Customer Reviews for

A Big Little Life: A Memoir of a Joyful Dog Named Trixie

Average Rating 4.5
( 229 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(146)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Angel Unaware (with apologies to Dale Evans)

After reading Dean Koontz for many, many years, I became aware of a difference in his books. There was a spirituality there that had not existed before. After reading A Big Little Life (in one sitting), I think that the change in his writing and Trixie were somehow re...
After reading Dean Koontz for many, many years, I became aware of a difference in his books. There was a spirituality there that had not existed before. After reading A Big Little Life (in one sitting), I think that the change in his writing and Trixie were somehow related. This incredibly heartwarming account is well worth the read.

posted by 1348721 on August 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Slow and boring

This was an extremely boring read

posted by 15270168 on November 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    Angel Unaware (with apologies to Dale Evans)

    After reading Dean Koontz for many, many years, I became aware of a difference in his books. There was a spirituality there that had not existed before. After reading A Big Little Life (in one sitting), I think that the change in his writing and Trixie were somehow related. This incredibly heartwarming account is well worth the read.

    19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    "A Big Little Life", by Dean Koontz

    Being a long-time dog lover and owner (we are on our 11th dog in our married life so far), I cannot even imagine a person NOT wanting a dog around. We are partial to yellow labs, so loving and gentle. Plus great for hunting. They are such emotional lifters with unbounded love in every single bone. Good therapy. It's surprising how it took so long for the Koontz family to find that out! But bless them for taking such good care of a puppy that needed care. And establishing a foundation to fund care is TERRIFIC. This is a warm story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Sweet Memoir of a Beloved Dog

    If you are a dog lover and/or a dog owner, you will like "A Big Little Life." If you are a reader of Dean's books, you will probably really like this book a lot because it deals with an intimate look at Dean's life. Dean and Gerda Koontz found that a retired service dog with Canine Companions for Independence (CCI) named Trixie changed their lives. Dean shares some of Trixie's magic with his readers. The book is funny, sad, touching, but most of all, it is enchanting. It has been reported that proceeds of this book will be donated to CCI.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    Amazing story

    If I had a dog like that I would be writing a book about her too. Although the first couple of chapters are a bit tedious, the rest of the book is an amazing story. I swore I would never read another dog story because you know how it will always end, but fortunately this story celebrates Trixie's life and only briefly dwells on the inevitable painful parting. Definitely a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Get your tissues ready!

    Dean Koontz has been a favorite author of mine for 15 years. His suspense.thriller.horror stories have always intrigued me. This book is his personal story and exposes his vulnarabilty. If you have ever lost a dog you will read this like it is your own story and if you have never been lucky enough to have a dog enter your life....well then you should open your heart a bit! Dont forget the tissues!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    For all pet lovers...

    If you have a beloved pet, then you need to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2010

    Must Read for Any Dog Lover!!

    I purchased this book on a whim. I am an admirer of Koontz' writing and enjoy his books, but was wary of a book reminiscent of the influx of books since Marley and Me. I took the book with me when I chaperoned a junior high field trip as I felt it would be an easy read. It was not as expected. The book drew me into the emotions of the author as he experienced the unconditional love and amazing characteristics of obtaining a dog. As an animal lover, I related to many of the emotions one feels and the antics one experiences with pet ownership. I was not able to put the book down and finished by the end of the field trip. I admit to wearing my sunglasses and claiming allergies as I wiped away the tears. It is definitely going to be passed around as all my favorite books do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    A Big Little Life

    I really loved this book because I love dogs. I think they are all as wonderful as Trixie.
    I was touched by his great love for Trixie, although I think it was pretty lucky to have one so totally trained already. But someone who loves dogs and sees their spiritual selves so clearly touches my heart. I have always been a fan of Dean Koontz, although I can't always read his books due to the sadism he portrays, but now I will be watching for the dog in his books. I am currently reading the Watchers, and there it is! I cried at the end, even though I knew how it would end. If only all animals were as loved and cared for as Trixie. She was truly an angel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2009

    Good Read For Dog Lovers

    Overall a good book , but the author gets a little to philosophical at times. The story gets away from the dog becomes more about the author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2009

    A Heavenly Dog Story

    As a big Dean Koontz fan I looked forward to this book since it was not a work of fiction and might reveal a little more about the author. I was not disappointed. Through stories about Trixie, the couples golden retriever, Dean reveals much about himself and his values. For anyone who ever loved a "special" dog this book would make a great gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2