BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Bible - Douay-Rheims Version (Catholic Bible)

Average Rating 5
( 539 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(530)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 539 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 27
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    One of the best books ever written

    Easy to read and navigate, clean formatting. A+! No bugs.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    Great on Nook!!

    I was worried this would be hard to navigate, but it's super easy! You can jump right to Book, Chapter and verse! Bravo for the Nook!!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    Book, Chapter, and Verse navigation! Just what I was looking for!

    This is a great e-book version of the Douay-Rheims Challoner revision (1st published in 1752 I believe). Very well done navigation (perfect for group bible study) even if it can take a few seconds to load in certain larger books (like Psalms) on my Nook Touch - just click on Old or New Testament, then click on the book, and then click on the verse! It also seems to have footnotes below certain verses (in a slightly smaller font size) which appear to be attributed to Bishop Richard Challoner as well. Some additional information on this translation: It should be noted that this translation uses an older setup. So for example, what in modern bibles is numbered as Psalm 119, would be numbered as Psalm 118 in this version (I think this is only the case for Psalms, not other books), but all the psalms are there. And book names / order are slightly different, but they are all there. Notable modern book names changes are as follows: (Douay-Rheims vs. Modern Bibles) 1 Kings became 1 Samuel, 2 Kings became 2 Samuel, 3 Kings became 1 Kings, 4 Kings became 2 Kings, 1 Paralipomenon became 1 Chronicles, 2 Paralipomenon became 2 Chronicles, 2 Esdras became Nehemiah, Canticle of Canticles became Song of Solomon

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An excellent Douay-Rheims version!

    The Douay-Rheims in itself is somewhat different from other translations. It was translated directly from the Latin Vulgate, so it follows its chapter and verse numbering as well as titles of the books and their order. I wanted to get a really good version of the D-R Catholic Bible for my NOOK that would preserve these unique features and also be reader friendly. I found this one and have been very happy with it so far. I love the Active Table of Contents and the way it is formatted.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    A well-done publication

    I am just starting my journey as a Nook user, so my e-library is rather small. I was glad to find the Douay-Rheims Bible e-version on B&N as I have always wanted to compare it to other translations. Having it on my Nook makes it much easier to finally read this particular translation. I am certainly delighted with the way how nicely done this publication is. I can easily move from chapter to chapter, there are no typos or errors that I have noticed (several e-books had those which was quite a turn-off for me). Hat off to a publisher! I am a happy customer.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 539 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 27