Customer Reviews for

Big Game (V V Inn, Book 3)

Average Rating 5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    OMG!!! This is a series that has been on my TBR list, but I ne

    OMG!!! This is a series that has been on my TBR list, but I never quite got around to it. I’m so glad the next one is due out soon. I LOVE these books. They are hysterical, sensuous, snarky, sexy, funny, tender, and did I mention snarky?

    Vivian and I would be good friends. She has the snarky snide comment down to perfection. I can just see us sitting in the dull business meeting, in the very back, making snide comments to each other. Or people watching… again making snide comments to each other. Well, except for the fact that she’s a fictional character, a vampire, and probably wouldn’t give me the time of day.

    These books made me laugh out loud (a rare and therefore treasured treat) and left my husband with a sleepy smile. Keep your special someone close when you read these books, Vivian can not only project on her guests at The V.V. Inn, but also on the reader. Yummy.

    I give these books 5 out of 5 clouds and a chili pepper rating of 8, dangerously hot.

    This product or book may have been distributed for review; this in no way affects my opinions or reviews.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2012

    As a huge fan of the series I expected nothing but great things

    As a huge fan of the series I expected nothing but great things from this book. Yet again C.J. Ellisson shocked and awed me. The series, which spans the genres of supernatural fiction and erotica, has progressively developed with each installment and Big Game adds more complexity to the characters while revealing more about the mysterious past of the sexy and powerful female vampire and her new seethe. If you loved Vampire Vacation and The Hunt, you will be surprised and enthralled with this latest installment of The VV Inn series. If you haven't read the others, buy all three because once you start, you will need to read on. If you love vampire fiction and/or supernatural erotica/romance, I guarantee you will love this series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2012

    First of all, let me say that I don't normally read paranormal b

    First of all, let me say that I don't normally read paranormal books. Next, let me say that this series drew me in and captured me big time! I read the first book in the series and I was very intrigued with the characters, and it has just gotten better with each book. This third book is a great continuation of the story and it just makes me wonder what is going to happen next. But don't worry, it doesn't leave it at a cliffhanger. This story is resolved and I think most people will agree with me that technically there doesn't 'need' to have another book, it's just that we all 'want' another book. And after you give this series a chance, you will see what I mean.
    The writing keeps improving with each book and the story line is fun. It's not simplistic but it's not something that is hard to read either. The different points of view are fun, I have always enjoyed seeing what everyone was thinking. The only thing that might be considered a drawback happens when you have to stop reading in the middle of a chapter and forget which character is speaking then. The best solution to that of course, is to just read it in one sitting. So send the kids off to school or a friend's house and pick up this book. You might want to send them off anyway as this is not a kid friendly book. It does have some graphic sex scenes but they are spicy and juicy, not dirty and nasty.
    Five stars! I can't wait for the next book. I hope you enjoy as much as I have.


    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2012

    Searching for the Truth! This is the third book in the V V Inn

    Searching for the Truth!
    This is the third book in the V V Inn series, and as usual a great read. It is a definite page turner. This is extremely well written in the POV of 6 people. I don't know of many people who can pull this off to keep someone interested, but C.J. has done a wonderful job of it. I can not wait to read the next book in the series.

    While leaving Jon and Asa in Alaska to manage the Inn, Vivian/Dria and Rafe travel to Argentina along with some members of her Seethe. Thins are not going as planned in Argentina as she finds out that Coraline remembers Dria's abilities. Meanwhile Jon and Asa are responsible for the visiting Pack of wolves while someone is hunting too close to the Inn.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Book 3 of the V V Inn series does not disappoint, in fact, it dr

    Book 3 of the V V Inn series does not disappoint, in fact, it draws you in and keeps you interested and invested in the characters till the very end. (and even after that) The scenes, the characters and the writing wrap around you and make you love the whole package it creates. Wonderful job, CJ, you have a gift!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    If you love vampires and werewolves with a sprinkling of love an

