Customer Reviews for

Beyond the Valley of Thorns (The Land of Elyon Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Just the beginning/middle to a huge adventure...

Beyond The Valley of Thorns is an interesting story. Alexa, the main character, yet again is set to another great adventure. However, this time she is lead farther away from her family to solve a puzzle that needs to be complete. In more serious situations that can hurt...
Beyond The Valley of Thorns is an interesting story. Alexa, the main character, yet again is set to another great adventure. However, this time she is lead farther away from her family to solve a puzzle that needs to be complete. In more serious situations that can hurt or kill someone, Alexa struggles to survive and accept the truth that she unexpectedly encounters about herself.

posted by Pr_Mico on January 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Crazy Beyond The Valley Of Thorns

I read The Dark Hills Divide(the first book), & loved it!!! I think that I would really like this book.

posted by Anonymous on July 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Just the beginning/middle to a huge adventure...

    Beyond The Valley of Thorns is an interesting story. Alexa, the main character, yet again is set to another great adventure. However, this time she is lead farther away from her family to solve a puzzle that needs to be complete. In more serious situations that can hurt or kill someone, Alexa struggles to survive and accept the truth that she unexpectedly encounters about herself.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2010

    Beyond the Valley of Thorns book review

    Beyond the Valley of Thorns drags you into a mystery story which has many twists and turns. In this book Alexa Daley is faced with new challenges she hasn't faced before, for exmple she has to leave the comfort of her home and help a little band of talking animals and two other people to find the last Jocasta and save the Land of Elyon. I would recommend this book to anyone above the age of 11 years old because the book can be confusing if you can't remember all the things that are happening. Also some parts of the book can cause some under aged children to become timid of reading the rest of the book, which makes them miss out on a great story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    AWESOME

    I have not read it yet but,I am planning on it the first one was awesome i reccomend it to people who like adventure:)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Crazy Beyond The Valley Of Thorns

    I read The Dark Hills Divide(the first book), & loved it!!! I think that I would really like this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Hi

    I cant doqnload the SAMPLE!!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Beyond the valley of thorns by patrick Carman

    This an extremely good book. I enjoyed the book, I normally don't read series but since this book is so thrilling I might read the sequels. I love the way Patrick Carman describes the characters. So even if I don't know who Warvold is, I can still get a very good description of who he is. I love this book and think it's the best book I ever laid eyes on or so I say to my friends. But I'm sure that they don't believe me because they all love Harry Potter! Though I disagree I keep my opinions to myself! I hope you enjoy this book as much as I am!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Awesome!

    I loved this book! is u need a book 2 read this summer, i would HIGHLY reccomend the series. But..... start on the first book, its easier 2 understand if u do. Great series! If i could give it 10 stars, i would!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Re Hi

    Yes u can go to ur shop on ur nook then type in the land if eloyn and go to boook two and then press it and
    Then it will say sample then press it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    These books are great

    But you HAFT TO READ THEM IN ORDER

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Cool

    I am reading the dark hills divide and i love it so far and i think i will like this book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Joan Stradling for Teens Read Too

    After saving Bridewell from the man who'd tried to destroy it from within, Alexa Daley thought her troubles were over. But bringing down the walls has opened the land to a new threat from outside. Forces are gathering to bring darkness to the land, and Alexa must play a key role in stopping it from happening. Her adventures will take her BEYOND THE VALLEY OF THORNS and have her confronting giants, bats, ravenous dogs, and an evil mastermind who might be more than she can handle. Reuniting with Alexa in the adventure of the second THE LAND OF ELYON book thrilled me just as it did the first time I read it. These books are great for fantasy lovers of all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing Book

    This book is AMAZING! I foud this book absorbing, intersting, and griping. The book is a book about a girl who finds a stone and can do something special with it. Along the way she meets many friends and comes along many problems. If you looking for a good book here's your answer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2008

    BORING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    omg this was the worst book i've ever read. it bored me out of my skull!!!!<BR/>i had to force myself to finish it so don't waste your time reading it like i did!!!!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2007

    Dylans Reveiw

    I liked the book and I just finished it. I can¿t wait tell the tenth city, I want to read it so bad. Well the beyond the valley of thorns is about a girl name Alexa, and she goes out and fights the giants and saves the three city form getting I over run by huge giants.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2007

    ffgjkfgjk

    i think this book is really good. i never read but i read this one and the book befor this.im probably going to read the next book to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2007

    max's review

    its an awesome book! i realy enjoyed this book. it had a lot of suspence and action. i liked the first book and looking forward to the third, the tenth city.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2007

    Beyond the valley of thorns

    I just finished the book Land of Elyon: Beyond the Valley of Thorns and it was spectacular. Patrick Carman is an excellent author and he keeps readers in and its hard to put it down, and he keeps you on the edge. I can¿t wait to start the third book called the tenth city because of all the other twist and turns Mr. Carman has.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2007

    LOVE IT!

    I loved this book. It kinda had a cliffhanger ending, but it leaves you wanting more. I liked it when Yipes nearly scared Alexa half to death.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2007

    Awesome

    My book is called Beyond the Valley of Thorns. A girl named Alexa and a bunch of friends on a dangerous journey to save the land of Elyon. They encounter many obstacles including bats, ogres, and more. I believe the message of the book is stay together, work together, and never give up. No matter what, they stuck together and worked together. They kept on going and didn¿t quit. Even though they lost a friend. I liked this book and at the same time didn¿t, because at times they pop up something you should have already know. I liked it because of the adventures, suspense, and hard-ships. This book is part of a series so you might not know what happened in the book before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2006

    Rushed

    The first book of this series was phenomenal. I think that this book, however, was a little bit too rushed. Everything came at me TOO fast, and I almost quit it three times. The only good part of this book was the final battle, but I found the rest of it pretty boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3