Customer Reviews for

A Big Little Life: A Memoir of a Joyful Dog Named Trixie

Average Rating 4.5
( 229 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(146)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Angel Unaware (with apologies to Dale Evans)

After reading Dean Koontz for many, many years, I became aware of a difference in his books. There was a spirituality there that had not existed before. After reading A Big Little Life (in one sitting), I think that the change in his writing and Trixie were somehow re...
After reading Dean Koontz for many, many years, I became aware of a difference in his books. There was a spirituality there that had not existed before. After reading A Big Little Life (in one sitting), I think that the change in his writing and Trixie were somehow related. This incredibly heartwarming account is well worth the read.

posted by 1348721 on August 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Slow and boring

This was an extremely boring read

posted by 15270168 on November 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 146 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    Highly Recommended - This is a great book for anyone who loves dogs.

    A great book for dog lovers. What a great summer read. Thank you, Dean Koontz.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    Heartfelt memoir of a favorite pet

    When I first bought "A Big Little Life" I told myself this would be my own little treasure, not to be reviewed, just to be enjoyed. Now, months after reading it some of the items have moved me so much that I still think about them and decided they need to be shared.
    Bestselling author Dean Koontz and his wife Gerda had a very happy life that revolved around the business of Dean's books. They were content with what they had, yet they longed for something more. Dean and Gerda actively supported Canine Companions for Independence, and loved visiting the service dogs that were trained through that organization. They were repeatedly asked to adopt dogs that had been retired from service, but kept declining due to their time-consuming commitments with Dean's writing career.
    Finally, they decided the time was right, and they were placed with Trixie, a three-year-old golden retriever who taught them to cut back on their workload and enjoy life fully.
    One of the tales that stands out is how Trixie would come to Dean's writing desk each day at 5:00 and stand between him and his computer. He was used to working until 7:00 or later, so to quit work at 5:00 was unheard of. Somehow Trixie knew that 5:00 should be quitting time, and she was going to make Dean get away from work and have some fun no matter if he got mad about it or not. She did this for weeks before Dean caught on to her and went ahead and took her bait to play with her instead of working for a few more hours.
    Another story I loved was one day Gerda was taking Trixie on their daily walks through the nearby tennis courts, Trixie looked for tennis balls to carry in her mouth to no avail. Disappointed as she was, Gerda and Trixie started descending the steps past the tennis courts when Trixie stopped short and refused to go any further. After much coaxing, Gerda could not get her to move and kept asking Trixie what was wrong. Trixie proceeded to pump her neck and open her mouth and actually speak what sounded like the word "ball." Gerda was so surprised, that she dropped the leash, and Trixie ran up a few steps, nosed under a bush and came out with a tennis ball in her mouth.
    When Gerda got home she told Dean the story, and he disbelieved. Months later, with this story long gone from Dean's memory, he was walking Trixie past the tennis courts and a very similar thing happened. Trixie the dog could speak, and what she could say was "ball."
    Trixie also was an author. Of course, Dean co-wrote Trixie's books, and they came with a zest and humor that was present in Trixie's daily life. I own a couple of Trixie's books (as well as many of Dean's); they are full of color pictures of Trixie and showcase her happiest moments and some of the random things that go through her head, as translated by Dean.
    Trixie tragically passed away in 2007, and this is Dean's homage to the dog who changed his life. It's not a crazy story about a crazy dog; it's just a plain and simple story about how a companion animal can teach so much to a human if the human is open to learning.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    Loved this book!

    I wish all dog parents treated their dogs with the deep love, affection and care that Koontz and his wife gave her!

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Very touching and at time amusing...

    Anyone who has ever lost a beloved dog knows exactly what Dean is talking about. I could see our own Gustav in how beloved Trixie was and how much she meant to Dean and his wife. He brings out exactly how dogs seem to be able to communicate wisdom to their owners. He goes through the triumphs, the humorous situations, the courage in the face of dangerous situations and in the illness brought on by the advancing age of the Trixie. You will laugh. You will cry. You will see your own situation in this wonderful book. It was my first time reading a Koontz and I don't think it will be my last.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Perfect Gift for Dog Lovers, or anyone.

    This memoir of a very special dog is a wonderful read. Intuitive, intelligent, and inspired, Trixie was a wonder to her parents, Dean and Gerda Koontz, as well as her readers, and proves that dogs are more than just pets; some more than others obviously.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    Excellent Book!