    If you love vampires and werewolves with a sprinkling of love and erotica and the necessary horror these books are for you. Big Game is the third and newest of the series and takes you on a tumultuous journey of thrills, chills and emotions. There are two stories which tell of betrayal,death and revenge which keep you intrigued, strum at your heart strings and have you crossing your fingers (toesand anyting else you can cross). I found myself never wanting the story to end and wondering how I will cope with having to wait for the next book. With each book you get to learn a little more of the key characters and how they came to join Vivian's seethe which offers you a feeling of familiarity and friendship. C.J. Ellisson has found an original and refreshing recipe for Vampire and Werewolf tales which I hope will continue for a long time. Thank you C.J.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED IT!!! Well C.J. did it again!! I loved this story. I am l

    LOVED IT!!! Well C.J. did it again!! I loved this story. I am loving how the charaters are growing, and getting to know them is a delight. I can't wait to see where C.J. takes them next time. Highly recommended :)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2012

    This third novel definitely doesn't disappoint. While it travels

    This third novel definitely doesn't disappoint. While it travels further away from the premise in the first book of fulfilling the desires and fantasies of vampire guests, this book contains a lot of action and still has a lot of very steamy moments throughout, even in dangerous situations. Vivian and Rafe head to Argentina with a few members of their seethe and crew to make a surprise visit to the Tribunal's base, the Seat of Darkness, to try to uncover who is plotting to destroy them and why they are causing so much trouble for Vivian. At the same time, Jon and Asa are in Alaska during the summer months, opening the inn to werewolf clientele so they can hunt big game. But soon they discover that someone else is hunting them, while Vivian and Rafe realize they've taken on more than they can handle in Argentina and everyone starts doubting which vampires and workers they've encountered in this country can actually be trusted. Even throughout the danger, new love connections are made or deepened and everyone still gets to enjoy a nice release or two, to ease the tension of being in life-threatening situations, even though those lives seem to be more durable. I could hardly put the book down, it's a great read, going back and forth easily between points-of-view of those in Argentina and those in Alaska, both storylines moving along together, with intensity ratcheting up equally as the pressure mounts and the stakes are raised in each situation. Can they all come out alive, or undead? I definitely recommend this book, but not to those under 18, because of the sexually explicit scenes that the warning on the back of the book tantalizingly promises.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Best one yet

    More romance and character development and the story is progressively more engaging and intriguing. Love it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Another great book!

    I hate that I read so fast! This was another great book and now I have to wait for the next one. If you have not read her other books, you must read those, too!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Meet Vivian, a 580 year old vampire and her human husband, Rafe


    Meet Vivian, a 580 year old vampire and her human husband, Rafe. They both run an Alaskan resort the V.V. Inn in where vampires can truly be themselves, as long as they follow Vivian’s rules. However, this summer, the Inn will be in the hands of Jonathan, Vivian’s werewolf, and Asa, vampire head of security and the newest member of Vivian’s seethe play host to some werewolves. As the pack descends upon the inn, it seems that something has been pre-arranged: at the same time, something or someone sinister has other plans for the pack. Vivian, Rafe, and half of her seethe travel to Argentina to meet with the Ancients and to find out is planning the demise of Vivian and those close to her. However, whoever is set on taking Vivian out along with everyone she holds dear, should never underestimated the power of survival and above all, love.
    C.J. Ellisson’s newest V.V. Inn is one of her best, full of twists and turns, humor, adult ‘spice’ and all the while keeping you at the edge of your seat.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2012

    C.J. Ellisson has another winner with Big Game. Dria and Rafe le

    C.J. Ellisson has another winner with Big Game. Dria and Rafe leave for Argentina with members of their seethe. The werewolves decide it would be a good time to do a little hunting. Without giving too much away, I ask you, who is doing the hunting? While in Argentina all hell breaks loose. If you want to know what happens, don't hesitate.....get this book. It don't get much better. I have read the previous two books in the series and all I can say is keep them coming! C.J. you rock! I hope you will continue this series because I haven't had my fill yet.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    C. J. Ellisson has written another wonderful saga continuing the

    C. J. Ellisson has written another wonderful saga continuing the tale of Alexandria and Rafe and the VV Inn. While the master's away, the werewolves want to come and play. They arrive thinking they'll have fun hunting big game. Only thing... well that would be giving too much away. Mean while, in Argentina, Alexandra doesn't realize she's the one being hunted.
    There are so many twists and turns, this reader didn't want to put the book down. Which made it hard for the family that wanted to eat every once in a while.
    Another great read from C.J. and hopefully soon, we'll get another installment of this great series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Ms Ellisson is just getting better! This third book in the VV s

