Customer Reviews for

Big Bad Bite

Average Rating 4
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Snarky, funny, kick ass heroine and sweet hero! Lots of great ch

Snarky, funny, kick ass heroine and sweet hero! Lots of great characters in this book!

posted by booksrapassion on February 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Book is just too long.

Book is 700 pages. Really could have been 350, 400 tops. Here is why- way too many pages on stuff not really related and as a PNR reader not wanted. I don't want a history on how a demon, witch and all Others are made. So for example 4 pages on how a witch is made only ...
Book is 700 pages. Really could have been 350, 400 tops. Here is why- way too many pages on stuff not really related and as a PNR reader not wanted. I don't want a history on how a demon, witch and all Others are made. So for example 4 pages on how a witch is made only to ? what the witch looked like who cast a barrier spell was boring. Plus by page 440ish- totally over the back & forth of Jenna's indecision to accept Adam as her mate. By this point the heroine was becoming unlikable. Plus with the length too many parts where Jenna was just Rude and not at all alpha ish. On the plus side I loved the characters. Great character development. Some parts of the story so drawn out it doesn't feel like a romance and Adam only a sub character. Adam gets lost. So by cutting out the hitting me over the head with the creation of the Others, shortening of Jenna's whining about if he likes her for her crap & taking 3-4 pages to describe a building the story was good. The shifter ransom hostage to the tiger I overheard something in Germany to a trip to Germany was a bit much with no rap up was frustrating but when you read the parts of the characters interacting the book is really awesome. Laugh out loud good. So you have a 5 star when the characters are conversing and a 1 star on the amount of boring crap you skim tbrough. Not sure I can take another 700 page book. The ending though when Jenna gets her mate back was fabulous. I guess it comes down to who book 2 is about. Gage, maybe or Alec or Kent would be fun. Logan seems too young but I'll have to see. Hope this rambling helps.

posted by BunnyShifter on October 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 29, 2014

    I FREAKING LOVE THIS BOOK!!! It's funny, witty, well written an

    I FREAKING LOVE THIS BOOK!!!

    It's funny, witty, well written and the mythos behind how shifters, demons, witches and vampires have come into being is so very different from anything else I have ever read! I really liked that there was all of this background data about how they came into being...it made me understand the world that Jenna lives in so much better.

    Speaking of Jenna, how could anyone not ADORE her??? She's a complete bada** woman! So many of today's female characters are whiny, incapable, brats, that I find myself laughing at them more than I'm routing for them...not so with Jenna! I was thoroughly engaged with her character from the moment I read the the first paragraph.

    The story was rather open-ended, but I wasn't left with a feeling that it didn't go anywhere. The way it was wrapped up left me begging for more about these characters and the world in which they live.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Great fun.

    Looking forward to the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Snarky, funny, kick ass heroine and sweet hero! Lots of great ch

    Snarky, funny, kick ass heroine and sweet hero! Lots of great characters in this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    Loved this book! It has the complete package great story line, f

    Loved this book! It has the complete package great story line, funny and hot!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Best book ever

    Fantastic plot mix with steamy scenes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Jenna is a trip! If you like Shelly Laurenston's books, then thi

    Jenna is a trip! If you like Shelly Laurenston's books, then this is a good book for you to read! Can't wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Love this book!

    Love this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Wow! What a great story!! Jenna is so freakin' cool - she's defi

    Wow! What a great story!! Jenna is so freakin' cool - she's definitely no 'damsel in distress'.  Even as she learns things about herself and her world that she never could have imagined, she handles it and kicks some ass in the process.  Adam immediately adds a little unexpected spice to her life.  You can just feel the power rolling off of that sexy body when he comes onto the scene.  He's a dominant wolf  inside and out, until he meets Jenna.  She just may have the power to tame his inner beast.  The whole story is filled with action and surprise, and some intense romance that will get your blood boiling.  It was so easy to get drawn into the Other world and now I can't wait to see what comes next for Jenna!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2013

    Action, romance, shape shifters, kick-ass heroine, oh my! Big Ba

    Action, romance, shape shifters, kick-ass heroine, oh my! Big Bad Bite was a revelation and an interesting discovery! One of my favorite read of the month!




    I was intrigued by the cover when I stumbled on Jessie Lane website (pure hazard). They, (Jessie Lane is a pen name of Crystal and Melissa) really get my attention with this colorful, mysterious and dark cover but also with their blurb of Big Bad Bite. I didn't have time to read their book, but their presentation of it stirred something inside of me and I couldn't wait and stop myself from reading it.




      




    This book didn't disappoint me at ALL. I didn't have expectation except the fact that it must be bad-ass-awesome and it was, bad-ass-awesome. I loved everything in this story: the characters were genial! The humour was present at every turn, the plot, the fast paced, the police/s.w.a.t. background story (Jenna's Job), Jenna's past and furthermore everything she doesn't know and can't rely on, was something special. Jenna was my type of girl, my type of heroine. She got a strong mind and will, she a beautiful woman, but she use her power and abilities to help the population.




