Customer Reviews for

Big Bad Beast (Pride Stories Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 290 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(191)

4 Star

(78)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 294 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted April 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    readers will appreciate this engaging entry

    Alpha male Niles Van Holtz accompanied by his six year old cousin Ric meets with the paternal leader of the Tennessee Smith pack Egbert Ray Smith. Eggie warns his ten years old daughter Dee Ann to avoid the sneaky Van Holtz clan. Van stops Ric from proposing.

    Twenty-five years later, Ric is a former marine and Dee Ann's boss at the Group. He is also a highly regarded executive chef. Van arranged a joint venture with Katzenhaft Security to look into the illegal use of hybrids in fight arenas. Dee Ann is unhappy when the KZS representative is six foot ex marine Cella Malone. NYPD full human Detective Desiree MacDermot, the third member of the team, breaks up the bare knuckle brawl between the two other females.

    Dee Ann gets a list of property owners where fights were held. She and her partners interview those on the list. When she is hurt beating up some hyenas, Ric takes her to his apartment where they fight until Dee Ann kisses him. His wolf knows she is his mate, but she refuses to accept that. Ric looks at finance records that prove his father is stealing from the pack. As the couple works their respective cases, Dee Ann fears she is falling for Ric.

    The lead couple is a fun pairing of an in your face woman and a subtle man. The support cast is strong including the returns of lead characters from previous three books in series. Although the climax is weak especially for a Shelly Laurenston's romantic urban fantasy, readers will appreciate this engaging entry as the issues faced by hybrids do not magically clear up.

    Harriet Klausner

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    Great Read!

    Have read all the Pride Series and never disappointed yet! Shelly has a way to bring in all her characters from previous reads which is a nice way to round out the book. With a character like DeeAnn you know it will not be boring. Have fun reading!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    BBB

    To be honest, I really liked the book. However, I did not read the books in order and had a hard time trying to figure out who was who. After the prologue, the story starts at a point where the couple already know each other. It left me feeling confused since I had no idea who they were. I guess the problem was that i got the book on paperback instead of ebook. I read Bear meets girl first, it was really good and funny. Loved it. If this is your first book by Shelly L. go back. Dont read this one yet, try to find the first one in the series so you wont feel lost, hehe. L.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another great story!

    Shelly Laurenston doesn't seem to put them out as fast as some authors but her stories are always worth it. I couldn't wait for DeeAnn & Ric's story but you totally read it stand alone. Her books are always laugh out loud funny, her female characters kick a#%, the men & the sex are always hot. Laurenston is always the kind of author I forget when I think about my favorites but I always look forward to her books and they have yet to disappoint.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2011

    Soon good

    I love this writer laughout loud funny

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    Fa A favorite

    Its a book to read more than once and still laugh over d same funny parts. Love it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2012

    Highly Recommended!

    Great read! Fast and entertaining! Excellent ending to the series. The series was very hot and sexy!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A lot of southern charm and humor.

    This is a pretty good shifter series but if you haven't read the 5 before this then you will be completely lost on characters/shifterspecies etc. I didn't realize this was the 6th book in the series when I started it, or else I wouldn't have read it.

    The two main characters in this series are Dee Ann Smith and Ulrich Van Holtz aka Ric. Dee Ann and Ric are from enemy packs and are taught from a small age to stay away from each other or anyone in the enemy pack. In Dee Ann's case her father always told her if she ever came across a "Smith" to start the killings.

    Later on in the series they are both in their twenties and Dee Ann and Ric work together in the Group. Basically, the Group works together to protect all species of shifters, even Hybrids.

    There are a bunch of murders of Hybrids going on and Dee Ann gets assigned to the case, along with two other women. They are working together to try and find out who's sponsoring these fight clubs, where hybrid shifters are getting killed. They want to find the main person responsible for the fight clubs so they can shut the groups down.
    I enjoyed Dee Ann's character, as she's a tough chick who doesn't take crap and she terrifies most of the people who are in the book. She's not really good with people skills unless it involves intimidation tactics but even with her brass personality you can tell she is loyal and has a good heart.

    Ric Van Holtz is a chef for his own, well established restraints, part of the head for the Group, and a hockey player. He's a really sweet guy who completely loves Dee Ann and knows exactly what she needs in a mate. He had some good character traits but he didn't really strike me as an Alpha, more like a Beta but I guess Dee Ann is enough of an Alpha for both of them.
    This is a great read if you like Shifter books, but you definitely need to read the other 5 books to be able to follow this series.
    I did receive this book for Free to give my honest review. This did not affect the rating on the book and my rating/review is strictly my own opinion.

    Rated 4 of 5 by Paranormal Addicts

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Beastly Laughs!

    I want to know who I have to annoy to get this woman to write faster! My goodness; Ms. laurenston's books are well written, follows her series to a tee and are absolutely without a doubt; HILARIOUS! Besides the romance, that you know is obviously in there; her books have a wit and charm that I can't find in any other authors' books or series of books. I have read just about all of Ms. Laurenston's books and wish that she would come out with more at least once every six months! I am very happy to say that her latest edition to the pack series did not disappoint and can only hope that she will not keep her fans waiting for another one. Thank you, Ms. Laurenston!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    Loved it

    He knew he loved her when he was six years old. The Restaurateur and the Killer. Fun with a capital F.
    I thought I would choke on my laughter several times during this fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    Reprint

    Very angry that this is a reprint with no warning!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2014

    Dee-Ann Smith is an ex Marine who will stop at nothing to protec

    Dee-Ann Smith is an ex Marine who will stop at nothing to protect other shifter and hybrids. She won't back down from any fight and never backs down from danger. The only thing she has trouble with is Ric Van Holtz. He is her boss and not like the shifters she is used to. He is smart and charming and while he won't back down from a fight he is more a lover than a fighter. When they have to work together to save the hybrids from the dogfights and figure out who is behind taking them. Ric has always known Dee is the one for him. Working together may give them the chance to see that they are perfect for each other.

    I liked this book as all the different shifters and hybrids were a joy getting to know. Dee is one of the toughest female shifters I have read about. You would think she belongs with a tough male shifter everyone is afraid of but Ric actually seems perfect for her. He is the one who gives balance to the relationship. While she may be tough he is tough but he is also the one who uses his head and keeps calm. He shows his tough side a few times but for the most part Dee is the head one in the pair. They are opposites in many ways and their families don't see eye to eye but they work great together. They have lots of chemistry in the bedroom. Dee has to see it's ok to show a softer side at times. There is plenty of action in this book as Dee and the others try to save the hybrids and even take on each other at times. If you enjoy paranormal romance books with shifters you may want to give this book a try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2014

    Love Dee-Ann!

    Great book, funny. I enjoy how Niles Van Holtz is a bit uptight since he is older.

    Kittsune

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Awesome book

    I have been waiting fir a book about Dee Ann. Worth the wait.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    This book is a winner!

    Has a good story line, plot, and romance that kept me reading until the every end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2013

    A must read!

    I love all of her books. They are funny and easy to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    Fun read

    Engaging characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Great read

    Funny, romantic and touching

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    yes another one

    I have read all the pride stories out so far funny funny

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    12/5/12

    12/5/12 After a slow start this book eventually did a 180 and got very interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 294 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15