Customer Reviews for

Big Cherry Holler

Average Rating 4.5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Another hit for Adriana Trigiani!

I love the characters and the story of Ave Maria. This book was so touching and it enjoyed it very much.

posted by 3058494 on February 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

What happened?

I wasn't upset, but what happened to this second book in the trilogy? I can only hope we return to the amazing writing of Big Stone Gap in book three. This one was ok, maybe because I loved returning to a beautiful place and time. I loved the characters returning to ...
I wasn't upset, but what happened to this second book in the trilogy? I can only hope we return to the amazing writing of Big Stone Gap in book three. This one was ok, maybe because I loved returning to a beautiful place and time. I loved the characters returning to make me laugh. These things we're all here in round two but without the heart. The story was ok, I loved visiting Italy and watching Etta grow up. But missed the amazement of Big Stone Gap that kept me on the edge of my seat. I didn't find this had any 'POW' in it. Just a story of a married couple trying to cope with life. Don't worry...I'm on to book three with hopes of loving it as much as the first!

posted by Anonymous on March 29, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    Another hit for Adriana Trigiani!

    I love the characters and the story of Ave Maria. This book was so touching and it enjoyed it very much.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2005

    What happened?

    I wasn't upset, but what happened to this second book in the trilogy? I can only hope we return to the amazing writing of Big Stone Gap in book three. This one was ok, maybe because I loved returning to a beautiful place and time. I loved the characters returning to make me laugh. These things we're all here in round two but without the heart. The story was ok, I loved visiting Italy and watching Etta grow up. But missed the amazement of Big Stone Gap that kept me on the edge of my seat. I didn't find this had any 'POW' in it. Just a story of a married couple trying to cope with life. Don't worry...I'm on to book three with hopes of loving it as much as the first!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Would recommend this series.

    Adriana Trigiani did a great job with this series. It has a little bit of everything ... relationships between mother and daughter, wife and husband, family and friends. She blends the environment of Appalachia with Italy and Scotland. If you are looking for a wonderful series, you are in for a treat.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2009

    I was surprised, but not in a bad way.

    I wasn't expecting this to be what it was, and it took me off guard. After Big Stone Gap, I had anticipated something humorous, and certainly less intense. But, once I switched gears and put all my previous notions away, I read this book with the interest and enjoyment that I had hoped for.

    Trigiani's pacing is excellent, and the emotions she asks us to share are believable and at times thought-provoking. Though I did find the trip to Italy and the man who becomes her almost-lover to be somewhat far fetched, I still liked the book and would recommend it to others.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great follow-up in the Big Stone Gap Series

    The characters are alive and kicking in this great follow-up to the first book in this series, Big Stone Gap.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2006

    can't put it down

    I have read the whole trilogy in a week ,it is so good I couldnt put it down and read at least 50 pages at one time. I have read most of her other books too ,just going to start 'Roccocco'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2004

    an avid reader

    I loved this book. To me, it was much better than Big Stone Gap. It is a very realistic story about mid-life. Can't wait to see what happens in Milk Glass Moon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2014

    Highly recommend!

    This book is excellent...it is the second book in this author's trilogy...I recommend reading Big Stone Gap first though....I loved all of her books that I have read so far!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2014

    This author is truly an Italian raised in the TN hill country.

    This author is a great writer and has based her main character on her own background. Thus, she has a fully fleshed-out protagonist for this group of stories based in the mining country of the TN hills. I enjoyed the book very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Andrea

    Im a virg. My gf only ever used toys and we masturbd in the shower together...she did the work lol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Great follow up to first book

    I enjoyed the first novel, so I was excited about having a the chance to follow up with all the characters from Big Stone Gap. Easy to get involved once again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2013

    4 1/2 Stars!!! I loved this book even more than the first one. S

    4 1/2 Stars!!! I loved this book even more than the first one. Such a great story of marriage and discovery. Adriana Trigiani has such an amazing way of developing the characters so that you feel as if you truly know them. I cannot wait to read the third book in this series, "Milk Glass Moon". 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    Continuing the Story

    I really enjoyed the first book, and I mostly enjoyed this one. I just found it to be overly sad without the quirkiness I loved in the first one. It was nice to know how things turned out for everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    lookee hear

    gud boke
    iinjoid it

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2004

    Appealing book ...

    Very enjoyable read, recommended but not unforgettable. The soul searching drags on a little too long and makes the reader a little unsympathetic towards Ave Maria. However, the characters are all likeable and it is certainly an identifiable book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2003

    A bit morose, but a decent follow up to Big Stone Gap

    Ave Maria does quite a bit of soul searching in this novel, which is fine, but I felt it slowed down the pace of the book. A pretty good read, however, I enjoyed Big Stone Gap more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2003

    good, but not great...

    Honestly, I was disappointed in BCH compared to BSG. I was caught off-guard by the seriousness of the subject matter. Although it's certainly realistic in today's society I was hoping for more humor. Overall the book was good, but not what I'd call great. I would still recommend it though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2003

    Loved Big Cherry Holler

    I enjoyed the Big Stone Gap - the first book in this series, but....I loved Big Cherry Holler even more! The characters returned, and the relationships grew!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2002

    A Great Sequel!

    Adriana Trigiani has done it again! She took us back to the Blue Ridge Mountains to share life with Ave Maria. Loved Big Stone Gap, loved Big Cherry Holler!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2002

    Awesome!!!

    I couldn't wait to get my hands on this book after I read 'Big Stone Gap'. It was just as good!! I laughed out loud and a few pages later there were tears in my eyes. I didn't want the book to end. I'm hoping the next book isn't too long away! Enjoy.. I certainly did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3