Customer Reviews for

Big Fish: A Novel of Mythic Proportions

Average Rating 4
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

The Big Fish Review

The story, Big Fish, written by Daniel Wallace is a book that will inspire people and make them realize why life is worth living. It is a novel for readers of all ages, and it will make you think of all sorts of things that could happen in your life. It begins with a yo...
The story, Big Fish, written by Daniel Wallace is a book that will inspire people and make them realize why life is worth living. It is a novel for readers of all ages, and it will make you think of all sorts of things that could happen in your life. It begins with a young child named William who is suffering because his father, Edward Bloom, is dying. William is upset that his dad never shared much about his personal interests and religious beliefs, and William really didn't get to know him. So while his dad is in the hospital bed, he starts sharing his life with his son. He tells him about what it was like living in a small town called Ashland until he bought the whole town of Specter. All these stories are told chronologically through the eyes of William. Some other things that Edward shared include his love for the most popular girl in school, various jobs he had, and how he predicted the deaths of many people. It is entertaining to learn that all these stories were told seriously, and in the hospital Edward shares nothing but jokes with his kid. Everybody loved Edward Bloom. One time, Edward shared with William how he saw himself dying. He said that there would be hundreds of people outside his house, all wishing him the best, and this really did occur. There were hundreds of people hoping for the best for Edward. Each and every person had their own stories with Edward Bloom and themselves. Edward helped people with all sorts of problems. Something peculiar that occurs in every scene that happens inside the hospital, is that Edward always asked for water though he wasn't thirsty. The ending of the book makes you think about your life and the relationship you have with your family.
I would recommend this book to all readers who enjoy myths and fairytales. This is a type of book that grabs your attention with all the things that occur in Edward Bloom's life. If you enjoy the type of book that flow through people's lives or are some how sentimental then this is the book for you. What I like about this book is that it is a simple book to read. Daniel Wallace uses really simple words that make reading the book very easy. It also has clear ideas that don't make you think beyond the plot of the story. I enjoyed this book because of its chronological way of organizing the events of Edward's life. This helps the reader concentrate on what is occurring while reading and not having to go back to make connections or think outside of what the text says. While reading this book I could make connections to my personal life. For example, it made me think about the relationship I have with my dad. I can put myself in William shoes and say that I really don't know about my dad's childhood. If you are looking for a book full of truth, death and life, then Big Fish is definitely a book you must read.

posted by livelongandprosper on January 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Waste of Time, Waste of Money

Waste of both time and money. This book was very poorly written, was all I could do to finish it and when I did I was not sure why I bothered. Don't bother with this one.

posted by Anonymous on November 30, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Big Fish Review

    The story, Big Fish, written by Daniel Wallace is a book that will inspire people and make them realize why life is worth living. It is a novel for readers of all ages, and it will make you think of all sorts of things that could happen in your life. It begins with a young child named William who is suffering because his father, Edward Bloom, is dying. William is upset that his dad never shared much about his personal interests and religious beliefs, and William really didn't get to know him. So while his dad is in the hospital bed, he starts sharing his life with his son. He tells him about what it was like living in a small town called Ashland until he bought the whole town of Specter. All these stories are told chronologically through the eyes of William. Some other things that Edward shared include his love for the most popular girl in school, various jobs he had, and how he predicted the deaths of many people. It is entertaining to learn that all these stories were told seriously, and in the hospital Edward shares nothing but jokes with his kid. Everybody loved Edward Bloom. One time, Edward shared with William how he saw himself dying. He said that there would be hundreds of people outside his house, all wishing him the best, and this really did occur. There were hundreds of people hoping for the best for Edward. Each and every person had their own stories with Edward Bloom and themselves. Edward helped people with all sorts of problems. Something peculiar that occurs in every scene that happens inside the hospital, is that Edward always asked for water though he wasn't thirsty. The ending of the book makes you think about your life and the relationship you have with your family.
    I would recommend this book to all readers who enjoy myths and fairytales. This is a type of book that grabs your attention with all the things that occur in Edward Bloom's life. If you enjoy the type of book that flow through people's lives or are some how sentimental then this is the book for you. What I like about this book is that it is a simple book to read. Daniel Wallace uses really simple words that make reading the book very easy. It also has clear ideas that don't make you think beyond the plot of the story. I enjoyed this book because of its chronological way of organizing the events of Edward's life. This helps the reader concentrate on what is occurring while reading and not having to go back to make connections or think outside of what the text says. While reading this book I could make connections to my personal life. For example, it made me think about the relationship I have with my dad. I can put myself in William shoes and say that I really don't know about my dad's childhood. If you are looking for a book full of truth, death and life, then Big Fish is definitely a book you must read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2008

    Definately better than the movie.

