Customer Reviews for

Bias: A CBS Insider Exposes How the Media Distort the News

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Must-Read for all Journalists

I had to read this book for a college class. Goldberg does a superb job exposing what most Americans suspected all along. Easy-read and he definitly opened my eyes to how bias the media can be. I take comfort in the fact that there are people out there who still believ...
I had to read this book for a college class. Goldberg does a superb job exposing what most Americans suspected all along. Easy-read and he definitly opened my eyes to how bias the media can be. I take comfort in the fact that there are people out there who still believe in reporting the facts and allowing the general public to form their own opinions. Kudos to Goldberg for not being afraid to tell the truth, he¿s earned my respect.

posted by Anonymous on October 8, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Thought provoking but poorly done

You would think that a book exposing media bias would rely on journalistic objectivity to make its case. In the case of Bernie Goldberg's book, you would, however be wrong.

Bernie has an axe to grind with Dan Rather and CBS for responding poorly to behavior most ...

You would think that a book exposing media bias would rely on journalistic objectivity to make its case. In the case of Bernie Goldberg's book, you would, however be wrong.

Bernie has an axe to grind with Dan Rather and CBS for responding poorly to behavior most corporate management would find objectionable (I think you can skip the first 50 pages of the book which focuses primarily on the feud and mentions ONE example of bias).

The book makes a better case for arguing that what we call news is driven by market share than it does for liberal bias. This book itself demonstrates strong bias.

Think about it - if you were in high school and needed to do a report on bias in the news, you'd start by defining bias and you'd find some way of measuring that bias on news programs. Your analysis of content based on your proposed measure would allow you to determine first whether the news was biased and second in which direction it was slanted. The book does not do this. It lists a handful of questionable examples that are hardly representative of broadcast or cable news in its entirety.

If you submitted this book as your paper on media bias, you'd be lucky to get a C+. Far from a persuasive argument on the subject, the author sounds like a whiny little boy focusing on a scant handful of examples. The leap from these to his conclusion is hardly logical in that his justification seems to be, 'We all know it's true.'

Personally, I think the media is biased. I think they do pieces that are liberally biased but I believe there are also conservatively biased pieces. In today's news, I think the conservative bias is having a much bigger negative impact on our society. But more than bias, I think broadcast and cable news are pretending to provide journalistic coverage of issues while selecting (and presenting) only those topics which they guess lead to higher viewership. Gone is the notion of educating the public. It's been replaced by entertaining the public.

'What Liberal Bias?' by Eric Alterman is a better read on the subject and it refutes some of the claims made by Bernie Goldberg. I recommend the Alterman book over this one.

If you read this book I encourage you to read it objectively and with an open mind. How should a bias argument be formed and what would be a persuasive analysis of that argument?

posted by Anonymous on February 10, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 75 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2003

    Thanks for telling the TRUTH!

    Everyone needs to read and re read this one. I thought it was Great! A reporter should just report, not slant or tinge the story with his input..I think I had already opened my eyes when Sen. Wellstone's Memorial was presented..on CSpan and None of the Goings on were reported to any extent On the News..When Rather showed up on Larry King and got some pretty INTERESTING and UNEXPECTED CALLS ..it made me think that this Author Spoke the truth..The Media had a great influence on my life until recently, now I READ and LISTEN BETWEEN the LINES..thanks for having the Courage to Write this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2003

    Finally

    Thanks for a well written book from an insiders perspective.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2003

    ON THE NOSE!!!

    As a person who lives in flyover country, I have first-hand experience with what Mr. Goldberg lived with everyday (the NY liberal elite). In the 70s, Andy Lack of CBS News came to my city to interview a representative from both sides of the abortion issue. As the representative for the Pro-Life side, I spent a day with Mr. Lack, who was gathering info for a documentary. We toured the state capitol & talked with legislators. The documentary was supposed to look at both sides. It was, however, a one-sided attempt to portray the Pro-Life position as a bunch of Clinic-burning crazies and the Pro-Abortion side as the sensible choice. When I viewed the documentary, it appeared that he had not spent one moment with anyone from the Pro-Life point of view. GOD BLESS YOU, MR. GOLDBERG!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2003

