Customer Reviews for

Big Girl

Average Rating 3.5
( 388 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(148)

4 Star

(79)

3 Star

(71)

2 Star

(33)

1 Star

(57)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

LOVED IT

I read this book in one day. The story jsut flowed and was an easy read. I identified somewhat with this girl, being that all of my life my mother commented and critisized me for being overwieht and not good enough and constantly told me she could believe she had a "fat...
I read this book in one day. The story jsut flowed and was an easy read. I identified somewhat with this girl, being that all of my life my mother commented and critisized me for being overwieht and not good enough and constantly told me she could believe she had a "fat daugher" Only difference is that Victoria still fighting her weight all her life still made something of her life , I am still fighting that battle and it has always got in the way of accomplishing anything in my life, my weight prevented me from it. That is why I loved this story. I have read a lot of Danille steel's book's and "Ghost"is still my favorite but this book takes second for sure.

posted by LISAMAG44 on February 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Feels incomplete

I read this book in two days, and I was constantly looking for the "climax"! There is nothing in this book that is exciting or dramatic. I grew up being the "Big girl", so I was really hoping that she would find vindication, and it didn't happen. The younger sister wa...
I read this book in two days, and I was constantly looking for the "climax"! There is nothing in this book that is exciting or dramatic. I grew up being the "Big girl", so I was really hoping that she would find vindication, and it didn't happen. The younger sister was an interesting character, but I felt she wasn't developed enough. The ending was a huge letdown. I expect a lot more from this author, as her stories have riveted me time and time again. Is there a "Big Girl 2" that I don't know about?? This book really feels incomplete, and I was really sad she didn't do more with this. I would have liked to see her parents finally realize what they'd done to her, and it just didn't feel like they did. It's a good book to read on a rainy Saturday, but I wouldn't recommend it very highly. I really wanted to like it, but I didn't.

posted by AConstantReader on March 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 390 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Feels incomplete

    I read this book in two days, and I was constantly looking for the "climax"! There is nothing in this book that is exciting or dramatic. I grew up being the "Big girl", so I was really hoping that she would find vindication, and it didn't happen. The younger sister was an interesting character, but I felt she wasn't developed enough. The ending was a huge letdown. I expect a lot more from this author, as her stories have riveted me time and time again. Is there a "Big Girl 2" that I don't know about?? This book really feels incomplete, and I was really sad she didn't do more with this. I would have liked to see her parents finally realize what they'd done to her, and it just didn't feel like they did. It's a good book to read on a rainy Saturday, but I wouldn't recommend it very highly. I really wanted to like it, but I didn't.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2010

    LOVED IT

    I read this book in one day. The story jsut flowed and was an easy read. I identified somewhat with this girl, being that all of my life my mother commented and critisized me for being overwieht and not good enough and constantly told me she could believe she had a "fat daugher" Only difference is that Victoria still fighting her weight all her life still made something of her life , I am still fighting that battle and it has always got in the way of accomplishing anything in my life, my weight prevented me from it. That is why I loved this story. I have read a lot of Danille steel's book's and "Ghost"is still my favorite but this book takes second for sure.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    Painful to suffer through

    I don't know how on earth Danielle Steele got to be so popular. This book was just hundreds of pages of the same thing over and over again... it's so repetitive and dull it is truly painful to read. I suffered through the entire thing because it was given to me as a gift, but otherwise I would not have made it past the second chapter. It was terrible.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2010

    waste of Money

    I have been reading danielle steel since i was about 15 and i cannot believe she wrote this book.

    Sheer waste of time and money. She just kept repeating herself. The book has not substance and at the end she made it sound like she was just starting the book.

    I also got the impression that danielle believes that being above size 12 is a disease just like Victoria's parents.

    Do not waste your time with this book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    Waste of a Hot Pink Cover

    Seriously cannot believe that Danielle Steel wrote this book. Matter of fact I'm going to call her on it! I think that the publisher had a freshmen ghost writer write it for her. It would have been a decent story, but enough with the repetition! Why didn't Danielle interview a size 16 girl and/or woman before she wrote because I would seriously not feel sorry for myself for that long! I am very upset that I wasted my money and time on this book. I will more than likely not pick up a Danielle Stell novel EVER again!

    Other readers that like the topic of this novel, but hated the pathetic story line should read "JEMIMA J" by Jane Green. Very cute and motivating!

    Sorry Danielle Steel lovers! I wanted to like it...I really did!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    Not so great.

    Was very disappointed in this book. I kept thinking it'll get better and it never did. It was a depressing story about an overweight girl and how her family treated her. Very drawn out.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2010

    Boring and predictable

    While I have read many books by this author, this one lacked plot. It was boring but I continued reading thinking something was going to happen. The plot repeated over and over, girl eats, loses weight, finds a guy, guy leaves, girl eats.... I read to the end thinking there would be some type of resolution with her parents, but even that was disappointing. Not my favorite by this author by a long shot.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2010

    So identifiable!

    There are so many of us out there that struggle with weight, family acceptance, and acceptance of ourselves. Victoria struggles with all of these things, making it extremely identifiable. Besides the heavy topics that this books touches, it still manages to be a light read. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is a fascinating character study

    Victoria Dawson loves her younger sister Gracie, but always felt inferior to her sibling. Her parents especially her father confirmed that belief making it clear she was a failed test before they got it right. Mom just sits silently in affirmation.

