Customer Reviews for

The Big Crunch

Average Rating 4
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    THE BIG CRUNCH

    The Big Crunch is about a girl named June who move's to Wes's school. June moves around a lot, so she is use to it. June meets people and makes new friends. June meets Jerry and goes on a date with him and ends up going out with him. One day going to the mall June and Wes see each other at the mall, and end up bumping heads giving June a black eye. From then on June and Wes really liking each other. June and Wes start going out when June breaks up with Jerry and June has to move. While June moves to Omaha, June and Wes stay together.
    I really like this book because it was really easy to read and I could never put it down. I like how June as Wes stayed together even though they were miles apart. I didn't like how, June had to move right after June and Wes had a perfect night during New Years.
    I would recommend this book to people who like romance and drama. If you like action it wouldn't be the best thing to read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Well writen

    I have read the book and have meet the autor . Both are funny and keep you guess what going happen next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    PERFECT!!

    I loved this book!! READ IT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Great!

    I loved this book so much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    The Big Crunch

    Oh, i love this book! I read this book in three days. I got it on Christmas and finished it December 27! I LOVE IT. I want more of Pete Hautman's books to read!!!!! * w *

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by LadyJay for TeensReadToo

    Gold Star Award Winner! The first time Wes saw June, fireworks definitely did not go off. He thought her greenish-blue eyes were set too far apart, and her hair looked as though she had stepped right out of the shower. June resembled a sea-creature, and not in a mermaid-like way. He started calling her Aqua Girl, and eventually all Wes wanted was for June to be his. Their affair is tumultuous, just like most teenagers in the throes of first love. Wes soon discovers that his relationship with June is exhausting, especially when it becomes long-distance. Is their Big Crunch a one-shot deal, or will it last? Hautman uses the changing seasons to mark the progression of Wes and June's relationship. As the seasons change, their intensity and passion changes, as well. They learn about themselves through one another. They discover that there are limits to what they can do, both physically and emotionally. I loved this book because the story was simple yet poignant. It wasn't flashy or filled with romantic dialogue; it was real. A boy and girl meet, fall in love, and try to make it work. Sometimes it lasts and sometimes it doesn't. Honestly, that really doesn't matter - it's about the story, and that's what makes this novel so wonderful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Love in a Big Bang sort of way

    How to describe The Big Crunch? Well, I'd liken it to a rather nice stroll through the park - nothing extraordinary or supernatural, but sometimes normal and sweet is a welcome change from all the vampires and zombies and smoldering eyes. The pacing seemed a little slow, especially at first when Wes and June go about their separate lives in the same high school bubble. They'd brush against each other every so often, but drift apart again without more than a backwards glance. When they finally "crunched" so to speak, it wasn't the usual fare of crazy-in-love-and-now-we-must-breathe-together. It was, yet it wasn't. There wasn't enough time to "crunch" before June had to leave Wes and distance became an obstacle in their newfound relationship. Not a whole lot of action in The Big Crunch except for one minor car-stealing incident. Even then, it was a big misunderstanding. No, The Big Crunch is a pretty low-key read if you are looking for a book on a normal high school romance between two normal, down-to-earth teens who weren't really searching for each other, but found each other anyway. What I particularly enjoyed was the personalities of Wes and June, but I think The Big Crunch showed most of Wes's story. Neither of them saw each other, but didn't really think the other was mind-boggling hot. Wes described June as a "sea creature pretending to be a human" in the opening paragraph - if that doesn't scream LOVE, I don't know what does :P

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Unique Love Story

    The first time Wes meets June, he thinks her mouth is too wide and her eyes are too far apart. June, in return, thinks his hair is shaggy. It would seem these two were not meant to be together right from the start. And yet, against all odds, their paths continue to cross. Thus begins a romance where nothing is easy to explain or simple to figure out. Navigating through friends, family, and their own heads, Wes and June fumble towards a unique happy ending.

    Wow, this book was incredible. It's funny, sad, tender, and exciting. The only other book by Pete Hautman I have read was Sweetblood, which I also enjoyed very much. Still, this one was above and beyond good. The characters, the emotions, the situations were all so raw and realistic. It showed the honest side of love - that it always isn't the clean-cut, love-at-first-sight other books make it out to be. On the contrary, Hautman creates a rather messy situation for these poor characters. I found it difficult to sympathize with June sometimes, as she wasn't very nice a lot of the time. But Hautman gives her a viable back story to explain her reserve. Readers won't be able to help but root for Wes, especially the males out there. Which brings me to one last comment: this book is equally great for girls and boys. Each will have someone to identify with, and the scenarios are common enough to speak to just about anyone. Hautman writes all of his secondary characters excellent too, with Wes' friends supporting him and June's acquaintances having their own agendas. I'll say it one last time - this book was amazing. A short read that's highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1