Customer Reviews for

Big Girl Panties

Average Rating 4
( 156 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

I love Stephanie Evanovich's writing style. This story swept me

I love Stephanie Evanovich's writing style. This story swept me away. It's a hot romance and a definite feel good book. Great stuff!

posted by Luke90210 on July 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

With all the hype, I was sure I would love this book. I wanted t

With all the hype, I was sure I would love this book. I wanted to love it. The name alone makes you want to buy it.
It was cute, but...the chemistry wasn't there. The sexual tension wasn't there. I struggled through the first few chapters. 
The head hopping made me want...
With all the hype, I was sure I would love this book. I wanted to love it. The name alone makes you want to buy it.
It was cute, but...the chemistry wasn't there. The sexual tension wasn't there. I struggled through the first few chapters. 
The head hopping made me want to cry. On a good note, I did relate to Holly and found myself in tears on more than one occasion. I found myself reliving past hurts and 
insecurities as an "average" woman hopelessly in love with a man way out of my league.  It did pull at my heartstrings.

posted by MomRocks88 on July 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 156 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    With all the hype, I was sure I would love this book. I wanted t

    With all the hype, I was sure I would love this book. I wanted to love it. The name alone makes you want to buy it.
    It was cute, but...the chemistry wasn't there. The sexual tension wasn't there. I struggled through the first few chapters. 
    The head hopping made me want to cry. On a good note, I did relate to Holly and found myself in tears on more than one occasion. I found myself reliving past hurts and 
    insecurities as an "average" woman hopelessly in love with a man way out of my league.  It did pull at my heartstrings.

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    No

    Worst book ever

    12 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I love Stephanie Evanovich's writing style. This story swept me

    I love Stephanie Evanovich's writing style. This story swept me away. It's a hot romance and a definite feel good book. Great stuff!

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    What happens when an over weight, 32 year old, widow ends up sit

    What happens when an over weight, 32 year old, widow ends up sitting next to a physical trainer to the stars in coach on the plane...Life changing experiences for both and Big Girl Panties gives you a front row seat.

    Logan Mongomery is a trainer to many professional athletes. He is an all around good guy but he's been focused on his appearance and persona for so long that when he finds himself attracted to Holly Brennan, an over weight client, he doesn't know how to deal with his feelings.

    Holly Brennan finds herself a widow and over weight. When she sits next to a beautiful man on the plane she never expected an offer for personal training sessions. Changing her life, one rep at a time, Holly must face her sorrow, food addiction and self image issues all under the watch of a man that sets her pulse on fire.

    This was an enchanting story about two people discovering happiness through lots of self growth and friendships. Logan, Mr. Perfect, discovers that maybe a life based on appearance and looks doesn't offer everything he desires. Holly comes to grips with her life losses, changes and her own ability the create her own destiny of happiness. Stephanie Evanovich takes absolutely average human issues, weaves them into a fascinating story that pulls you in and rivets you to the characters plight. A delightful, touching story of personal growth and love.

    This ARC copy of Big Girl Panites was given to me by HarperCollins - William Morrow in exchange for a honest review. This book is set for publication July 9, 2013.

    Written by: Stephanie Evanovich
    Hardcover: 336 pages
    Publisher: William Morrow 
    Pubication Date: July 9, 2013
    ISBN-10: 0062224840
    ISBN-13: 978-0062224842
    Rating: 4
    Genre: Romance, Contemporary

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Terrible

    Boring characters. Boring dialogue with no chemistry. I did not enjoy this book at all.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I really enjoyed this book. On the surface it seems like the tra

