Customer Reviews for

Big Breasts and Wide Hips

Average Rating 2.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

DO NOT JUDGE A BOOK BY ITS COVER

While I have just received this e-book only recently and have not finished it yet, I believe this book should NOT be judged by its cover! This important, highly regarded Chinese author, Mo Yan, provides important insights into a culture vastly different than our own. Ha...
While I have just received this e-book only recently and have not finished it yet, I believe this book should NOT be judged by its cover! This important, highly regarded Chinese author, Mo Yan, provides important insights into a culture vastly different than our own. Having visited China as a long-term guest of American Ex-Pats several times, I have seen first hand the differences, as well as the similarities between Western and Asian culture. More importantly, I have observed the differences between how Chinese and other Asian business and government function together and separately from one another and from Western government, business and Western culture and thought. This book, Big Breasts & Wide Hips, gives Americans an opportunity to gain insight into the Chinese culture, particularly among the powerful. As our world grows more populated, and with today's rapidly changing economies and political fortunes, any opportunity to learn and understand is valuable. This book gives that opportunity.

posted by Lizzibet on May 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

beyond boring

I bought this when it was a daily deal and I am still upset I wasted the money. The author spends more time describing leaves than the people in the story. I tried to force my way through since I hate to start a book but not finish it. But I had to admit defeat and just...
I bought this when it was a daily deal and I am still upset I wasted the money. The author spends more time describing leaves than the people in the story. I tried to force my way through since I hate to start a book but not finish it. But I had to admit defeat and just put this one aside. Even after reading nearly 200 pages I not only wasn't emotionally vested in the characters, I am not sure it would have even been possible.

posted by MrsJayceeWifey on April 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    beyond boring

    I bought this when it was a daily deal and I am still upset I wasted the money. The author spends more time describing leaves than the people in the story. I tried to force my way through since I hate to start a book but not finish it. But I had to admit defeat and just put this one aside. Even after reading nearly 200 pages I not only wasn't emotionally vested in the characters, I am not sure it would have even been possible.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2012

    DO NOT JUDGE A BOOK BY ITS COVER

    While I have just received this e-book only recently and have not finished it yet, I believe this book should NOT be judged by its cover! This important, highly regarded Chinese author, Mo Yan, provides important insights into a culture vastly different than our own. Having visited China as a long-term guest of American Ex-Pats several times, I have seen first hand the differences, as well as the similarities between Western and Asian culture. More importantly, I have observed the differences between how Chinese and other Asian business and government function together and separately from one another and from Western government, business and Western culture and thought. This book, Big Breasts & Wide Hips, gives Americans an opportunity to gain insight into the Chinese culture, particularly among the powerful. As our world grows more populated, and with today's rapidly changing economies and political fortunes, any opportunity to learn and understand is valuable. This book gives that opportunity.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    If the author meant to evoke feelings of revulsion in the reader

    If the author meant to evoke feelings of revulsion in the reader, then he achieved his purpose. Whether it was descriptions of the horrors of war (lobbed off heads/pecked out eyes), the unyielding physical and verbal abuse of the protagonist "mother" by her mother-in-law, or the non-stop obsession of the narrator with his mother's breasts, this book just was painful on so many levels to read. ( I, too, wanted to throw myself from the nearest bell tower!) I read through the 3rd chapter, and, had to wave the white flag. I kept thinking, "Doesn't all this go somewhere?" Sadly, I don't think so. I really wanted to be able to get past the drama in order to learn about the other periods in recent Chinese history, but I couldn't take any more. Wasn't attached enough to the characters to care about what happened to them. The sheer battle of trying to wade through passages, for example, describing wheat and other mundane things, plus suffering through the unbelievable fable-like events ad nauseum, I decided even skimming the remaining pages wasn't an option. I did not archive this ebook, just hit the delete key. I gave it 2 stars but only because it got a rise out of me!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    I give the first 80% of the book 5 stars, but unfortunately I fe

    I give the first 80% of the book 5 stars, but unfortunately I feel the ending is a disappointment with regard to the narrative. I kept hitting the page turn button on my Nook, because I thought there should have been more. The author does, however, paint a vivid picture of the life of peasants in early/mid 20th century China and creates some interesting characters.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Only a quarter through it...

    And I should have stopped. The reading is heavy, graphic, dark and extremely sad. I mistakenly started this before I went to bed around 12am. It is now 3 am and I am captivated by the story but I fear I can't finish it due to the sheer heaviness of the content. Some of the descriptions are awkward experiments, i.e. an infant child describing events but oh well. Haven't decided if I'll finish it or not.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    H

    story line lags and it is quite lengthy

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Worthwhile Read

    I enjoyed this book, and found it to be a very good read. Sure, it's a little heavy, but why is that a problem?

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    lengthy

    story line lags and it is quite lengthy

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2012

    Unusual book

    This is one of those books that you start out reading thinking it will expand your understanding of a different culture. Then I got bored with it all. A long read without a compelling plot. Didn't get to the end of it.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    SUCKS

    NEVER BUY

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Mason

    Horrible

    1 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    Sorry to say this but Nathan your a fool and you'll never be ful

    Sorry to say this but Nathan your a fool and you'll never be full from your apetite for nook sex:(

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    Both of u should be scared what ur doing is foolish and will onl

    Both of u should be scared what ur doing is foolish and will only last so long.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    Nathan if she is a guy she wont tell u the truth:p

    Nathan if she is a guy she wont tell u the truth:p

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    You beter not tap me!

    Stupid book.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Moved go to the first one to sign up then go to hip hop....

    The redemtion through god or somhing like that for training

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Well

    I hope you like nipples, abuse, and violence. Glad i dont live in china

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2