Customer Reviews for

Big Lies: The Right-Wing Propaganda Machine and How It Distorts the Truth

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 16 of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2007

    Politics for thinkers.

    While reading this book, I realized something. For the first time in years, I was proud to be a Democrat. I¿ve never regretted my political choice, but it had been a long time since I felt this good about it. Joe Conason rebuts ten major conservative myths with solid facts and excellent writing. Some of you may have read my earlier review of ¿Conservative Comebacks to Liberal Lies¿ The format of ¿Big Lies¿ is similar to that, but this book does a much better job, going in-depth on each myth, why it¿s so prevalent, and why it¿s dead-wrong. Mr. Conason obviously did a lot of research for this book, providing twenty pages of references in support of his points. His research is the cause of my one complaint with the book, however, since he does make some statements without any supporting documents. This is a little annoying, since he obviously understands the importance of backing up his words with evidence. This should be required reading for every Democrat in the country, and is highly recommended for thinking Republicans, too, even if you don¿t agree with most of what he says. A great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2004

    Fantastic read - dishes one right back at the conservatives

    Did the person for the June 14, 2004 review BELOW even read the book? Maybe he was just mad because this book actually does a very good job at exposing the methods and manipulations of conservatives. 'Big Lies' makes a fair counter-case to the bashing liberals and democrats take at the hands of conservatives. It shows clearly there are 2 sides to every story and no one ideology is fool proof or 100% correct. If you're familiar with conservative arguments, this book will give you a 'fair and balanced' perspective and teach you mud-slinging goes both ways, not to believe the hype and criticism you read and hear from one group to the next, and that it's best to vote and make decisions on policies based on the issues & good of the whole, not your constituents, and to view things on a grander scale, not on sex offenses. I loved the book, laughed a lot, found it very insightful - taught me a lot I hadn't learned about before regarding Newt Gingrich etc. It's a book for the intelligent person who wants to see both sides.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2004

    Reads like a novel!

    In this book, Mr. conason not only describes very well what we all know or suspect, he does it in such a way that keeps you reading for hours. You would think that a book like this might be dry... it's not. It's so good, it really does read like a novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2009

    Refreshing

    Mr. Conason's book is a refreshing rebuttal to many of the myths propagated by the politcal right. Taking to task conservative claims that they have the monopoly on morality, patriotism and economic know-how, he reveals how conseratives have distorted the truth and warped public perceptions on liberalism and the Democratic party. It is a must read for anyone wanting to gain perspective on the social and political climate in the United States over the past twenty years, but more especially over the last eight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Agree with Politics for Thinkers

    I concur with the review below. Basically, Conason does a really good job of debunking myths about liberalism....but occasionally he'll try to make a point by saying that something is so obvious, it would be redundant to cite examples. I'm a cynic - I need examples!! But when he does provide examples (which is most of the time, mind you), it is very well researched and written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2006

    half truth

    while each title either way is half truth to prove a point, this book follows in that genre. a quote or sentence does not explore all the options and therefore misleads. for once I would like to see a book written that tries to show both points and let the reader decide instead of pushing to the right or left

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2004

    Hillary was right.

    Hillary Clinton was once ridiculed for decrying a 'vast right-wing conspiracy.' But as this book clearly shows, she was 100% correct.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2003

    Read This Book... Just For 'Kenny Boy' & 'Ducky'

    I just want to puke my guts out! Yes, that's right! It makes me sick to see how these folk have created a 'The Emperor's New Clothes' scenario. Mr. Conason does a great job of exposing some of the tactics that are BLATANLY used by the 'right' to distort or spin the REAL truth. Most people just tend to 'cow' into the system...brainwashed maybe, but certainly not using their instincts to tell them right from wrong.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2003

