Customer Reviews for

The Big Love

Average Rating 3
( 119 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2009

    rainy day read

    good rainy day chick lit read. Its definately not another book about a chubby writer living a fabulous life in the city- finally! this book is a great change of pace :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2007

    A reviewer

    Funny not what I thought it was going to be about. But an interesting story line and intersting twists to a girls life as she thinks it should be compaired to what it turned out to be. I would definatly recommend this book for someone who wants to sit and laugh. A great weekend book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2007

    Fun, Quick Read

    I read this book in an afternoon. It was fun and I appreciated Alison's struggle with her spirituality.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Size Matters

    The premise of THE BIG LOVE sounded interesting (despite the generic, unimaginative title), and it sounded like a light, easy read. Something you could bring to the beach, read outdoors at the park, or read in a comfy chair during a rainstorm. I was right. It was a light, breezy read, and I loved the opening wherein the main character, Alison, gets dumped by her longtime boyfriend after he goes out one day for mustard, just before they're supposed to be hosting a party. It was clever, funny, and, of course, hurtful. Something we've all been through before and can relate to in one shape or form.

    The novel reads like a memoir and, to me, it seems obvious that the author is writing this from personal experience and has taken notes from her own personal diary/journal. Thus, the memoir-like writing style. She writes the break-up and its subsequent devastation with familiarity and clarity.

    It was also quite obvious that Sarah Dunn, the author, has watched "When Harry Met Sally..." too many times to count, just like myself. Much of the dialogue reminded me of Nora Ephron's dialogue from the movie. And I could easily see Meg Ryan playing the part of Alison of the movie version of THE BIG LOVE. I think Dunn could, too, and that's why she wrote it that way.

    My disappoint with this, Dunn's first novel, is that it jumpstarts out of the gate and then lags behind in the final stretch. You start out feeling sympathetic for Alison and as the book goes on, she gets more annoying and analytical about her relationships and actions. You realize why Tom, her ex-boyfriend, wanted to leave her in the first place. I think it would have worked better having us liking Alison throughout the entire book instead of just at the beginning. At the same time, Alison disturbingly seems out-of-character in some situations. For example, she questions sleeping with someone during the first week of meeting them. Then we see a flashback to her meeting Tom and she's jumping into bed with him quickly, not overthinking the decision. It just didn't feel right for Alison's character. And certainly didn't help with the sympathy factor we're supposed to feel for Alison.

    At any rate, without overanalyzing the book (like Alison might do with her relationships and sex), it was an enjoyable, quick read overall, but I hope Dunn's future novels have more consistent characters and a little more depth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2006

    Better on CD

    Since I'm not one for a lot of 'detail' when I'm reading, I prefer to listen to books on cd. There is some rambling by the heroine in this novel, but other than that it was great. Some parts were hysterical, and there's nothing better than a romantic comedy when you're bored or feeling down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2005

    Quick Read

    I really enjoyed this book. I laughed out load several times and read it in two days which is amazing for me (due to kids).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2005

    Read this book

    Sarah Dunn's novel is insightful and a joy to read. Her observations on relationships and life in general are funny and incisive. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2005

    I can relate to the religion part...

    I definately liked this book. I thought it was funny and honest but mostly I could relate to her background and how it affects her in all areas of her life. The 'dented can' theory is right on the money!!! I enjoyed this book and look forward to more from Ms. Dunn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2004

    Book club pick

    Although there are obvious similarities to 'Bridget Jones's Diary,' 'The Big Love' is funny, touching, and uplifting. The plot and characterization are predictable at times, but mostly there are fun surprises, original situations, and good lines. The five of us in our book club agree; 'The Big Love' deserves to be read and discussed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2004

    A Fun, Delightful Book

    This is a great first novel from Sarah Dunn. It is a fun, fast read. I enjoyed the whole book, and found myself laughing aloud. Hope to see more from this author!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2004

    FAST FUN READ!!!

    This was a good book, and I would recommend this to anyone who doesn't have a lot of time, but enjoys reading. I read this in a few days. The one thing that I was disappointed with was the way the book ended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2004

    Summer fun

    We've all been in Alison's shoes at some point in our lives - that special someone walks out and breaks our heart...just as everything else seems to fall apart in life. But it's always interesting to see how things can work out in ways we never expected. This is a good light read for summer relaxation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2