Customer Reviews for

Beyond the Pale

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable!

This series is for those who love classic science fiction fantasy like Lord of the Rings or Dragon Lance. The story is split between two main characters until they converge in the book. Travis Wilder is a bit weak to carry the story but I think the author wanted him tha...
This series is for those who love classic science fiction fantasy like Lord of the Rings or Dragon Lance. The story is split between two main characters until they converge in the book. Travis Wilder is a bit weak to carry the story but I think the author wanted him that way. I can envision his development and growing strength, hopefully in the next books. Grace Beckett is a stronger hero but is internally flawed by childhood trauma. I am going to read them all!

posted by LadyHester on April 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Good Beginning

This book has some innovative ideas and interesting situations. The story stands on its own, but I got the impression that the main focus was to lay the groundwork for the overall saga. Thus, I consider the book a good start for the series, but would not recommend it ...
This book has some innovative ideas and interesting situations. The story stands on its own, but I got the impression that the main focus was to lay the groundwork for the overall saga. Thus, I consider the book a good start for the series, but would not recommend it on its own merits.

posted by Anonymous on February 9, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable!

    This series is for those who love classic science fiction fantasy like Lord of the Rings or Dragon Lance. The story is split between two main characters until they converge in the book. Travis Wilder is a bit weak to carry the story but I think the author wanted him that way. I can envision his development and growing strength, hopefully in the next books. Grace Beckett is a stronger hero but is internally flawed by childhood trauma. I am going to read them all!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    NO ESCAPE

    NO ESCAPE; THAT IS HOW YOU WILL FEEL WHEN YOU READ THIS DULL DRUDGERY.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2000

    A Good Beginning

    This book has some innovative ideas and interesting situations. The story stands on its own, but I got the impression that the main focus was to lay the groundwork for the overall saga. Thus, I consider the book a good start for the series, but would not recommend it on its own merits.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    Amazing

    An amazing series that kept me going, I could not put any of these books down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Series

    I have read several series in this genre. I loved the imagination that Mark Anthony has. I have read the whole series once already and am reading it again.

    I would recommend this series to everyone, as well as the author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Surprisingly good

    I have to admit that I wasn't really expecting much from this book. The blurb on the back cover was what prompted me to buy it in the first place; I'm a sucker for good "advertising" like that when it comes to fantasy novels. <BR/><BR/>But, surprise! I opened to the prologue, with the unlikely title of "Brother Cy's Apocalyptic Traveling Salvation Show", and was instantly hooked. This is a well-written beginning to a six-book cycle, which apparently concerns threats not only to the other-dimensional world of Eldh, but also to our Earth as well. <BR/><BR/>Anthony does not seem to develop his two Earthly protagonists too well. I could not get a clear picture of Travis; one could compare him to Clark Kent just beginning to discover his powers, but that's a very broad generalization. And Grace Beckett strikes me as a Vulcan transported to the world of fantasy who is beginning to learn about her emotions. There is also a strong indication that she was abused in some way in her childhood, but nothing definite is mentioned. Hopefully Anthony will expand on their characters in later volumes. <BR/><BR/>The residents of Eldh, however, are much more fleshed out and well-defined - the Lady Kyrene seemed very sinister, King Boreas is a little more intelligent than his hulking appearance makes him seem, and Durge and Beltan are just a bit more than the standard noble defenders of the realm. <BR/><BR/>Of necessity there are some characters who are cloaked in mystery. Falken the bard and the Lady Melia, as well as Queen Ivalaine pose more questions than answers at this point. Exactly who are they, and what do they know? Are they trying to save Eldh or do they have other purposes in mind? <BR/><BR/>I do not see even vague similarities to Robert Jordan's "Wheel of Time" series here, despite several reviewers' claims. In fact, there are far more similarities to David Eddings' "Belgariad" and "Mallorean" cycles than anything else. <BR/><BR/>I look forward to the next book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2003

    Amazing book!

    I've read the four books that are currently published in The Last Rune, and i must say, they are amazing. The only problem i found is with Travis, always thinking its never good to hurt another, even though they might kill him and countless others, i mean really, come on. Other than that the book, and all the others in its series are amazing. I would definitely recommend them to any Tolkien fans

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2001

    Great Book

    I am a avid reader of fantasy and am many times dissapointed when picking up a book that looks great and ends up barely holding my interest, but this one was great, I have read the first two in this series and have to run out to Barnes and Noble now to pick up book three. Great book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2001

    Not Bad!

    I really enjoyed this book, but like many other reviews that I've read, I agree with the complaints of the inconsistancies of Travis' character. I was also dissapointed by the questionable scenes in this book. However, dispite them, I enjoyed the book and recommend it if you are an avid reader. For those who like quick reads, this book isn't for you, it takes a while to really appreciate it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2001

    Beyond the Pale

    I really did enjoy Beyond the Pale. I have been really disappointed with some of the books I've picked up and this one was a great surprise. Just enough of everything to keep me turning pages. Good characters, fantasy worlds and creatures, an evil nemesis, etc. Well written and wonderful to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2001

    First of series

    I enjoyed this book, it was full of action and didn't bog down. My criticism is that the main character, Travis, was inconsistently protrayed. In the beginning of the book he didn't seem as indecisive as he did later on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2001

    Nice Start to New Series

    This is an interesting first book in a new series. The crossing to a alternative world is a well worn concept, but it is handled relatively painlessly here. The protaganists are interesting in that they are flawed, believable people who have been affected by their life experiences. The style a little like Eddings early works with understated humor to help keep the pages turning. One complaint: The characters are pretty quick to accept a trip to another world!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2001

    Beyond the Pale

    This one was a slow starter, but when it took off, WOW! Very well written. Not too much information and not too little. The characters are great and the story is kind of different. I like that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2000

    WONDERFUL

    I think that Mr. Anthony's work is his best yet. The way that he changes from character to character was great. He also did a good job of bring the characters to life. I almost felt that I was in the book with them. I recommend this book to any fantasy lover from 8th grade and up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2000

    A solid meal

    I belive that any good book is like a meal. And Beyond the Pale is an excellent dinner. In food terms, It has a comfortable appetizer, the real world stting. It then moves to the main course, a Meat and Potatoes type course, a fantasy world, with a side dish of political intrigue, spiced with occasional terror. It then reaches the point of tension and wonder, that quenches your mental thirst. Finally the desert reaches you, a warm victory, and promise of more to come in the future. All around a satisfying mental meal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2000

    gripping fantasy epic!

    This is a gripping epic fantasy with all the trimmings:memorable characters,magic, menace, intriguing world and it is dripping with atmosphere!I love the world of Eldh and I especailly liked the charaters of Travis and Grace Beckett and their companions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1