    Big Lies: The Right-Wing Propaganda Machine and How It Distorts the Truth

    This book is not written with the purpose of bashing the Republican or the Democratic party, for that matter, but rather to expose a small group of extreme right-wing conservatives whose lies have helped to place our country into a destructive course that it has never seen before. We all have a little liberal and a little conservative beliefs with each of us leaning a little more one way or the other. The people, all of us, need to knwow what is the truth and what is not before we can make good decisions, so Joe is trying to expose some of the lies that have been told and by whom so we can make those decisions. He exposes Ann Coulter and her lies and immoral actions. He names many of the politicians who went after Clinton for his association with Lewinsky, and describes immoral actions far worse in many cases than he was accused but they acted like they were avenging angels. He also exposed the racial and predjudicial beliefs that many of these politicians try to hide from the public. He exposes Bush's lies to the people when he tells them how good a tax break they are getting when in fact it is the rich that are getting the best deal. He tells about how the Bushes tried to dissassociate themselves from Enron when, in fact, they were close associates for years. He tells of when George W. tells the people on Jan.11, 2002 that Ann Richards was helped by Ken Lay and Enron in her bid for Governor. She did receive a campaign donation of $12,500 versus $146,500 that went to Bush. This is the kind of tactics he uses. Want to know more about Bush, read the book he tried to get suppressed (he and his family were threatened if he published it-they even knew the baby's name), 'Fortunate Son: George W. Bush and the Making of an American President'.You Californians might want to read and find out how he helped Enron rip you off on the energy prices. You might want to think about your recall election and what that could mean if the Republicans take your state over-another Florida? Learn how the media has been manipulative and who is behind some of it. This book is an eye-opener, a lot of it isn't pleasant reading, but is necessary reading. We, and I mean every single person, regardless of party, needs to take a good look at what is going on and act soon or it may be too late. We need to repeal the Patriots Act and get our country back on track. Get out and vote!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2003

    Big Lies: The Right-Wing Propaganda Machine and How It Distorts the Truth

    The reason I say this is for both the Republicans and the Democrats is that, the author himself says so. It is not meant to criticize conservatives as a whole, but to reveal the far right wingers and their lies and a few others also. All of us have a little liberal and conservative feelings in us with some having a little more of one or the other. He reveals the lies that Bush spews forth about how the middle class and poor people are getting such a wonderful tax break while in truth it is the opposite. He reveals a lot of the lies about Bush, Enron, Cheney, etc. and their business dealings and how they hurt the people, (Californians might like to read about the dirty dealing they got during the energy crisis). He exposed Ann Coulter for her lies and hipocratical moral actions and names the immoral acts of many of the people that were out to get Clinton. Absolutely astonishing that many of these same people were guilty of even worse acts! He reveals the lying hipocrats who are predjudiced towards blacks, Jews, etc. There is so much more that it is worth getting this book and reading it. It is about time that we got a more clear and truthful look at what is happening in this country. This book is important for everyone because our country is in serious trouble and the people need to get together and do something about it. We cannot sit around and think it will get straightened out by others, because that is just what they want you to do. We need to get the Patriot Act repealed and you need to get out and vote. Check out the candidates yourself, don't always listen to the negative stories you hear from the opposing candidates because you will find that they are deliberately misleading at times as this book will show you. Thank you Joe for getting the truth out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2003

    The truth finally comes out

    We finally get a well-thought-out response to the vicious attacks from the conservative right-wingers who threaten to destroy our democracy. if you don't think so, just watch Hannity & Colmes when their girlfriend Anne Coulter is on. these are very dangerous people and finally someone with some intelligence stands up to them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2003

    EXCELLENT

    Finally, books are written with truth in them & facts to support the truth. Joe Conason has done a terrific job with this book. I read it in 2 days, couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2003

    Conason Really Kicks

    Conason's book kicks right wing butt, but thankfully is based on those 'stuborn little things' called facts . . . not a bunch of hateful half truths and fallacious rhetoric so skillfully employed by GOP hate-mongers like Limbaugh and Coulter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2003

    Finally, Fair and Balanced

    Joe Conason has performed an important public service with the publication of his book Big Lies. Beyond destroying the myth of 'liberal bias' in the media, Conason also exposes the disinformation campaign and the duplicity/hypocricy of the talking heads (writers, too) on the right. For too long progressive voices have either been voluntarily silent or their views have not reached the mainstream audiences that this book will. In many cases the reader will find this book to be a primer on how ideology, wealth, a political agenda, and a disregard for truth and integrity can co-opt and compromise an independent press and mislead the American people. Joe Conason has illuminated the inner workings of those on the right. If we fail to see this -- then shame on us!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2003

    First-rate, well-informed journalism

    I'm only up to chapter three in this book and already I'm so blown away that I was compelled to jump on here and sing its many praises. Just like in 'The Hunting of the President,' Conason not only presents compelling arguments, but backs them up with hard facts. He carefully dissects the myth of the liberal media bias without resorting to wild character assassinations or hysterical vitriol. This is a well-written and intelligent book, and a must-read for anyone who wants to hear the other side, presented in a rational and thought-provoking manner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 16 of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1