    As a dog owner/lover and Dean Koontz fan I anticipated this book with keen interest. And Dean delivers! It is a wonderful memoir of their life with Trixie - her impacts on him and his wife - and the life Trixie enjoyed. But equally as enjoyable, and thought provoking, is Dean Koontz's life philosophy and a well integrated synopsis of his own life. I appreciate him sharing this personal side. My new knowledge brings even a greater depth to his novels. And I am ready for the next one...

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    Trixie

    I read the sample. I realy like it and want to buy it. It has life messages in it

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    TO THE WARRIORS RPERS

    STOP USING BOOK REVIEWS AS CHAT SITES
    IF YOU WANT TO CHAT CREATE A WEBSITE OR GET A FACEBOOK MYSPACE OR TWITTER
    Sorry to rate before reading but rpers are getting out of hand and could be reported if they continue so plz stop id hate to report you

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    This book will be your favorite

    Having lost a golden almost 3 years ago, this book brought comfort. If you have ever loved any dog (or they have loved you) you must read. This book was written with humor (I laughed out loud many times), love, and the feelings that only a dog lover can experience.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    How we love our pets.

    I wish I had the skill to put into words stories about my sweet pup. This is a wonderful read. I am sure any pet owner (dog or not) will enjoy this sweet remembrance of a loving pet and remarkable dog.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    a big little book!

    A very charming book about a very special dog. A must for dog lovers. This book will make you laugh, it will make you cry and it will make you think. It also highlights bits of Dean Koontz' life and proves that one does not have to be a victim of circumstance. The enduring love between Dean and Gerda and Trixie will delight all dog lovers. Anyone who has had to say goodbye to a beloved pet will also appreciate Mr. Koontz account of their loss which he treats with tenderness. There were some parts that moved a little slow but all in all, it was a great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2009

    Thanks, Mr. Koontz, for sharing your memories.

    I have always been a fan of the author Trixie Koontz, Dog. The way she looks at life and teaches others how to live a good life is a great gift.
    Thank you, Mr. Koontz, for letting us share in Trixie's gifts.

    "A Big Little Life: A Memoir of a Joyful Dog" is an emotional book - and the emotion is LOVE. Mr. Koontz's talent, humor, and unique way of looking at life has always intrigued me. I think he is a wonderful writer and he brings all he has to this book. If you are a Trixie lover, or dog lover, or just an animal lover in general, even if you don't like animals that much, treat yourself to this book. You won't be sorry. (Warning: If you are not a dog or animal lover, this book could change your life.)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Trixie

    I am very glad that I bought this book.
    We Have a golden retriever also, and I could relate to the experiences of the auther and his wife with their dog, Trixie.
    It is philosophical and inspiring, as well as touching to the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2009

    A Great Read!

    For lovers of dogs and especially Golden Retrievers. Trixie was a very special dog.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2009

    So Sweet!

    A must for any dog lover. I loved every page! Koontz showcases his (lesser-seen) sense of humor marvelously. I have shared this book with many friends and co-workers, and every one of them has thanked me for doing so. A sweet, loving tribute to a wonderful companion, you will laugh and cry and be touched by the relationship between Koontz and Trixie. Wonderful!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    If you have ever loved and lost a beloved pet

    It took a bit to get into this as I was in deep sorrow over the loss of my best friend of 16 years but this book comforted me in a way no one else could.
    A great read for someone who has never had a pet and is thinking on getting one to show how the relationship progresses and how very blessed you will be.
    We forget that animals don't live as long as we do so we must appreciate their love every minute of every day and this books exemplafies that.
    Wonderful read, not a tear jerker like you would think. Bravo Mr Koontz!God Speed good dog.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2009

    A Joyous Little Book

    I found this story enchanting and entertaining. I loved the humor with which Dean Koontz wrote.
    This is a book I will buy by the dozen to give to both dog-lovers, and those who have not experienced the joy of knowing and loving a dog.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    This was such a funny and heartwarming book! Any dog lover would

    This was such a funny and heartwarming book! Any dog lover would love it, but beware the heart break at the end of the book. I was bawling my eyes out.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    MUST READ

    Anyone who owns or has ever had a dog can relate to his book great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    Great book.

    One of the best books I have ever read. Highly recommend. If you like true stories about dogs, this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 146 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8