Customer Reviews for

The Big Field

Average Rating 4
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

The Big Field

This book is a great read for people who enjoy sports. I also recomend it to kids 4th grade and up.

posted by 4445615 on April 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

good! but a tad boring...

im 13 and i found this book to be touching but very very boring getting towards the end. i wish it wouldve gone o further or for there to b an epiloge.

posted by Anonymous on February 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    The Big Field

    This book is a great read for people who enjoy sports. I also recomend it to kids 4th grade and up.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    The Big Field

    Great and fun for people who enjoy baseball

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    Best book

    Must read

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good reading for sports fans

    Hutch wants to be the best shortstop ever, but that's hard when he's stuck at second base. As he tries to prove himself worthy he also has to take his team to the championship game on "The Big Field". At the same time, him and his dad get in a fight about baseball. This was one of the best books I read this summer, and I would definitely recommended this to both parents and kids.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a must read!!!!!

    To Hutch, Shortstop is a way of life.He also feels that way about baseball. He wants to go all the way to the pros without suffering the same fate as his father. His father ,a pitcher,threw his arm out and was fired. To play shortstop Hutch has to play harder and better on the field and off the field. Without the drunken fate of his father.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Best book eva

    I think its the best book eva do u

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Curtis venturino rocks 24 - 12

    This book rocks

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2011

    good! but a tad boring...

    im 13 and i found this book to be touching but very very boring getting towards the end. i wish it wouldve gone o further or for there to b an epiloge.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    I luv the book

    This book is totaly recomended for kids4th grade and above. I would give it 1,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,00,000,000,000,000,000 and above stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Horribley

    This book sucks so dont read it its horrable

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2011

    This is a great book a must read!

    Have you ever wanted play on the biggest field? Well, you should read this book it is the closest thing to the big field

    The big field involves a lot of drama but, is still the greatest book of all time I would say. The story involves Keith "hutch" Hutchinson a short stop for his legion baseball team. Until Daryl "D-Will" Williams the top short stop prospect since A-rod shows up and takes hutches spot. Know he is put at second base a second fiddle to hutch. When hutch sees his dad helping D-Will hutch has to chose to being a good teammate or sharing his dad who can't even show up to hutches games.

    I think this book is great for people of all ages. This maybe a children's book but it is still good for all people.

    I hope you enjoy this book it is real good read. I also enjoyed my book report. Thank you.

    The drama between hutch and his dad might end but I do think that Mike Lupica should make a series of these books. I hope that this book changes your ideas about baseball.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    the big field

    im 12 and i thought this book got very boring towards tha end it got old really quick

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    Baseball Book

    You'll have to enjoy reading baseball play by play to enjoy this book. Good book for a third grade boys, with some interesting points about sportsmanship and relationships.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2014

    Book Review: The Big Field, Mike Lupica The book for these six w

    Book Review: The Big Field, Mike Lupica
    The book for these six weeks is The Big Field. The author of the book Mike Lupica was born in May 11, 1952 in Oneida, New York. He is best known for his provocative commentary on sports in the New York Daily News.  Mike Lupica likes to write a lot of sport books. 

    This book is an excellent choice for kids who love the sport of baseball, mainly for the good tips it gives you about the game and the way it tells you how to be competitive.  This is one fantastic book and I highly recommended by many others. The reason for this book is that it informs many young athletes to become better at baseball and to love the sport.
    The Big Field is an incredible book and I like how it teaches you about the sport. Many athletes look forward to summer not only to sleep in late but to play the amazing game of baseball.  I love to see how many kids get to competitive n the summer even if they’re best friends.  The game of baseball is played and favored by many people. 
    This book tells you about how you should play the game and how it feels. It gives you the rush of how it feels when it’s the bottom of the ninth inning its tied and your up to bat. All the pressure is on you and all you have is a million butterflies’ in your stomach. You see that fast ball coming straight down the middle and all you do is keep your head down and get that base it that wins you he game.
    The most amazing feeling in that situation is that you here the amazing parents and fans that support you going crazy screaming for you like you just won the world series.  When you get that feeling it just feels like you’re the super hero of your team and your teammates sure treat you like one. The main reason I like this book is that its so good it makes you feel like your actually in the game.
    Mike Lupica is an awesome book writer and to me I honestly recommend many of his books to be read by many. He makes you feel like your in every single book and its so good you don’t ever want to stop reading it. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    The Big Field ┬┐Crack!┬┐ This is the sound that you will frequen

    The Big Field
    “Crack!” This is the sound that you will frequently hear in my book The Big Field. Hutch and his friends Cody and Darryl play baseball throughout the summer. They want to lead up to winning the championship game at the end of the season. I liked the way the author developed the characters by giving good descriptions about their personalities and appearances. I liked the way the author gradually developed the plot. Hutch worked up to the championship game at the end of the book. This book was realistic because all boys’ that play baseball want to win the championship game. I liked the book because it talks about one of the sports that I love to play. I would recommend this book to others because it is exciting and kept my attention throughout the book.
    Harrison W.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    Wish i could give it 1000 stars

    This is by far my favorite book and kids from ages 9-18 will love it too

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    K

    I really liked this book. The only reason i gave it four stars is because i like the red sox and i am a boston boy so i HATE derek jeter. I absoulotly loved this book and mike lupica is AWESOME!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Just started

    Just started reading for school and the first half is really good to!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Terrible

    In the begging it was VERY boring. Then in the middle it was ok and then the ending was :(

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    sports

    I believe that no matter if you like sports or not, this is still a great book! Im only 15, and i've lost count of how many times I have read this book. Im not a big reafer either. This is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5