Customer Reviews for

Beyond the Reflection's Edge (Echoes from the Edge Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 95 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted May 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Beyond the Reflection's Edge

    Let's be honest here. You've wondered if there were other dimensions, right? Of course you have. However, if I were to say they existed, you never would have believed me. Well then, come into the life of Nathan Shepherd, who just discovered the reality of alternate dimensions. Jump into his life changing adventure in Beyond the Reflection's Edge, an amazingly thrilling book by Brian Davis.
    Like the other teen two series that Davis has written, it focuses on two things: Portals or other dimensions, with undertones and uses of Christianity. In his first two series, Dragons in our Midst® and Oracles of Fire® these things are heavily used. In Beyond the Reflection's Edge, I found that his writing style has not changed, but Davis comes in with a new perspective. Music. It's the key to everything, the portals, Nathan's life, and even his patents'.
    Of course, Davis doesn't make things simple, so you're always guessing where the plot will go. Nathan's parents are murdered unexpectedly, and he's thrust into a world of mystery, and pulled into a twisting plot with an adoptive sister, Kelly. They realize that they are the only ones that can stop the three dimensions from combining. I was disappointed that Davis was not able to explain the "science" of the dimensions fully, leaving me quite confused, but still interested in the plot.
    Reading the back, I thought that this was going to be a science-fiction book, but the fact that it was very ungrounded in fact, made it seem more and more like a fantasy as the book went on. I loved the plot, the real and vivid characters, and the complex relationships between the characters. I would suggest this book to anyone in their teen years or even adults, especially lovers of music. However, if you have read any other of Davis' books, wait to read Beyond the Reflection's Edge because his writing style is annoyingly repetitive. I waited months to read it because I was sick of the voice from Dragons in Our Midst®, and the subjects used in his books. After my break from Davis, I couldn't put the book down. Besides, how could I not read a book that had music notes on the cover?
    So, with a mirror that leads to other dimensions, a violin that plays whispering voices, and a camera that takes pictures of things your eyes can't see in your dimension, jump into a book with amazing imagery and a twisting, exciting plot line.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Fun to Read

    After much badgering, I finally gave in to a friend who has been after me for weeks to read this book. As an adult, I found it hard to put down, incredibly interesting, and unbelievably imaginative in a realistic sort of way. I appreciate active-role dads like Mr. Davis taking pains to provide fun-to-read Christian fantasy for younger generations. A sense of respect and modesty run throughout the novel and encourage readers to be like the main character. Thanks Mr. Davis, for ministering to the youth of America in such a positive, randomly-sought genre. I can't wait to read the next book in the series.....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Bad reviews here

    I love bryan davis. Even if this happens to be like the worst book he has ever written, he is really a good author. I suggest reading his raising dragons series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Loved it

    This is a great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Nathan Shepard is living the life. Not a normal life, or anythin

    Nathan Shepard is living the life. Not a normal life, or anything vaguely resembling one; but an interesting life, and a very wonderful one at that. His father being an investigator, Nathan has been through dozens of missions and chases around the world. He also symbiotically doubles as a violinist, in the footsteps of his mother, who is world-renowned for her talent.

    Of course, that all changes very quickly when they are unexpectedly killed. His only hints at what to do next lie with a mirror his father left him, as well as noted from his last case. Nathan moves in with his father's old college friend and his daughter, Kelly. Things get strange when events that haven't happened and people that don't exist appear in the mirror.

    This book was... okay. Unfortunately, that's all I can really say about it. I was expecting something vaguely reminiscent of Davis' two "Starlight" series, but got something very different instead. Beyond the Reflection's Edge was sort of a mash of three different sci-fi series I read way back, 10 different quantum physics movies, and random bits of teen culture. Not exactly what I was hoping for. In addition to this, I didn't really love the two main characters. They were much too similar to the characters Jason and Koren from Dragons of Starlight. However, these characters seemed very inconsistent and unrealistic.

    While I am not really a fan of Beyond the Reflection's Edge, I am not giving up on the series yet. I feel there were some hints that the story might take a big twist, so I guess I'll have to keep reading, in order to find out.

