Customer Reviews for

The Big Love

Average Rating 3
( 119 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 119 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted April 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The flow of it was great

    I read this book in one sitting. I enjoyed every minute of it. Would read this one again!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2009

    Fun, easy read!

    Any girl, woman, young or old should read this book. It is light hearted and fun with little twists and turns here and there.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2009

    rainy day read

    good rainy day chick lit read. Its definately not another book about a chubby writer living a fabulous life in the city- finally! this book is a great change of pace :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2008

    AMAZING

    I loved the book. I couldn't put it down, Allison reminded me of myself and I love Sarah Dunn's writing style.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2007

    A reviewer

    Funny not what I thought it was going to be about. But an interesting story line and intersting twists to a girls life as she thinks it should be compaired to what it turned out to be. I would definatly recommend this book for someone who wants to sit and laugh. A great weekend book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2007

    Fun, Quick Read

    I read this book in an afternoon. It was fun and I appreciated Alison's struggle with her spirituality.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2006

    Book on Audio, Smiling in my car

    I enjoyed listening to The Big Love on CD while driving. It was easy to identify with Alison and her ups and downs (and humiliation, disappointment,uncertainty, over-reaction and triumph). The pleasant voice of reader Eliza Foss smoothly handled the long sentences. This book made me laugh.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2006

    Great Book

    This is one of the best 'chick lit' novels that I have read, and trust me, I've read a lot of them. Alison, the main character, is very quirky. Sarah Dunn has a blunt writing style that's fresh and keeps you laughing. I couldn't put this book down!! I'd definitely recommend it to anyone, especially us ladies who know what it's like to constantly have guy troubles.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    amusing and intelligent

    Alison and Tom prepare to host a dinner party with some friends when she realizes that she is out of Dijon mustard needed to make a sauce for the chicken she is cooking. Tom goes to the grocery store to buy some, but instead of returning with non-spicy mustard, he calls an hour later to inform Alison that he is not coming back because he loves someone else. Tom demands that Alison not write a word of how he broke up their relationship in her weekly column she writes for the Philadelphia Times, a floundering Village Voice wannabe.---- Tom, who met his college sweetheart for lunch periodically, went back to the beautiful Kate Pearce, with whom he has been sleeping with for several months. A broke Alison, with the encouragement of her pregnant friend Bonnie seeks THE BIG LOVE. She meets males including her boss on sex quests, but though she partakes with some she keeps asking what about Henry, her peer at the paper? He does not seek her scalp for his jock strap, but instead provides support to the bewildered Alison.---- THE BIG LOVE is an amusing and intelligent observation of how a thirty-two years old female reacts to her live-in lover dumping her. Alison who narrates much of the chick lit tale is a lively protagonist wondering whether she wants Tom to return to her (could King and Alison's girlfriends be right that ¿They Always Come Back¿?) or find her BIG LOVE as Tom obviously is not. With a strong support cast, Sarah Dunn provides a witty account of recovering and exploring life following a ¿Big Love¿ dumping.---- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Okay

    This book is not what I thought. It came up in a search for Christian chick lit....this is not a christian book. At points it seemed anti-christian. I kept reading thinking it would get better. No such luck. It was hard to follow and rambled on for pages. Wish I could get my money back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Did not enjoy this book

    Disappointing book =(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Hmmmm....

    Im on page 30, i hope this book gets better because right now im kind of bored with it, but i keep reading all the great comments everyone is writting on how much they loved it, so im hoping im wrong and i will end but liking it, not so much right now though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2010

    Okay

    This was an okay book. I had a hard time relating to the characters and it just filled a few hours of my time. I kept expecting the main character to develop a backbone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2010

    UGH....

    I didn't care for this book. What I thought to set out to be a good, quick read, turned out to be total torture! There were times I only read the book for 20 minutes! The character rambled on and on and the story went all over the place. Maybe the style of writing is what annoyed me the most. IDK... But I was happy to finally finish that book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Funny love

    This was a nice first read with my Nook. Funny and hard to put down. Good characters, nice short read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2010

    Loving BIG LOVE

    Love the Book, I actually read it in One day, It was very Interesting on thinking that the Book was going to end one way and it didnt... Very good Book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Size Matters

    The premise of THE BIG LOVE sounded interesting (despite the generic, unimaginative title), and it sounded like a light, easy read. Something you could bring to the beach, read outdoors at the park, or read in a comfy chair during a rainstorm. I was right. It was a light, breezy read, and I loved the opening wherein the main character, Alison, gets dumped by her longtime boyfriend after he goes out one day for mustard, just before they're supposed to be hosting a party. It was clever, funny, and, of course, hurtful. Something we've all been through before and can relate to in one shape or form.

    The novel reads like a memoir and, to me, it seems obvious that the author is writing this from personal experience and has taken notes from her own personal diary/journal. Thus, the memoir-like writing style. She writes the break-up and its subsequent devastation with familiarity and clarity.

    It was also quite obvious that Sarah Dunn, the author, has watched "When Harry Met Sally..." too many times to count, just like myself. Much of the dialogue reminded me of Nora Ephron's dialogue from the movie. And I could easily see Meg Ryan playing the part of Alison of the movie version of THE BIG LOVE. I think Dunn could, too, and that's why she wrote it that way.

    My disappoint with this, Dunn's first novel, is that it jumpstarts out of the gate and then lags behind in the final stretch. You start out feeling sympathetic for Alison and as the book goes on, she gets more annoying and analytical about her relationships and actions. You realize why Tom, her ex-boyfriend, wanted to leave her in the first place. I think it would have worked better having us liking Alison throughout the entire book instead of just at the beginning. At the same time, Alison disturbingly seems out-of-character in some situations. For example, she questions sleeping with someone during the first week of meeting them. Then we see a flashback to her meeting Tom and she's jumping into bed with him quickly, not overthinking the decision. It just didn't feel right for Alison's character. And certainly didn't help with the sympathy factor we're supposed to feel for Alison.

    At any rate, without overanalyzing the book (like Alison might do with her relationships and sex), it was an enjoyable, quick read overall, but I hope Dunn's future novels have more consistent characters and a little more depth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2007

    New Favorite Book

    I absolutely loved this book. I read it in two days, and I only put it down because I had to go to work. The random tangents make the book feel 'real'. But maybe you have to experience some of the situations in order to appreciate the humor. I recommended it to all of my friends who have been hurt, and to all of my friends who simply think too much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2007

    fresh and new

    I really liked this book. The author writes it as if she is talking personally to the reader. I read it in two days and looked to see if Sarah had wrote anything else. I can't wait for her next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2007

    A reviewer

    i loved this book. i was at sams club just looking through books & it caught my eye.. i started reading it when i got home and couldn't put it down. i read it in 2 days & told all my friends about it so now they are all reading it. it's so good i loved it.. i can't believe people didn't like it they must have no sense of humor or have never gotten hurt before. Sarah Dunn is a truly amazing author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 119 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6