Customer Reviews for

Big Jack (In Death Series)

Average Rating 4
( 128 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 128 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    DO NOT be fooled! This isn't a new JD Robb title!!!!

    I'm a huge JD Robb fan and love any new title. "Big Jack" is part 2 of "Remember When", the Nora Roberts/JD Robb novel released in 2003. If anyone really wants this, look for "Remember When" in paperback. The publishers are also releasing the first part of "Remember When" as a stand alone as well in January (Called "Hot Rocks"). Both stories are awesome, but already published as one novel!

    35 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Terrific...........as always!

    I would highly recommend this whole series! BUT please take my advise and start with number one and read them in order! It's important as it is based on Eve's entire existance as a cop and all of the characters in her life that become so important to her! You could read just one book in the middle if you wish, but if you get into it you will find it easier to follow if you read from the beginning. It's set into the future of about fifty years and it will seem strange at first also, so if you start with book one you get so used to it that it really isn't that strange! All of the characters are so interesting and are in and out of her life that you look forward to each of them and how they fit into her life! There is something for everyone in this series no matter what you like in stories....they have it all going for you!!!! I just love this series and can hardly wait for the next one....I read fast and JD ROBB just doesn't put them out fast enough for me!!!! You will get hooked...try it!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    Continuation of Hot Rocks

    Since I did not read the previous novel Hot Rocks some of the plot escaped me.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Murder, Mystery, & Romance All Intricately Woven Into a Pattern of Enjoyment

    J.D. Robb finishes the tale of murder, mystery, and romance started by Nora Roberts in "Hot Rocks." Seldom are we given the gift of the futuristic continuity of a story as created so skillfully by Nora Roberts, also writing under the psuedonym of J.D. Robb.
    "Big Jack" digs deep and uncovers clues to solve the mystery of the missing quarter share of diamonds heisted fifty years earlier. Eve, Roarke, Peabody, Feeney, McNab, Trueheart, and Baxter work together to answer where the diamonds are and who killed innocent bystanders in the wrong place at the wrong time. Funny and snappy dialogue as well as fast paced actions keep the reader on the edge of their chair. All the action takes place in the future replete with all the future technology and lifestyle advances. That alone makes the story engrossing and surprising.
    Robb has a genuis for pulling the reader right into the inner circle of major players. You feel like you have made new friends along the way.
    In mysteries, half the fun for me is trying to piece the clues together and figure out whodonit. I have still to experience success in a J.D. Robb book. That's one of the reasons why I keep coming back for more of her works.
    We meet the granddaughter of two of the starring characters from "Hot Rocks" in "Big Jack" and she is delightful. Her enthusiasm and optimism is contagious. Another skill in Nora's long list is her ability to enable the reader to relate to the characters and to like them. Eve Dallas is a tough, sharp, and successful cop with a "gooey" heart. And she would be totally humiliated if she read this description of herself. Roarke is beyond description. Our vocabulary has yet to invent the adjectives, which can do him justice. He is Every Woman's Dream Come True in technicolor and 3-D.
    I won't spoil your reading pleasure by telling all of the twists and turns this story takes. I suggest that if you have not introduced yourself to Nora Roberts and J.D. Robb, this is an excellent place to begin. Total enjoyment is just a page away.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2010

    JD Robb - always a good read

    JD Robb - always a good read, liked the way she connected the Big Jack with the previous or later (however you read them) Hot Rocks - Bravo to Robb

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The 2nd book contained in Remember When

    After reading the last 'In Death' novel I was a bit put off by this one. I was happily surprised to thoroughly enjoy this one, though. It was really quite fun. While not quite a novella it's not nearly as long as a typical book in the series yet the characters are all true to form, snarky, and determined.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    Another great one.

    Loved this book. Always a pleasure with J D Robb.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Some of my very favorite characters...

    Although I didn't find this book until after I had read the whole "In Death" series it's just as great. I just hate when I read out of sequence but this one doesn't really matter unless you haven't read past the first two or three in the series. Love Robb's writing style and this series. Totally love the characters, Eve and Roarke, Peabody etc. If you like Robb and her series get this one too it won't disappoint.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    cross over book - good read

    Nora Roberts writing as JD Robb has a winning series here. Eve Dallas is the Homicide detective of the future and Roarke is her exciting sexy spouse. The mysteries keep you guessing to the end and romance is steamy while still sweet. The characters keep things interesting. I enjoy the images Ms Roberts gives us of her idea of the future. The imagery is clear, makes me, as the reader believe its really there while I'm reading the story. Even with all the extras, the murder mystery remains the main focus. She always throws in exciting twists that really keeps you on your toes. Sometimes Eve "just knows" who the killer is, but doesn't know how to prove it, and sometimes she struggles with the outcome until the very end. Either way, If you like mysteries, this series is going to keep your attention. The books can be read in order but don't need to be to be understood. Each book, while it may refer to things that happen in previous books, will stand alone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    J.d.ROBB fan

    My wife will listen to any audiobook by J.D.Robb.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2010

    great read!

    I thought this book did a great job of making the characters seem alive once more. This is the first book in awhile of hers that I read cover to cover without putting down. The plot line is interesting and the characters are smart and funny. I love Eve and Roarke and think that any person reading this and looking for a little romance will love them too. If you regularly read the in Death series by J.D. Robb you may have not liked the last couple books, but this book will make you enjoy them once again. I would highly recommend this book to not only regular readers but for any person looking for a little mystery, a little romance, and a lot of fun!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2014

    Highly Recommend

    As always JD Robb delivers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2013

    This is only a novella but it actually took me awhile to really

    This is only a novella but it actually took me awhile to really get into the story, maybe because this is book two and I had no idea at first, but Eve was very fast in discovering the killer and following the evidences. I just never really got to the case, I think.

    This is the follow up in a heist case od diamonds and a quarter was disappeared for years, but now one of the heirs decided to write a story and a crazy person is killing to get information and steal the diamonds. So Eve is following the leads and now Peabody is her partner since she made detective, but I actually didn’t see any difference, she’s more a shadow than anything in this case.

    Roarke is once again helping but their relationship wasn’t very commented on this novella. So not a complete failure, because is an Eve investigation, but it was just an okay book for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2011

    RIP OFF and not like RIPPED FROM THE HEADLINES,,,NOPE JUST RIPPED OFF

    with nothing more than a few added details this is literally from another book. How disappointing to spend my HARD EARNED MONEY..HARD EARNED MONEY on a book that is ripped from another.

    Nora Roberts should be ASHAMED

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Test headline

    Test review text

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Test headline

    Test review text

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 128 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7