    I received a free copy of this book from Zondervan, in exchange for my honest review. The opinions expressed here are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Awesome

    Its the best book you can read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    He's Done it again!

    Beyond the Reflection's Edge is an amazing book. It is a cross between a fantasy and thriller/suspense novel. With many a twist and turn I couldn't put it down.A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    an amazingly imaginative fantasy world

    Teenager Nathan Shepherd travels all over the world solving cases with his investigator father and attending his mother's world-class violin concerts, until his parents are found murdered backstage in a Chicago theater. Left with his father's laptop and a mirror called a Quattro viewer, Nathan's tutor, Clara, takes him to the remote Iowa home of Tony Clark, who Nathan's father knew in college, there to hide from the killers. He quickly makes friends with Tony's teenage daughter, Kelly. He knows the mirror must be important, but he can't figure out why, especially when strange scenes and people start to appear in it. He and Kelly try to discover the secret, but their enemies are also after the mirror's power.Beyond the Reflection's Edge by Bryan Davis (Echoes from the Edge #1) is an amazing book. It has suspense and mystery, as well as powerful underlying themes--all of which make it a must-read story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    AWESOME BOOK!!

    Mr. Davis's complex and brilliant story-lines never cease to amaze me. I have been a fan ever since his first young adult novel, Raising Dragons, and Beyond the Reflection's Edge tops everything he's written thus far! Filled with exciting chases, mysterious characters, and a wonderful Christian theme, BTRE is an amazing book that I would recommend to any young adult. My only caution is that there are occasional discussions about extra-marital sex (not glorifying it, but showing it for what it is: sin) which might not be suitable for kids under 15.I read the entire book the day I got it, in just a few hours. It's extremely intense, fast-paced action that will NOT allow you to put the book down.I anxiously await the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    It Keeps You Guessing

    "Beyond the Reflections Edge" was unlike any book that I have read_and I am an avid reader. For once, I was not certain exactly how the story was going to end. The good guys had to win, of course, but since it is the first book in a series, there is no telling exactly were in the "fight" that the tale will end. The various twists in the story kept me interested from beginning to end.One aspect of this story that I enjoyed was the main character's love for classical music. It is rare to find a modern teenager that likes the work of Mozart, Bach, and others. I also liked the loving and trusting relationship between Nathan and his parents.The main characters remain believable throughout the story. What times a character has unusual abilities, it is explained without stretching the bounds of credibility.As the story progresses, it becomes somewhat tangled. I recommend having a notebook handy so that you can mark down the various alliances and state of being of the numerous characters.Overall, "Beyond the Reflections Edge" is a fascinating tale of intrigue and deception, heroism and love. It might be difficult for less experienced readers to sort through the various overlapping characters but it is well worth the effort.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    WONDERFUL!!!!!!!!!!!

    'Beyond the Reflection's Edge' had me spellbound from the very beggining! Nathan Shepard led an exciting life traveling aound the world with his parents and his tutor, until everything changed when his mother and Nathan were playing a duet, during his solo his mother mysteriosly dissaperred. Strangly, he discovered both his parents dead in coffins minutes later. Immediaently his tutor, Clara, takes him to a 'safe house' belonging to his father's old college pal, Tony Clark, and his daughter, Kelly. In his room is a strange mirror which reflects what Nathan is thinking and ,when he plays music on his violin, can take them to a diffrent diminsion. Nathen and Kelly areleft to solve the mystery of a mirror which shows future troble, a violin which uncovers hidden voices, and a camera that develops images that weren't really there. This book is a definate must-read. I can't wait to read the next book! Bravo, Mr. Davis!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Yet Another Great Success

    Bryan Davis has done it once again with his latest spine-tingler, Beyond the Reflection's Edge. It's incredible how he can fabricate whole worlds out of his imagination, all for the glory of God. His characters are believable and real, so real, in fact, that I feel like I know them better after each chapter. But a word of warning to the cautious: it is one of those books that is impossible to put down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    5 Start Stuff!

