Customer Reviews for

The Big Book of Boy Stuff

Average Rating 4.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Jennifer Wardrip, aka "The Genius" for TeensReadToo.com

THE BIG BOOK OF BOY STUFF is, without a doubt, the book all parents of a boy between the ages of eight and eighty needs to buy their son. Why? Because, quite simply, if you're looking for a book that your son will read, this is it. Actually, once they start, you'll prob...
THE BIG BOOK OF BOY STUFF is, without a doubt, the book all parents of a boy between the ages of eight and eighty needs to buy their son. Why? Because, quite simply, if you're looking for a book that your son will read, this is it. Actually, once they start, you'll probably have a hard time prying it from their sticky, grimy, dirt-covered fingers.

The book is based, possibly loosely, and possibly even more loosely based on my own interpretation, of the three indispensable elements of a boy's world as quoted by Sir Robert Baden-Powell, a World War I veteran and founder of the Boy Scouts of America: "Fun, feeding, and fighting." As the mother of a nine-year son who also happens to be a Cub Scout (a division of the Boy Scouts up to the first half of fifth grade), I can attest that Sir Baden-Powell was totally, 100% accurate in his beliefs.

THE BIG BOOK OF BOY STUFF is divided into several "categories" which include: Activities; Dogs and Others; Emergencies; Experiments; Fireworks and Explosions; Flying Things; Fun in the Outdoors; Gadgets; Tools, and Toys; Indoor Games; Outdoor Games; Girls, Bullies, and Parties; Gross Stuff; Halloween: October 31st; Holidays; Insults; Jokes; Juggling and Yo-Yos; Magic; Making Faces! Making Sounds!; Man Food for Manhood; Practical Jokes; Rhetorical Questions; Riddles; Slang; Storytelling; Tongue Twisters Rule; Video Games; Weapons; Famous Last Worlds; and Recommended Reading. And before you pull out the parental advisory or adult supervision cards, please be assured that any and all activities that could be considered at all dangerous come complete with safety instructions, warnings, and, yes, rules for adult supervision and/or parental advisories.

This book is, in a word, fun. Fun for the boys (or girls!) that read it, and fun for the parents who watch their kids enjoy reading and experimenting. To see your child bury their nose in a book--out of desire instead of need--is a wonderful thing indeed. Although some parents will no doubt be grossed out by some of the things their children find hilarious, getting your kid to sit down and actually read a book that makes them think is well worth it.

Kudos to Mr. King for such a great book.

posted by TeensReadToo on October 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Have the book one guestion

Why does it seem only are girls makin all the reviews? Shouldnt you gals look up the big book of girls im not sayin thats a bad thing i have nothin against girls.
P.S. if your full name is isabel iddings and your reading this wanna say i love you and i always will :...
Why does it seem only are girls makin all the reviews? Shouldnt you gals look up the big book of girls im not sayin thats a bad thing i have nothin against girls.
P.S. if your full name is isabel iddings and your reading this wanna say i love you and i always will :)

posted by Anonymous on September 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Wardrip, aka "The Genius" for TeensReadToo.com

    THE BIG BOOK OF BOY STUFF is, without a doubt, the book all parents of a boy between the ages of eight and eighty needs to buy their son. Why? Because, quite simply, if you're looking for a book that your son will read, this is it. Actually, once they start, you'll probably have a hard time prying it from their sticky, grimy, dirt-covered fingers. <BR/><BR/>The book is based, possibly loosely, and possibly even more loosely based on my own interpretation, of the three indispensable elements of a boy's world as quoted by Sir Robert Baden-Powell, a World War I veteran and founder of the Boy Scouts of America: "Fun, feeding, and fighting." As the mother of a nine-year son who also happens to be a Cub Scout (a division of the Boy Scouts up to the first half of fifth grade), I can attest that Sir Baden-Powell was totally, 100% accurate in his beliefs. <BR/><BR/>THE BIG BOOK OF BOY STUFF is divided into several "categories" which include: Activities; Dogs and Others; Emergencies; Experiments; Fireworks and Explosions; Flying Things; Fun in the Outdoors; Gadgets; Tools, and Toys; Indoor Games; Outdoor Games; Girls, Bullies, and Parties; Gross Stuff; Halloween: October 31st; Holidays; Insults; Jokes; Juggling and Yo-Yos; Magic; Making Faces! Making Sounds!; Man Food for Manhood; Practical Jokes; Rhetorical Questions; Riddles; Slang; Storytelling; Tongue Twisters Rule; Video Games; Weapons; Famous Last Worlds; and Recommended Reading. And before you pull out the parental advisory or adult supervision cards, please be assured that any and all activities that could be considered at all dangerous come complete with safety instructions, warnings, and, yes, rules for adult supervision and/or parental advisories. <BR/><BR/>This book is, in a word, fun. Fun for the boys (or girls!) that read it, and fun for the parents who watch their kids enjoy reading and experimenting. To see your child bury their nose in a book--out of desire instead of need--is a wonderful thing indeed. Although some parents will no doubt be grossed out by some of the things their children find hilarious, getting your kid to sit down and actually read a book that makes them think is well worth it. <BR/><BR/>Kudos to Mr. King for such a great book.

    13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2005

    Forget the Title--Get It For Your Daughter

    This is a FABULOUS book. I got it for my daughter [9 years] and she and her friends have a blast looking through it together. They like the 'secret' part of it, especially since it is supposed to be for the opposite sex! And girls can be gross too--much for them to learn as well.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Have the book one guestion

    Why does it seem only are girls makin all the reviews? Shouldnt you gals look up the big book of girls im not sayin thats a bad thing i have nothin against girls.
    P.S. if your full name is isabel iddings and your reading this wanna say i love you and i always will :)

    5 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Duct tape rips skin

    I will duct tape you to the wall if you dont like this book. AND IT WILL HURT YOU! you can make someone bleed with it.

