it wasnt as good as i hoped. the story line was very slow, but the idea behind the story was very detailed and entertaining. i think the characters shouldve been more developed. i didnt have any feelings for the characters except lydia. i wouldnt recommend this book to anyone that needs strong characters compared to a complex plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Save your money! There is better books out there!

    It's ok, mildly entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Really? People loved this book?

    I read a lot of good reviews about this series, so how could so many women be wrong? Right? Wrong. If I had to read one more word about how "perfect and beautiful" these two people were, I think I would have pulled all my hair out. Was her "beauty" the only reason he fell in love with her? Because it certainly wasn't her kind, loving personality. Too much of the story just didn't jive for me. Too much animosity between the main characters had me groaning out loud at both of them. I am going to try one more in the series, maybe I'm just a huge cynic, but I love romances and wanted to love the characters and the story, but it just didn't happen.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2007

    Not what I expected.

    This book really disappointed me, so much so that I simply couldn't finish it. Adrienne's character was no more than a petulant child who, after learning 'no' as her first word, refused to say anything else. I'm all for a woman trying to preserve her virtue, but her character just came of as spoiled, unreasonable and contrary. I actually cheered when Grimm finally got sick of her and told her off! Then, rather than taking his words to heart, her pouty response is 'I'm not such a bad person.' PLEASE! Unless you are in to predictability and and frustration, I'd pass on this one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3