    Ms Ellisson is just getting better! This third book in the VV series gifts us with two complete plot lines. There is one story line going on with the weres at the Inn and also a seperate story line involving Dria, Rafe, etc. as they confront the Tribunal. However, it is never confusing. The character develpment is first rate. I couldn't help but cheer for some characters, with one actual fist pump toward the end, while detesting others. I also very much enjoyed the story as told from the different characters point of view. The different points of view just leave me craving more about the individual characters' stories. I understand this is more difficult to write, but boy is it worth it! This book is for adults as it is "spicy", though not quite as much as her others. Would recommend to anyone who enjoys a good paranormal story along with a little spice.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    I started reading Big Game on the train to work, should have lea

    I started reading Big Game on the train to work, should have learnt my lesson with the first two books. It was amazing, could not wait to get back on the train and into the book. C.J. Ellisson did it again with pull that surrounds you and and scenes that excite you. And with the different POVs its several sides of the same story and you want to get back to know what Rafe is doing but whats going on in VV head right now is ARHHHH. Amazing simply AMAZING

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I won this book on the GoodReads First Reads. Since it was the

    I won this book on the GoodReads First Reads.

    Since it was the third book in the series I wanted to read the previous books to fully enjoy it. Ok, I know the author considers this to be her best book in the series and I have to agree. Don't get me wrong. I enjoyed the previous books as well, but reading this one had me more on the edge of my seat. I sincerely hated to have it end. The revelation of who is behind the tribunal attacks was interesting and I can't wait for the next book. I like the main characters more and more and enjoyed seeing a new side to Rafe that I expected based in his acceptance of Vivian and hints at his own past. Drew really appears to be torn between his past Victorian human self and that of being a vampire however he does appear to be steadfast in his support of the seethe. I do wonder what's up with Cy though. Like I said, can't wait until the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    Another great success for C J Ellisson. They book is well writte

    Another great success for C J Ellisson. They book is well written and kept me glued to it all the way through. Got it read in one day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2014

    Another worthy story!!!  5 Stars You do not want to miss out

    Another worthy story!!!  5 Stars




    You do not want to miss out on this book or the rest of the series!  Big Game is the third full-length story in the V V Inn series and it is just as awesome as the ones before it.  Like The Hunt, it is told through multiple characters POVs, which just makes it a more enriching tale.  Following up on the events and findings from the Hunt, Vivian, Rafe and a few of their seethe-mates travel to Argentina to visit the Tribunal’s Base to find out who is plotting against Vivian.  As with the last book, this is also told from different POVs and lets some of the Seethe take lead or charge of situations, so you really get a good look into their head and their character.  I think that this book is very well written, and just like the rest of the series it is very unique and a terrific fresh take on the vampire lore.  And as keep saying, this is one series that will always be kept on my TBR list so that I can read it over & over again through the years!  Hopefully C.J. will be able to write more in this series as I think that Vivian, Rafe, Jon & Drew have a lot more adventure in them!  Not to mention their other Seethe-mates as well!  I am very glad that I finally did discover this series and cannot wait for more to come!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2013

    The action was really amazing.  I loved how they got locked up a

    The action was really amazing.  I loved how they got locked up and the Rafe came in like an SOB and kicked everyone's a$$es and saved the day.  This was the most amazing book in the series!  Very well written and I was so sucked in that I couldn't put it down until I finished it!  A great piece of work by C.J. Ellisson!  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2013

    It was a little hard to follow at 1st. VoT was the same, but it

    It was a little hard to follow at 1st. VoT was the same, but it only jumped back and forth between 2 people so it was much easier to follow. For some reason, sometimes I would be reading and forget who's view something was coming from. However just like the other books I found it very hard to put down once I got into it. I honestly DIDNT see the ending coming which is great! Caught me by surprise and REALLY made me feel like the book was well thought out. I just wanted to see what happen so bad!!!! Didnt leave me hanging to much at the end, which I like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2