    Adam was the perfect alpha male. Everything he said, he does, every move is the reflection of the ''master'' of the pack he is/would be. I liked the fact that it was an instant attraction between him and Jenna. They both can't deny it and this is something I'm looking for in a PNR story.




     




    Jenna and Adam were the main characters, but I really enjoyed my experience with the other characters, especially some shifters from other species...! (Kent, Gage, Alex, Logan...)




    The plot was interesting and the author, Jessie Lane, know who to keep they readers in the action! I read this book in two days and at the very end, I was in a state of wanting. I can't wait to read the sequel of this series and I pretty sure it will worth the wait!




     
    Page Turner: Yes!




    Series: (Big Bad Bite #1)




    Stand Alone: Yes, but the opening end and the way the author left the story, you will want to read the second book for sure!




    Hotness: Adam, Hmmm :D




    Proserpine Recommendation: You love PNR story, you crave shifters novels with hint of humour and action all the way. This book is for you! BUY-Borrow-Steal, do something! This book is a must try this year!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    I love this book! Its about Jenna this half wolf/demon kick ass

    I love this book! Its about Jenna this half wolf/demon kick ass swat team kinda girl who's mom kept her away from the shifter world because she's a hybrid. She moves away to go after her dream job and ends up making Adam a alpha fall head over heels for her! While she try's to sort out her feelings and the shifter world another pack trys to jeopardize shifter secrecy, so together Jenna and Adam try to get to the bottom of it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Who¿s afraid of the big bad wolf? Not Jenna O¿ Conner that¿s fo

    Who’s afraid of the big bad wolf? Not Jenna O’ Conner that’s for sure!

    Fast paced and action packed this was a thrilling romance that I couldn’t put down. The story was full of adventure and is a bit of a coming of age. Jenna has always been different even in a world where the abnormal is the norm. It is because of this that she was hidden for most of her life, but she is tired of hiding and takes her dream job as a member of the Swat Team. She is a kickass heroine who knows what she wants and how to get it.

    The setting was interesting and very well written. The idea that the paranormal is an everyday thing is fun to explore. It is even more interesting to see how they deal with creatures even more fantastical than themselves.

    Jenna is a fun and a take charge kind of heroine. She is also a shifter which was really interesting because there aren’t many books where the girl is a werewolf as well. I liked getting to know her and also liked the fact that even though she is tough and can take care of herself there is a vulnerable side to her as well. Jenna has things to learn and I had a great time seeing her come into her own throughout the course of the story.

    Adam is an alpha male in every sense of the word. He is strong willed, protective, and doesn’t back down from a fight. Jenna intrigues him and he will stop at nothing to uncover her secrets. It is because of this that he can be a bit overbearing, but despite this Jenna falls for him all the same.

    The romance between them was natural and you could really feel the chemistry between them. I also liked the banter between them it was a lot of fun to see them get on each other’s and yet still fall madly in love with one another. I couldn’t help, but think of Pink’s song “True Love” while reading it.

    This is a thrilling shifter romance that readers won’t be able to put down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2013

    Jenna O¿Connor has been extremely sheltered her whole life to ke

    Jenna O’Connor has been extremely sheltered her whole life to keep what she is a secret from “others.”  She is not human nor is she a normal supernatural “other.”  When she gets her dream job in another town, becoming a SWAT team member of the Wilmington Police Department, she jumps at the chance to get away from her own small town and those that have kept her secrets.




    First day on the job she runs into Adam McPhee.  Adam is a wolf in human form and is incredibly intrigued with Jenna.  He is obsessive over her.  Needing to know who she is and what she is, but also wanting to have her, to keep her all to himself.  While trying to come to terms with Adam and his pack, she learns a lot about the world that she truly belongs in and has been hidden from for so long. 




    Jessie Lane is amazing.  I already loved reading paranormal stories, but this just heightened my love.  Every character in this book was perfectly written.  No matter who was in the scene I could feel myself becoming them and getting sucked right in.  The plot was enrapturing.  From the very first page this is a book you cannot put down.  The descriptions of the surroundings, the houses, and the characters made the story play out in real time with real pictures in my head.  At no time did I feel like I had to put the book down and take a break.  I had to keep reading. 




    Jenna and Adams budding, quickly moving relationship was hot, heavy, loving, and romantic.  Seeing Adam care so much that he held back on his wolf tendencies, which is very hard to do, just to keep Jenna comfortable, made him my hero.  He did not go about mating as a wolf, but as a human.  Then to finally see Jenna understand, for the wolf ways to click for her.  And her to go to Adam as a mate was definitely my favorite part of the book.




    I also loved Uncle Owen, who Jenna had not seen in years, and become kind of her father figure.  Showing her the ways of the “other” world and making sure Adam’s intentions were honest.  Logan, the little brother she never knew she had, cracked me up.  His outrageous sex drive, his endless teasing of Jenna, and his over protectiveness made him all too real of a little brother.




    Once again Jessie Lane got me, hook, line, and sinker.  Absolutely everything about this book was perfect.  I could not put it down and very anxiously await the next book in this series.  Anyone who enjoys paranormal stories will have to read this.  Extremely highly recommend Big Bad Bite to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1