Customer Reviews for

Big City, Bad Blood (Ray Dudgeon Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Excelent story impossible to put down

    This was a well writen smothly told tale of a imperfect man working to make complicated things clearer. Violent at times but plausible, our hero works toward an incrementaly improvement in the world

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2014

    Good story

    I enjoyed this well enough to buy his next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Kentaro

    Is locked out

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Cloud

    Hi

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Yes

    Kentaro is locked out.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    Blue

    Fine. Grumbles. How should i know

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    NOOK ALLIANCE CHURCH

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Emm

    She jumped on King Boo. "Kentaro, we can move to the next result."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    Saturn to thost and kentro

    Jt is also Kd. Nooby noob noob! XP

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    Thost

    Saturn, thank you for the shred of knowledge. I shall remember that.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    Wells

    Watches.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Claire

    That's three. Goodnight.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Colten

    Carries emma home(result 22 maybe its called big xity rap)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2012

    Highly tecommended

    Great storty very good read!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome Novel

    Not a detail is left out in this excellent book. Chercover is fantastic at putting the reader at the place that the story is, whatever city, state, warehouse, tavern, or up-scale night club. Besides his attention to detail, the plot was excellent, the characters were brought to life, and the book is now a favorite of mine. Be careful, if vulgar language offends you--the "f bomb" is thrown around frequently in this book. Otherwise, enjoy reading the one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A most interesting book and quite the introduction!

    It reads more like a screen play that a novel, but that's a part of it's charm. It is a very descriptive work, the author sets out to paint a panoramic scene and succeeds...although sometimes it does feel like a bit too much detail. I remember feeling like I was watching a Dick Tracy movie. Dudgeon has that old school detective feel to him and it's very inviting.

    I was very surprised at how raw many of the characters were. It is very much like the Sapranos in the way that the low-lives don't hold back on profanity. Because of this, I would be carefull about adding such a book to your general library or giving it as a gift lest you offend someone.

    The book keeps you on edge - you're always wondering what avenue will it take next. On top of all the action, intrigue and suspense of what's going on with the 'Outfit' there is a romance playing out that makes you feel for Dudgeon. He reveals a very sensitive side with his love interest, friends and the innocents he encounters on the job that makes the character likeable. Seeing his emotional side makes the tough-guy mask he wears most adorable. These traits balance the book between the male and female audiences.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2008

    A Different Kind of Thriller

    Ray Dougian is not your average PI. He is actually someone that is so entwined with the bad guys that he seems to do the same kind of things the bad guys do (murder, break into cars and storage lockers, blackmail, etc.) while claiming that it is all for a good cause. He is hired by a Hollywood type for protection against a mob hit. Thinking the mobster is small change, he roughs up some of his cronies to send a 'message.' Ray doesn't realize how big a deal this is because bodies are turning up everywhere and there seems to be a contract out on Ray as well as his client. The book has some really entertaining moments and sometimes feels like a long episode of The Sopranos. It is very different from the typical thriller in there is a lot less suspense, just things happening with a lot of interesting characters and dialogue. If you can forgive Ray for his sins, you will like the book. If some of the things he does to the bad guys bothers you then try something else. I liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2008

    Good writing, premise is questionable.

    Am I the only one who had trouble with the whole premise of this book? While I agree that the author has skills as a writer, right off the bat I had trouble believing the whole premise of some 2nd rate hood murdering all these people because he got into some jam over falsely renting out a vacant building. I don't know, maybe it's just me, but that is a pretty shaky basis, and I had trouble with that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2008

    Style is reminiscent of noir novels

    This book reads smoothly and is captivating as if written by a seasoned author and is extremely impressive as a debut novel. Sean Chercover¿s experience as a private investigator in the heart of Chicago lends a voice of authenticity to his writing that even someone with the greatest imagination in the world could not conjure up. The style is reminiscent of noir novels when private investigators did not have technological assistance to do their jobs but had to rely on their wits and cunning to stay one step ahead in the detection game. This is a stunning way to begin what is obviously going to be a great series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2007

    Wow! Thrilling story, real characters...

    I'd never heard of Sean Chercover - but a bookseller recommended this and I can't believe it is his first novel! The plot moves lightning-fast and there are plenty of surprises and thrills, but also characters with real depth ... the book hooks you emotionally. Chercover used to work as a P.I. in real life and he writes about it convincingly. Ray Dudgeon is a complex hero, and I hope this is the start of a series. I can't recommend this book highly enough. Outstanding!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2