    I really enjoyed this book. On the surface it seems like the traditional romance theme of heavyset woman loses weight to make the good looking guy fall for her but it really is so much more than that simple theme. Holly is flying home from a meeting related to her late husband and his estate when she is seated next to Mr. Perfect Logan. Holly is frazzled inside and out and when Logan sees her he dismisses her as another overweight loser. Logan is basically a nice guy and starts a conversation when he sees how tense Holly is about takeoff. Logan is an elite personal trainer with a knight in shiner armor complex and he offers private sessions to Holly to help her “break some bad habits”. Holly is still getting adjusted to life without her husband and being financially independent.
    Holly shows up at Logan’s gym and works on getting herself healthier. She and Logan develop a friendship and she meets his most famous client, Chase, and his wife Amanda. Their story is a quirky one and adds a little spice to the book. Chase is a MLB player and one of Logan’s best friends. Amanda and Holly become friends and Amanda decides to do a little matchmaking.
    What I liked about this book is that Holly decides to improve herself for her own reasons, not to snag a guy. She has issues relating to her family and her late husband that she needs to put behind her and getting control over her own body helps her work though those issues. I also liked the fact that holly remains real. She does not transform quickly into a stunning sexpot. She still struggles with self-esteem issues even after she successfully loses a lot of weight. She is attracted to Logan but sees his perfection as making him unattainable for any kind of serious relationship. Logan is very supportive but he has issues of his own to deal with, including his affinity to a type of woman who Holly can never turn herself into. He also has that whole Svengali transformation thing to get over. Until both Holly and Logan can be totally honest with themselves about their expectations in a relationship, it can never be right.
    This is a nice romance with some funny twists added into the story. The ending is very satisfying but doesn’t go beyond the scope of believable. I think this is the author’s first book and I look forward to future offerings.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2013

    Wrong Evanovich! Terrible!

    Wrong Evanovich! Terrible!

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Shallow & coarse

    I didn't like her coarse writing style. Also didn't like that she referenced adult sexual spanking throughout the entire book. I wouldn't waste your money!

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book was written to be about self esteem and encouragement

    This book was written to be about self esteem and encouragement for women to love themselves, along with some romance. Boy, oh boy...does that come through this book from front to cover. It was upbeat and intense. All that Holly struggled with from page one till the end. Now I am sure there are many women out there who could similarly be in Holly's shoes in some way. And I am sure there are men out there that have been or will be in Logan's. Guess what! No matter what social media, and magazines tell you...looks really don't and should never truly matter.


    I have to give my praise and applauds to Stephanie Evanovich, cause she really did an amazing job with this book and how well it flowed. Though to me the ending was slightly predictable, the way it happened was absolutely incredible. This book all in all was hilarious and there were parts where I wanted to either cry, laugh or both at the same time! So you should go pick up this book and enjoy it as much as I did.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Lovely

    I truely enjoyed this book. Came across it on accidet and couldnt put it down. Just fabulous. Wish it wasnt so short though.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    Good book!

    Do not start this book with any preconceived notions. This is NOT a Janet Evanovich book, the writing styles are very different. The story was entertaining, a good, solid read. It was realistic in the way that romance-y fiction is. It made me (mentally) root for the good guys and hiss at the bad guys. I felt invested, and really what more can you ask for?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Don't understand negative reviews?

    It would be interesting to know why the negative reviewers didn't like the book. Did they read the summary of what it was about? The one that said "Wrong Evanovich" so they reviewed it negatively? I don't understand that.

    I admit I purchased this book because I love Janet Evanovich and this is a relative. However, after the first 10 pages, I was HOOKED. I devoured the book. I can't wait for more! The writing style reminds me of Jennifer Weiner. Stephanie Evanovich tells a great story with very believeable and likable characters. I enjoyed the fact the main character wanted to better herself for HERSELF and not for someone else. I absolutely enjoyed every page of it. I look forward to her future books and wish her much success!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    What a disapointment

    Terribly written and very predictable not the Evonovich I will look for again

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Loved It!

    The best summer read and I would recommend this book to everyone.. It got me in the first chapter and continued the whole book. It was funny, witty and I have read it twice. Hope the author pens more of books soon ..

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    Plot spoilers

    Too many plot spoilers here giving away the entire book. They need to be banned.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    It could've been better

    I had high hopes for this book because of who the authors aunt is. I thought there would be a little Evanovich humor. It had it's humorous moments. I chuckled once or twice, not very loud but I heard it.
    I felt like the romance wasn't really a romance...there was no real passion. I just wish I didn't shell out $11 for this....it isn't worth that much.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    I have tried to like this author, but just can't. The characters

    I have tried to like this author, but just can't. The characters are shallow. The body image/past issues weren't explored in a meaningful way.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Predictable

    Too predictable. Characters are flat and the storyline is flatlined.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    Sexy fun a great summer read

    Loved it

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    What I've read, so far, is intriguing . I will certainly buy th

    What I've read, so far, is intriguing . I will certainly buy the book but can I knoe the relationship to Janet????

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 156 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8