Customer Reviews for

Beyond the Valley of Thorns (The Land of Elyon Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Just the beginning/middle to a huge adventure...

Beyond The Valley of Thorns is an interesting story. Alexa, the main character, yet again is set to another great adventure. However, this time she is lead farther away from her family to solve a puzzle that needs to be complete. In more serious situations that can hurt...
Beyond The Valley of Thorns is an interesting story. Alexa, the main character, yet again is set to another great adventure. However, this time she is lead farther away from her family to solve a puzzle that needs to be complete. In more serious situations that can hurt or kill someone, Alexa struggles to survive and accept the truth that she unexpectedly encounters about herself.

posted by Pr_Mico on January 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Crazy Beyond The Valley Of Thorns

I read The Dark Hills Divide(the first book), & loved it!!! I think that I would really like this book.

posted by Anonymous on July 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Just the beginning/middle to a huge adventure...

    Beyond The Valley of Thorns is an interesting story. Alexa, the main character, yet again is set to another great adventure. However, this time she is lead farther away from her family to solve a puzzle that needs to be complete. In more serious situations that can hurt or kill someone, Alexa struggles to survive and accept the truth that she unexpectedly encounters about herself.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    AWESOME

    I have not read it yet but,I am planning on it the first one was awesome i reccomend it to people who like adventure:)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Hi

    I cant doqnload the SAMPLE!!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Beyond the valley of thorns by patrick Carman

    This an extremely good book. I enjoyed the book, I normally don't read series but since this book is so thrilling I might read the sequels. I love the way Patrick Carman describes the characters. So even if I don't know who Warvold is, I can still get a very good description of who he is. I love this book and think it's the best book I ever laid eyes on or so I say to my friends. But I'm sure that they don't believe me because they all love Harry Potter! Though I disagree I keep my opinions to myself! I hope you enjoy this book as much as I am!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Awesome!

    I loved this book! is u need a book 2 read this summer, i would HIGHLY reccomend the series. But..... start on the first book, its easier 2 understand if u do. Great series! If i could give it 10 stars, i would!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Re Hi

    Yes u can go to ur shop on ur nook then type in the land if eloyn and go to boook two and then press it and
    Then it will say sample then press it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Cool

    I am reading the dark hills divide and i love it so far and i think i will like this book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Joan Stradling for Teens Read Too

    After saving Bridewell from the man who'd tried to destroy it from within, Alexa Daley thought her troubles were over. But bringing down the walls has opened the land to a new threat from outside. Forces are gathering to bring darkness to the land, and Alexa must play a key role in stopping it from happening. Her adventures will take her BEYOND THE VALLEY OF THORNS and have her confronting giants, bats, ravenous dogs, and an evil mastermind who might be more than she can handle. Reuniting with Alexa in the adventure of the second THE LAND OF ELYON book thrilled me just as it did the first time I read it. These books are great for fantasy lovers of all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing Book

    This book is AMAZING! I foud this book absorbing, intersting, and griping. The book is a book about a girl who finds a stone and can do something special with it. Along the way she meets many friends and comes along many problems. If you looking for a good book here's your answer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2007

    Dylans Reveiw

    I liked the book and I just finished it. I can¿t wait tell the tenth city, I want to read it so bad. Well the beyond the valley of thorns is about a girl name Alexa, and she goes out and fights the giants and saves the three city form getting I over run by huge giants.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2007

    Beyond the valley of thorns

    I just finished the book Land of Elyon: Beyond the Valley of Thorns and it was spectacular. Patrick Carman is an excellent author and he keeps readers in and its hard to put it down, and he keeps you on the edge. I can¿t wait to start the third book called the tenth city because of all the other twist and turns Mr. Carman has.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2007

    LOVE IT!

    I loved this book. It kinda had a cliffhanger ending, but it leaves you wanting more. I liked it when Yipes nearly scared Alexa half to death.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2007

    Awesome

    My book is called Beyond the Valley of Thorns. A girl named Alexa and a bunch of friends on a dangerous journey to save the land of Elyon. They encounter many obstacles including bats, ogres, and more. I believe the message of the book is stay together, work together, and never give up. No matter what, they stuck together and worked together. They kept on going and didn¿t quit. Even though they lost a friend. I liked this book and at the same time didn¿t, because at times they pop up something you should have already know. I liked it because of the adventures, suspense, and hard-ships. This book is part of a series so you might not know what happened in the book before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2006

    FANTASTIC!!!

    this is ine of the best read you will ever read in your life if you life mystery books!! its so exciting. you finally get to see what happens to Warvold and Catherine. you figure out that Ganesh really did not kill Warvold. that he granked posion to pretend that he was dead. But with Catherine she was captuared by the ogres. and kills all of the ogres excepct for ten....... to be continued. now we have to know that this is a great book because i never read and this book just has me hooked on to it. i cant wait to read the reast of Mr.Carman's books as the years pass on!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2006

    Best book of the series so far.

    I LOVED IT!!! Check it out! Buy it! Just read it! Amazing adventures, new characters, reveals important details to the series. All great reasons to read this book. If you read this one first you'll be lost, so start with the first book 'The dark hills Divide' to prepare yourself for this thrilling adventure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2006

    Beyond the Valley of Thorns...AWSOME!!!

    The fate of Alexa Daley's world is in her hands now. Only she can save them from the evil lurking around. Their fate may be in her hands but she is a mere girl of 13 with a little man and a group of animals to help. That may not give her a likely chance of her succeding but she has a smart brain,good friends, and hope. That's all she needs to keep going. She has a few tricks up her sleeve and isn't going to let evil rule without a fight. This book is a great. It takes time to get into it but when you do you won't want to stop.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2006

    Beyond the Valley of Thorns

    Alexa Daley is back again! Alexa is finally starting to understand the secrets of the Jocastas. She even meets a few strangers, friends and foes. Alexa is out looking for the Jocastas and stumbles over some terrifying secrets! Will she find the Jocastas? Will she save the animals? Can she unravel the secrets of the Jocastas? You will find out! I thought this was a very good book! It was so realistic! It had so many details it seemed as if you were there! Also it was very adventurous. Furthermore, Patrick Carman did a great job on this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2006

    Beyond the Valley of Thorns

    Alexa Daley is back in Bridewell where the walls are now gone. One day Alexa is brought a letter that summons her. She ventures off with a wolf, a squirrel, a hawk, a small man, and an average man. They travel beyond the Valley of Thorns that contains giant poles that have their points smothered in poison. They then make it to Castelia fighting off bats and giants along the way. Will they conquer the evil giants and become victorious, or will they die an awful death? This story reveals many unknown facts. I absolutely LOVED this book! It was full of adventure, excitement, and new challenges around every corner. It is extremely well written with a lot of detail and expression. I also love the ending that leaves you longing for the next book. This book is impossible to put down! This is an absolutely wonderful book that I think many people especially animal lovers, would really enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2006

    Read it over and over again

    I always read it. Because I love books with magic places like The Land Of Elyon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2005

    an excellent book!!!!!

    this book was very good!!! although, it took me a long time to get into it, i still thought it was a very good book!! the ending was very good, although it is a MAJOR cliffhanger!!!!! arrggh!!! and some parts surprised me very, very much. like when . . . well im not gonna say. you are just going to have to read it for yourselves. you would definetly like this book, but personally, i like the first one better!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2