    It's About Time

    Many have made the claim of Bias in Network media which has been ignored for the most part, and God willing,with Mr.Goldberg's reputation, this book will stick it's foot out, and trip the guilty flat on their faces

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2003

    Flawless

    Truth, excellent arguments, and ironic humor. All of the limousine liberal elites (Rather, Brokaw, Jennings, etc.) in the left wing media have too long failed to even beleive that many opposing views to theirs even exist. In the words of Goldberg "The ship be sinking."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2002

    I am a political science student and read this book last summer

    I am admittedly a little leaning to the left of the spectrum, but Mr. Goldberg clearly displays how he felt about the media. Due to his accusations inside the media, he became the back yard reporter, and the power that news anchormen really have in the media is clearly displayed in his book. Whether or not you are a leftist or on the right, everyone should be aware that there is a debate that our current media is not a hard source that it used to be, but is now subject to political agendas and opinions are being pushed out the television to millions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2002

    Bias Exposes The Truth

    Absolutely brilliant! Mr. Goldberg thoroughly explains how liberals control the issues of the day through their control of the media. There has been no legitimate argument that the left has to counter the points made in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2002

    Well-written, filled with facts that even some conservatives might not know

    An excellent read, not only for its content, but in the cohesive way it is written -- if you didn't know this was Goldberg's first book, you would never have guessed. If you have any liberal friends here who laugh in your face whenever you claim there's a liberal bias in the media, buy them this book. The facts are unarguable, and some even surprised me (see the chapter on the misinformation about AIDS). Most interesting, Goldberg is a LIBERAL himself. The right can claim a liberal bias all they want, and the left can deny it, but Goldberg's position of a liberal criticizing his fellow liberal journalists is truly unique. His book is simply irrefutable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2002

    Media bias is anti-white

    Great book! If the media isn't biased than 1. Why was there no national coverage of the Wichita killings? And secondly,why are they deliberately trying to ignore, 'The Color of Crime' by American Renaissance? What if over 90% of interracial crime were black on white, instead of the other way around??? Care to guess what the media's reaction would be????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2002

    Informative

    I am astonished that someone would attempt to write a book review without reading the book first (as one 'reviewer' did). This book was written by a self-proclaimed liberal - not a conservative, as one reviewer suggested. His criticisms of the press and the exposure he gives certain hypocritical comments given by liberal pundits in the press (see chapter on 'hate speech') are credible based on the fact that he was there - and he worked closely with these people for years. Regardless of the political side you favor, there is no getting away from that. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2002

    Read This Book!!!!!! Its Worth It!!!

    Everything Benard Goldberg says is simply the truth and unfortnately that hurts media elites. (Rather, Jennings, and Brokaw).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2002

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND

    This book tells it like it is. After years of being labeled as freaks or narrow-minded idiots by the powerful news media, Goldberg says that conservative, traditional, Christians who value life and who love America should be viewed as the intelligent, educated individuals that they are. The media bias has gone on way too long and it's about time someone called them on the carpet!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2002

    Media give people what they want

    I keep encountering phrases like 'details many examples of bias', how Goldberg has 'done the unthinkable' in exposing media bias. Well, it's not unthinkable (see Chomsky), it doesn't detail many examples (Goldberg says, basically, 'Ooooh, if I had a nickel for every instance I could document,' then leaves it at that. How many instances, Bernard? 200? 1,200? What were they; could you find that out for us, Bernard, and then write a book about left-wing bias? And leave out your fabricated example that is in fact an excerpt from a newspaper story about bug-mating; smart readers now know why you didn't bother with footnotes. With all his recent months of TV interviews, why does no one ask Goldberg, 'You didn't footnote anything, Bernard. Why is that?') Bottom line: the media present things the way they do if they can make money at it, not because they're lefties. It's the quest to make huge amounts of money and it's not a bad thing. The product makes you wince, no question, and Goldberg knows like the rest of us what's cringe-worthy. And he knows an alternative -- a bias to the right -- could be worse.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2002

    The Truth?

