BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Bible of Unspeakable Truths

Average Rating 4
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Check it out Check-it-Outers

Greg Gutfeld is the host of Fox TV's Red Eye. He is part libertarian political commentator and part stand up comedian. The Bible of Unspeakable Truths is a lot like the TV show in print. It is Greg's take on the politics, religion, disease, government, food, racism, sex...
Greg Gutfeld is the host of Fox TV's Red Eye. He is part libertarian political commentator and part stand up comedian. The Bible of Unspeakable Truths is a lot like the TV show in print. It is Greg's take on the politics, religion, disease, government, food, racism, sex, ethics, the mass media and pop culture. His irreverent style and wit gives the reader a manual for how to think about things by a guy who has also thought about the same things. As Greg would say "Check it out check-it-outers", this is a funny book about some serious things (and some not so serious). It is a book full of Gregalogues, (monologues by Greg) and it is written to entertain. It might not change your mind about your political beliefs, but you will find it funny.
And if you disagree with me.

posted by Billjr13 on May 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Amusing at times, but bad politics

For a conservative Gutfeld is funny, but that isn't high praise. Conservatives are known for not being funny, even when they try. The funniest conservative I know of is a faux one, the Stephen Colbert character on Comedy Central. Gutfeld says he is a conservative who le...
For a conservative Gutfeld is funny, but that isn't high praise. Conservatives are known for not being funny, even when they try. The funniest conservative I know of is a faux one, the Stephen Colbert character on Comedy Central. Gutfeld says he is a conservative who leans libertarian and it shows. He leans but he is not a libertarian. For example he takes the position that those who had opposed the Iraq war were against America. Sigh, this isn't a very libertarian position, though he is as he says, only "leans libertarian." If a national military or foreign policy is wrong, then it is wrong. If you think a president is leading the nation in a wrong direction, then the liberty to question one's government does not stop in those circumstances. But, conservatives understand this when criticial of President Clinton in regards to Bosnia. Why don't they understand it when presidents are republicans? I would really love to ask Gutfeld and the Hannitys of the U.S., that question.

Gutfeld aso takes the "required" shots agaisnt environmentalists and those concerned with animal rights. I eat meat, so I can't say I am a devoted member of PETA, but conservatives seem to have trouble understanding that environmentalists and other groups on the left (or working for causes traditionally viewed as on the left) truly believe in those causes. I don't agree with the Christian right on basically anything, but they truly believe that gays are a worst threat to society then say, terrorists. Gutfeld at least isn't on the Christian right. If I had to vote for a conservative of some fame for public office, I would consider Gutfeld but that is only in comparison to people like the mentally unbalanced Glenn Beck and the authoritarians that are Levin, Coulter and Savage. Gutfeld at least agrees the drug war is stupid. I will give Gutfeld 3 stars because though I disagree with much of the politics of the book, the overall humor is ok. If this was a grade just on politics, it would be lower. This by the way, is the highest grade I have ever given a conservative book. None has deserved it until now and it took a quasi-comedy book to do it.

posted by PaineToday on June 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 23, 2010

    Check it out Check-it-Outers

    Greg Gutfeld is the host of Fox TV's Red Eye. He is part libertarian political commentator and part stand up comedian. The Bible of Unspeakable Truths is a lot like the TV show in print. It is Greg's take on the politics, religion, disease, government, food, racism, sex, ethics, the mass media and pop culture. His irreverent style and wit gives the reader a manual for how to think about things by a guy who has also thought about the same things. As Greg would say "Check it out check-it-outers", this is a funny book about some serious things (and some not so serious). It is a book full of Gregalogues, (monologues by Greg) and it is written to entertain. It might not change your mind about your political beliefs, but you will find it funny.
    And if you disagree with me.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Read this or else.....you know don't..

    As usual Greg is, well, rank with awesome awesomeness! Yeah it's like that! Only better!

    I have refused to read this book in public, for the simple fact that I fear laughing and rolling on the floor. Public floors are dirty people, I've seen what you've stepped in!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    The Bible of Unspeakable Truths

    This is one of the best books I have ever read, a life changer...After reading this book my obsessive compulsive thoughts of suicide have left me and I even occasionally go outside for a few minutes each week.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    Interesting and funny all at once!!

    We like Greg and listen to him on Redeye. We are long haul truck drivers and listen on satellite radio. All my book are audio and enjoyed listening to Greg read his own book. Love his outlandish sense of humor and agree with his point of view on most subjects. She B.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    A hilarious look at common sense, or the lack of it, in some people.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amusing at times, but bad politics

    For a conservative Gutfeld is funny, but that isn't high praise. Conservatives are known for not being funny, even when they try. The funniest conservative I know of is a faux one, the Stephen Colbert character on Comedy Central. Gutfeld says he is a conservative who leans libertarian and it shows. He leans but he is not a libertarian. For example he takes the position that those who had opposed the Iraq war were against America. Sigh, this isn't a very libertarian position, though he is as he says, only "leans libertarian." If a national military or foreign policy is wrong, then it is wrong. If you think a president is leading the nation in a wrong direction, then the liberty to question one's government does not stop in those circumstances. But, conservatives understand this when criticial of President Clinton in regards to Bosnia. Why don't they understand it when presidents are republicans? I would really love to ask Gutfeld and the Hannitys of the U.S., that question.

    Gutfeld aso takes the "required" shots agaisnt environmentalists and those concerned with animal rights. I eat meat, so I can't say I am a devoted member of PETA, but conservatives seem to have trouble understanding that environmentalists and other groups on the left (or working for causes traditionally viewed as on the left) truly believe in those causes. I don't agree with the Christian right on basically anything, but they truly believe that gays are a worst threat to society then say, terrorists. Gutfeld at least isn't on the Christian right. If I had to vote for a conservative of some fame for public office, I would consider Gutfeld but that is only in comparison to people like the mentally unbalanced Glenn Beck and the authoritarians that are Levin, Coulter and Savage. Gutfeld at least agrees the drug war is stupid. I will give Gutfeld 3 stars because though I disagree with much of the politics of the book, the overall humor is ok. If this was a grade just on politics, it would be lower. This by the way, is the highest grade I have ever given a conservative book. None has deserved it until now and it took a quasi-comedy book to do it.

    2 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2010

    Entertaining

    I will first admit that I am a fan of Greg Gutfeld. That being said the book overall is entertaining and provided many a moment of out loud laughter (poolside, on plane, in waiting room, etc). The writing at times was off-balance but I never did expect a profile in writing (Gutfeld would most likely agree). No regrets, a fun, entertaining book with some great one-liners that will resurface in future conversations!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2014

    Greg Gutfeld is without doubt one of the best authors out there.

    Greg Gutfeld is without doubt one of the best authors out there. His books are always entertaining and telling of a society gone amuck.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

     

     

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Watch Red Eye! This Guy is FUNNY!

    Greg is the Great Ringmaster on FoxNews's Red Eye, where he lords over fantastic panels filled with funny, witty, beautiful (sometimes) guests who go over the days/weeks events. Insightful, "The Bible of Unspeakable Truths" puts into print many of the rant-like Greg-a-logues we've come to love (when I finally get to see the Saturday edition of the show, as Red Eye means "Red Eye" during the week). Although the show is a nicely paced circus of information and hilarity, the book seems a bit disjointed at times. Some nice ramblings, but no coherent stringing together or similar topics-- but I understand that this is the way Greg works. An enjoyable book, no doubt about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2010

    Big Let Down

    I hoped that this book would be as funny as Red Eye on Fox News Channel, but unfortunately, it was very sub-par. There were some good lines, but not many.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2010

    great

    this is great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2