    Victoria leaves home accepting a job at an elite Manhattan school, but her verbally abusive dad calls her a loser for taking such a position. She begins to have an obesity issue and firmly believes she is unlovable although she seems to have everything going as a swinging single in New York.

    This is a fascinating character study of a woman who seems to have everything, but lacks self esteem after growing up being told she was a worthless loser while her sister was perfect. Victoria is an intriguing individual who rates herself as useless because that is all she heard from her parents. The problem with this family drama is just how verbally abusive her parents are towards the Big Girl as they are so over the top with their nastiness towards their first born vs. their kind nurturing of their second child, they lack credibility and are two dimensional. Still in spite of the cardboard vicious parents, fans will root for Victoria to realize how much she has going; overcoming negative fostering.

    Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    I couldn't get through it

    I had to stop reading it once I got to the end of the 3rd chapter. It was like the author kept repeating herself about how Victoria wasn't the favorite and how she was different. It was like reading a 3rd grade book. I couldn't finish it...I guess I don't have enough patience.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    WORDS HURT!!!!! WOW, I HAVEN'T READ A DANIELLE STEELE NOVEL IN

    WORDS HURT!!!!!

    WOW, I HAVEN'T READ A DANIELLE STEELE NOVEL IN YEARS. THIS BOOK WAS A PLEASANT SURPRISE. ALL I CAN SAY IS, WITH PARENTS LIKE THOSE, WHO NEEDS ENEMIES!!!!

    SPEAKING FROM SOMEONE WHO HAS ALWAYS BEEN A LITTLE LARGER, I KNOW THE FEELING OF NOT BEING ACCEPTED BECAUSE OF YOUR WEIGHT. I DON'T KNOW WHY PEOPLE DO AND SAY THE THINGS THAT THEY DO AND SAY TO PEOPLE OF A LARGER FRAME. PEOPLE ARE PEOPLE AND WE ALL CAN'T BE A SIZE 2 OR 4.

    OUR WEIGHT IS NOT WHO WE ARE!!!!! THIS BOOK IS SUCH AN EYE OPENING EXPERIENCE. MILLIONS OF AMERICANS DEAL WITH WEIGHT DAY IN AND DAY OUT. PEOPLE WHO ARE HEAVY KNOW THAT THEY ARE, AND THEY DO NOT NEED TO BE CONSTANSTLY REMINDED OF IT.

    WHY NOT TRY LOOKING BEYOND THE BODY FRAME OF A PERSON AND START LOOKING AT THE HEART AND CHARACTER OF THE PERSON.

    EVEN THOUGH THERE WAS ALOT OF REPETITIVE STUFF IN THE BOOK. I THOUGHT THE BOOK WAS POWERFUL AND INSIGHTFUL. I WISH THAT EVERYONE COULD READ THIS BOOK. AND JUST MAYBE, THE WORLD WOULD BE A NICER PLACE.

    I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS BOOK FOR EVERYONE. ENJOY.......

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    My First Danielle Steel book

    Loved this book. it should be dedicated to all is women who feel out of place because of our weight. Very powerful book. Danielle expresses it all in this book!!!! It's a must read!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    Great book!

    Loved how you could relate to real life situations....great story of finding faith and love in yourself.... easy read and couldnt put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    One of the best I have read

    I loved this book. I think is was one of her best. It was more like a real life story. So many people go through what Victoria went through. I did and still do. I could not put the book down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2010

    FOR ALL 'BIG' GIRLS

    Danielle Steel explores the world of those families where one person doesn't feel like they fit 'in' because of favoritism and ignorant, unforgiveable parents. This Big Girl tries to find her way in a world all by herself without the benefit of family support and maintains her compassion and love for her younger sibling throughout. She really IS a special person in her own right and eventually will find assistance in the big city with an eclectic group of friends, acquaintances, lovers (?), and ultimately her soulmate. Throughout she remains with stalwart love for her sibling while questioning her own needs, being, and uniqueness.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    WOW!!!!!!!!!!

    This was my first time reading a danielle steel book and it was such a good read for the soul. Made me think abput how every day i spend looking in the mirror to make sure my clothes fit nicly, or that vmy makeup is perfect. It really opened myveyes and won my heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Very disappointed

    I enjoy ms. Steele's books usually. This book was a huge disappointment to me. I kept reading hoping it would get better. It never did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This is the first book I have ever read by Danielle Steel. Unfor

    This is the first book I have ever read by Danielle Steel. Unfortunately, I am not sure if I would ever pick up another book. While this one did have promise, it ended too abruptly giving readers no relief. Additionally, I wish there had been more "dialogue" in the book. There was hardly any. The book seemed to be told from no ones point of view. C-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    Best

    I love this book it is the first danielle steel i have read and it is the only one i could finish this is great for teens but i think the adult steel fans would be dissapointed i could really relate to the main character the entire time unlike most of danielles petite overachievers this book is about a big girl who struggles with her self worth and tries to find her identity

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Cannot believe this is a Danielle Steel book.  Reads like it was

    Cannot believe this is a Danielle Steel book.  Reads like it was written by  elementary student.  Waste of my time and money.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 390 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20