    I have to admit first off that I have not read this book, but the thing that's painfully obvious is the political slant of the readers who review it. The 'conservative' postings praise it for bringing the 'liberal' media out of the closet, while 'liberals' trash it for being nonsense. But let me clarify something here: Expecting objectiveness from human beings, especially with something as broad as the news or politics, which are both are our history in the making, is lining yourself up for disappointment. I can't say I feel sorry for conservatives. The truth is, I don't want Christian slant or ANY religious slant to what I watch on television. This isn't a theocracy. I was going to say 'sorry,' but I'm not. Also, the news can't be that liberal. The fact that national news companies are owned by wealthy conservatives in bed with just about everyone keep that from being a reality. That's why you never see true left opinions, like that of Noam Chomsky - who's quoted on a daily basis in foreign press - on television or in the papers. The 'liberal' bashing of this book gets no sympathy from me, either. It's quite obvious that most reporters are liberal, as are most educated people, so trying to dismiss this book as nonsense doesn't further your quest for importance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2002

    Finally Looney Liberals Exposed!!!

    All you communist, self hating, baby killing, limousine liberals can suck on this book until you die!! You people have been destroying the moral fiber of this country for decades and now its time to stop. Dont't let the media brain wash you!! Watch FOX NEWS for fair news reporting. And by the way to the guy that wrote that all the people who own the media stations are rich conservatives, ummm ever heard of the jewish lobby in this country which happen to be the some of the most richest and liberal people in the world, and they happen to own every media station in the country (now that Ted Turner has been bought out by them) Liberal Bias resides not only in the news but in the t.v shows you watch every day and the movies you pay 8.50 for. Something must be done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2002

    Only one thing to say

    I have only one thing to say about this book other than it is excellent, I am now truly convinced the media is to be viewed with much descretion, more so than fantasy television.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2002

    Self-congratulatory, ego stroking and pocket lining effort

    If someone wants to read this book they should check it out of the library. Goldberg tells us something we already know, that the media is biased. Anyone that watches the sorry parade of what passes as news with a critical eye already knows that. That is why viewership of the networks has greatly declined. If you are looking for an indepth look at what is behind the left wing bias, most notibly, the decision making process that goes into deciding what stories to air and more importantly, what stories to completely ignore, forget it, you won't discover it in this book. It is largely a self-congratulatory, ego stoking effort, where Goldberg paints himself as the hero of the day. At one point he notes with pride that he received a voice mail from Dick Wolf, the executive producer of the NBC show Law and Order, that said, among other things, '....You were one thousand percent on the money. It was great to say that 'Yes indeed, the Emperor is naked.' This coming from a man whose show takes stories 'ripped from the headlines' and distorts them into a politically correct diatribe illustrates the duplicity between the 'news' and 'entertainment' media. Neo-conservatives such as Limbaugh (who has conserved nothing but his bloated salary) all over the country are heaping praise on the book because it does validate their argument in a superficial, safe way that really does not challenge the left wing power structure that sits atop the news/entertainment industry, that people like Limbaugh, George Will, and now Goldberg are a part, offered to us as safe, respectible conservatives, meaning that they haven't really conserved anything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2002

    A Bit Overhyped

    While I find no fault in what Mr. Goldberg has to say, I find it somewhat strange that this is making such a splash. As he states, 'that the media elites have a liberal bias is so blatantly true that it is hardly worth discussing anymore.' Then he takes 223 pages to discuss it. There is simply not much new here. However, it is a good recap of what we conservatives have been stating for years. To have an insider confirm it all is really the only news here and what is causing such a stir. This is not a 'great' book, but a valuable addition toward honesty in journalism.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2002

    Been saying it all my life...

    At last, a book that says what I've been saying since the 70's. The media is liberal, and it is biased against conservatives. The media portrayed Reagan, one of the greatest presidents in history, in a negative light, but it praised Clinton, a true loser and a disgrace to the office without ceasing. Glad this expose has been written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2002

    Turns the light on Network News Bias

    Relates the backroom goings on with the news we hear on TV and in print. This is a must for those of you that think that your nightly news program is fair and balanced. I enjoyed the book and I am reading it for a second time. You will never look at Jennings, Rather & Brokaw the same way. See why the Wall Street Journal is the bible for the media. That in itself makes this a MUST READ.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 75 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4