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2005

    Seed the love of books and watch 'em grow.

    I woke up, one groggy Sunday morning, to a parent's dream: his child reading. At breakfast we took turns reading passages to each other, laughing and laughing. There is an air of confidentiality about the book. It divulges secrets about grown-ups, girls, bullies, and other scary things. As seen through the eyes of an eight year old boy, it is a little sad. He is growing up, learning about the world from a silly book written for boys (and girls) in ways only they would understand. My son loves it and that's exactly why I love it too.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2005

    Yup, thats my old teacher!

    Even though I'm a girl, I have read this book. It is very well written, with fast jokes and things to keep boys occupied. Buy it, for the sake of humanity!!

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2004

    The book works magic.

    I bought this book on a recommendation for my 12-year old son, presented it to him, then promptly forgot about it. A few days later, I heard him and two of his friends in a very animated discussion (with much laughter) in his room. I assumed they were playing video games, but instead they were reading portions of this book aloud to each other and having a great time doing so. Unheard of! I guess that this book was a good investment! I looke forward to reading it once I can pry it out of my kid's fingers.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2004

    Buy one for a friend so they don't steal yours!

    This is the best book ever...well, besides Eragon. Totally different, totally funny. The reversible cover to diguise the book should give you a clue that this is going to be great. Where else can you read about passing gas and making a burglar alarm in one book? We even bought a copy for my 50 year old uncle.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    I am a girl

    My brother has this book and it is so funny. But I am not anything bad or something.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2010

    My son loves it!

    I have a 7 1/2 year old boy who loves to talk and share stories. This book was so great for him. He got it for Christmas and has read it cover to cover. He's now going back and reading "all the best stuff." He walks around telling jokes and weird facts that the book has. It has so many different things to keep him entertained. It has really encouraged him to read, which was my goal in buying it.

    I normally don't write reviews, but for this one I had to. I am really happy with this purchase.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2006

    Courtesy of Teens Read Too

    THE BIG BOOK OF BOY STUFF is, without a doubt, the book all parents of a boy between the ages of eight and eighty need to buy their son. Why? Because, quite simply, if you're looking for a book that your son will read, this is it. Actually, once they start, you'll probably have a hard time prying it from their sticky, grimy, dirt-covered fingers. The book is based, possibly loosely, and possibly even more loosely based on my own interpretation, of the three indispensable elements of a boy's world as quoted by Sir Robert Baden-Powell, a World War I veteran and founder of the Boy Scouts of America: 'Fun, feeding, and fighting.' As the mother of a nine-year-old son who also happens to be a Cub Scout (a division of the Boy Scouts up to the first half of fifth grade), I can attest that Sir Baden-Powell was totally, 100% accurate in his beliefs. THE BIG BOOK OF BOY STUFF is divided into several 'categories' which include: Activities Dogs and Others Emergencies Experiments Fireworks and Explosions Flying Things Fun in the Outdoors Gadgets Tools, and Toys Indoor Games Outdoor Games Girls, Bullies, and Parties Gross Stuff Halloween: October 31st Holidays Insults Jokes Juggling and Yo-Yos Magic Making Faces! Making Sounds! Man Food for Manhood Practical Jokes Rhetorical Questions Riddles Slang Storytelling Tongue Twisters Rule Video Games Weapons Famous Last Words and Recommended Reading. And before you pull out the parental advisory or adult supervision cards, please be assured that any and all activities that could be considered at all dangerous come complete with safety instructions, warnings, and, yes, rules for adult supervision and/or parental advisories. This book is, in a word, fun. Fun for the boys (or girls!) that read it, and fun for the parents who watch their kids enjoy reading and experimenting. To see your child bury their nose in a book--out of desire instead of need--is a wonderful thing indeed. Although some parents will no doubt be grossed out by some of the things their children find hilarious, getting your kid to sit down and actually read a book that makes them think is well worth it. Kudos to Mr. King for such a great book. I for one can't wait for the release of THE BIG BOOK OF GIRLS' STUFF, which is slated for release in October 2006.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Amazing!!!

    I only got the sample but i love the book. Every boy needs this book to get through with life. I really like the bathroom message on the mirro.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    a must have for all boys!!!

    I thought it was a great book even if it wasn't educatoinal. Read it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2011

    the big book of boy stuff

    its awesome!!!!!!!!!! Its sooooo good for boys it should have 10 stars. All the boys should read it.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2010

    Fabulous!

    My 10-year-old absolutely loves this book. It has so many amazing facts and so much interesting information. He is constantly spouting off things like, "Did you know that a guy died once from being hit on the head by a turtle?" and much, much, much more. Lots of bathroom humor, little known facts about all sorts of things, and just hours of reading entertainment. I highly recommend this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Why

    What does it feel like when you have sex and what is sex in great detail plz

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Good book

    Girls stink! (boys rock!)

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Anybody want to have sex?

    My name is liz i have blonde hair blue eyes im 13 love sports and texting i love children i wood love to make children with you imma girl i will do a lap dance for ya strip anybody my address is 2449 avenue south i dont care who is a nerd-a team captain of football my # is 3014596611 love ya reply at jaden u can suck my boobs and vagina real clean it needs some cleaning

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Awsome

    Pretty awsome book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!It teaches you how to make an alarm!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Girls read it

    Learn boy secrets

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2