Customer Reviews for

Big Bad Beast (Pride Stories Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 291 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(191)

4 Star

(79)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 191 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted April 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    readers will appreciate this engaging entry

    Alpha male Niles Van Holtz accompanied by his six year old cousin Ric meets with the paternal leader of the Tennessee Smith pack Egbert Ray Smith. Eggie warns his ten years old daughter Dee Ann to avoid the sneaky Van Holtz clan. Van stops Ric from proposing.

    Twenty-five years later, Ric is a former marine and Dee Ann's boss at the Group. He is also a highly regarded executive chef. Van arranged a joint venture with Katzenhaft Security to look into the illegal use of hybrids in fight arenas. Dee Ann is unhappy when the KZS representative is six foot ex marine Cella Malone. NYPD full human Detective Desiree MacDermot, the third member of the team, breaks up the bare knuckle brawl between the two other females.

    Dee Ann gets a list of property owners where fights were held. She and her partners interview those on the list. When she is hurt beating up some hyenas, Ric takes her to his apartment where they fight until Dee Ann kisses him. His wolf knows she is his mate, but she refuses to accept that. Ric looks at finance records that prove his father is stealing from the pack. As the couple works their respective cases, Dee Ann fears she is falling for Ric.

    The lead couple is a fun pairing of an in your face woman and a subtle man. The support cast is strong including the returns of lead characters from previous three books in series. Although the climax is weak especially for a Shelly Laurenston's romantic urban fantasy, readers will appreciate this engaging entry as the issues faced by hybrids do not magically clear up.

    Harriet Klausner

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    Great Read!

    Have read all the Pride Series and never disappointed yet! Shelly has a way to bring in all her characters from previous reads which is a nice way to round out the book. With a character like DeeAnn you know it will not be boring. Have fun reading!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another great story!

    Shelly Laurenston doesn't seem to put them out as fast as some authors but her stories are always worth it. I couldn't wait for DeeAnn & Ric's story but you totally read it stand alone. Her books are always laugh out loud funny, her female characters kick a#%, the men & the sex are always hot. Laurenston is always the kind of author I forget when I think about my favorites but I always look forward to her books and they have yet to disappoint.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2011

    Soon good

    I love this writer laughout loud funny

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    Fa A favorite

    Its a book to read more than once and still laugh over d same funny parts. Love it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Beastly Laughs!

    I want to know who I have to annoy to get this woman to write faster! My goodness; Ms. laurenston's books are well written, follows her series to a tee and are absolutely without a doubt; HILARIOUS! Besides the romance, that you know is obviously in there; her books have a wit and charm that I can't find in any other authors' books or series of books. I have read just about all of Ms. Laurenston's books and wish that she would come out with more at least once every six months! I am very happy to say that her latest edition to the pack series did not disappoint and can only hope that she will not keep her fans waiting for another one. Thank you, Ms. Laurenston!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    Loved it

    He knew he loved her when he was six years old. The Restaurateur and the Killer. Fun with a capital F.
    I thought I would choke on my laughter several times during this fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2014

    Love Dee-Ann!

    Great book, funny. I enjoy how Niles Van Holtz is a bit uptight since he is older.

    Kittsune

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    This book is a winner!

    Has a good story line, plot, and romance that kept me reading until the every end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2013

    A must read!

    I love all of her books. They are funny and easy to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Great read

    Funny, romantic and touching

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    yes another one

    I have read all the pride stories out so far funny funny

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    I loved it. Also look for (Howl for it).

    I loved this book. And if u did as well then please read (Howl For It). It's set in the 1950's and its about Dee-Ann's parents and how they met as well as all her aunts and uncles. I would honestly read it first then read this book so u know about the family back round. As well as its just a darn good book. As well as sexy. Good love sense. All in all great read.

    Thank you..
    Kelly :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    yea....found a new author

    I have now found a new author, who writes great books....If you like wolf pride books, then you will absolutely love this book. I know that I sure loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Delightful story!

    So glad my favorite couple Bo and Delaney were written into the story. Whenever they're around, all hell breaks loose. Loved reading about Dee with her funky attitude and Ric who seems to be a soothing balm for Dee. Loved Dee's parents! The story was laugh out loud funny! Another library keeper!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    Love!

    Each book in this series was awesome! Would def recommend reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2012

    Amazing!

    All her books are thoroughly entertaining and keep me riveted and laughing the entire time. This book is one of my favorites and also one of the funniest. I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    OMG, another awesome book

    If you haven't tried this author, you simply must!!! I don't know anyone that doesn' t like her. Funny, steamy, off the wall, great imagination, and wonderful storylines in her books. I loved seeing the older characters i've allready read about too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2011

    MUST READ!!!

    As always Shelly delivers an "can't put down story"!! I love Shelly's writing and love how she didn't change Dee-Ann's character from previous books. She leaves her alone in all her wonderful badass self. I continue to be amazed at the truly awesome writing Shelly delivers. She brings me back again and again. She always produces excellant characters and comedy that makes you fall in love with the people in every single book. Can't wait for Cella and Crash's story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    Great Story

    I love Shelly Laurenston's books and this one is no exception. Her characters are fun and engaging. You want to live in their world. Character interaction and dialog are lively even with supporting characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 191 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10