    Bryan Davis is a one-in-a-million author. 'Beyond the Reflection's Edge' is also a one-in-a-million book. I would say the book is one of Bryan Davis's best. I would refer it to anyone and EVERYONE. In one word: WOW!!!!! Great job, Mr. Davis! Bravo!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    WONDERFUL!

    You can describe this book with one word_WONDERFUL! It had me guessing even through the very end. A well thought-out plot and believable characters, though what the characters go through are things they never thought possible. This is one book where even before you read the first page you'll need to buckle your seatbelt and hang on for dear life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2010

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    I had read some of his other books when my sisters found this book. I didn't want to read it at first but now I am really glad I did. In this series Nathan and Kelli are trying to save the three earths from falling apart. If you don't read them carefully it may be a little confusing. but in the end it all comes together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2009

    Great Book, Awesome Adventure

    Bryan Davis creates a wonderful world that feels real. The plot is interesting and pulls you in. With it evoking your emotions, you don't want to stop. I recommend this book to anyone looking for adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    My kind of book. My kind of unique plot. My kind of story.

    Review by Jill Williamson

    Sixteen-year-old Nathan Shepherd has an unusual life traveling the world with his investigator father, his world-renowned violinist mother, and his personal tutor. Something goes wrong at a concert in Chicago that results in the death of his parents. Nathan moves to a small town to live with a childhood friend of his father's and his teenage daughter Kelly. He takes little with him: his mother's violin and the Quattro mirror his father had insisted he keep safe.

    As Nathan tries to adapt to his new life, he discovers that his small mirror is the missing piece of a wall-sized mirror in his new bedroom. Once the mirror is whole, Nathan stumbles onto a mystery. The mirror shows him things. But are they his dreams? the future? or a different world? Could his parents still be alive? Nathan and Kelly must work together to figure it all out.

    Wow. This was a completely unexpected and unique story. I've read a few books before that deal with different dimensions, and although this one did get a bit confusing, it was much easier to understand for this non-science girl. I liked Nathan's character a lot. This world needs a lot more "perfect gentlemen." I also really enjoyed how the plot kept unfolding. I sort of saw the ending coming, but I didn't know how Bryan Davis was going to get us there. Overall, this was a really entertaining, fast-paced story. My kind of book. My kind of unique plot. My kind of story. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2008

    It Keeps You Guessing

    ¿Beyond the Reflections Edge¿ was unlike any book that I have read¿and I am an avid reader. For once, I was not certain exactly how the story was going to end. The good guys had to win, of course, but since it is the first book in a series, there is no telling exactly were in the ¿fight¿ that the tale will end. The various twists in the story kept me interested from beginning to end.<BR/><BR/>One aspect of this story that I enjoyed was the main character¿s love for classical music. It is rare to find a modern teenager that likes the work of Mozart, Bach, and others. I also liked the loving and trusting relationship between Nathan and his parents.<BR/><BR/>The main characters remain believable throughout the story. What times a character has unusual abilities, it is explained without stretching the bounds of credibility.<BR/><BR/>As the story progresses, it becomes somewhat tangled. I recommend having a notebook handy so that you can mark down the various alliances and state of being of the numerous characters.<BR/><BR/>Overall, ¿Beyond the Reflections Edge¿ is a fascinating tale of intrigue and deception, heroism and love. It might be difficult for less experienced readers to sort through the various overlapping characters but it is well worth the effort.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2008

    A great start to a new series

    This new series starts off with an amazing book! It is a great fantasy and I eagerly await the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2008

    Bravo!

    Wow! Beyond the Reflection¿s Edge is just as powerful, action-packed, and deep as Dragons In Our Midst and Oracles of Fire. Each word continued to drag me into the story and share Nathan¿s and Kelly¿s adventures. Sometimes I felt as though I could hear the music, even if I didn't necessarily know one of the pieces Nathan was playing. From beginning to end I felt as though I were truly there, feeling the tension, the heartache, the fear, and even the laughter of all characters involved. I say 'Bravo!' to Bryan Davis. Keep it up - I can't wait to read the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5