    Big Fish is a nice, short book. I laughed, cried, and read this book more than twice! This would be a good book for you if you like myths or tall tales.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2007

    Cross between Wizard of Oz and Forrest Gump

    This book really is a modern day fairy tale. It is interesting, funny and exciting and I love it. Can't wait to see the movie.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2005

    Disappointed.

    I thought this book would be so good that it would just blow me away, I loved the movie but I didn't enjoy the book as much as I had hoped.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2005

    Waste of Time, Waste of Money

    Waste of both time and money. This book was very poorly written, was all I could do to finish it and when I did I was not sure why I bothered. Don't bother with this one.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2004

    What A Delight

    This delightful novel made me laugh and touched my heart. It truly showed the effect one generation can have on another and how understanding is achieved with time. There are great lessons to be learned here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2004

    wonderful!

    I read this book in one sitting. It is the wonderful retelling of a man's life through his son's eyes that leaves you feeling as if you were part of the storytelling too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2003

    A pure joy!!!!!!!

    This book puts a smile on yor face. It is a look into a life that may not have existed. A son sorting over his fathers 'life' in seach of some sort of truth.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    This review is from Dean Goranites of the BookReviewersClub on t

    This review is from Dean Goranites of the BookReviewersClub on the book "Big Fish" by Daniel Wallace. This book is a collection of short stories. The majority of the book is a tribute to the father with grand stories of mythic proportions.




    All in all, the story focuses on a man's father right after the father died. This man sees his father as a hero and shows this through the short stories he hears about his father from before he died.




    Dean felt that the book has a brilliant writing style and an intriguing story. Anyone who reads it will see truth, care, love and dedication with every word. This is not a story of a man who had high aspirations to be an amazing writer, but a story of a son who loves his father. That's why Dean felt the book was so touching and that there was a real soul in the story.




    Dean gave this book 5 stars because he felt this book is definitely worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Great Book

    If you like the movie you'll like the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2009

    Big Fish

    I recommend this book, Its a bit off-beat at first but the author really reels you end eventually. I couldn't put It down, the events, plot, and overall how the book is written is extremely interesting. Its great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2009

    Big Fish Review

    I thought this book was very good but i could not follow the plot of the book. If you've seen the movie before you read then book than you will have no problems keeping up with the story line, but with me i had a lot of trouble keeping up with it because of the flashbacks the boys father kept having about when he was younger and healthier. Also the fact that they kept repeating themselves everytime they went back to his fathers death. other than that the book was really good and i cant wait to watch the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2006

    no

    had to read this for my english II class- awful

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2006

    eww

    I loved this movie and I was sure that the book would be amazing, but I was very dissapointed. It was awful and a waste of time. I would not recommend this book to anyone.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2004

    Big Fish a Big Hit

    Big Fish was a refreshing and original novel by Daniel Wallace. It really described the relationship between father and son in a way I never thought of before. Each chapter carries a new adventure while still following a clear path. It was a pretty quick read, but it was still highly satisfying and fun to read. Wallace has a unique style of writing that ties everything together to his central theme. I would recommend Big Fish to almost anyone because it has something that every age group can enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2004

    Delightful

    This is a wonderful book. Very heartwarming. Very glad I picked this one up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2004

    The man who was a myth

    This novel is full of tall tales ranging from telepathy to mermaids, of which revolve around one man, Edward Bloom the man of myth and joke one of the greatest men who ever lived. However, he has one flaw. Edward does not let people know him. He tells stories to people to make him self seem larger than life, even to his own son, William. On his deathbed, his son visits to try to know him. The novel is for a reader who enjoys fantasy and myth, but whoever reads this should keep in mind that this book is not full of dragons and golden fleeces. The setting is more modern than most fantasy novels, but still has a greatness and mystique as the ancient myths of Greece. This novel is also great because it is more of a collection of short stories. This is good for the lazy reader - one who often gets bored, can easily be hooked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2004

    Really worthwhile

    The story came alive as if it was my own lies being told on screen. WOnderful, for the little liear in all of us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2004

    What The World Needs Now...

    Is IMAGINATION! And Big Fish is a wonderland of that. It is a tale, a fable with the moral of: It doesn't matter if it's real, as long as it makes you happy. I was so impresssed by this novel. It is heartwearming and imaginative, entertaining and fantastical. Every moment was pleasurable for me, especially the uncompromised love that is displayed so poetically. If you are able, pick this up with another book that displays the beauty of life, Lucky Monkeys In The Sky (which I give 10 stars to!). It is by Michele Geraldi and it is remarkable, riveting, and sensational to the fullest degree of the word. Reading can be wonderful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2004

    Oh I saw the movie , and now i want to read the book

    The movie was great....the story that this author has written its fantastic....this is must read and see book...you have to read and see the moive...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2