Customer Reviews for

The Big Love

Average Rating 3
( 119 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The flow of it was great

    I read this book in one sitting. I enjoyed every minute of it. Would read this one again!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2009

    Fun, easy read!

    Any girl, woman, young or old should read this book. It is light hearted and fun with little twists and turns here and there.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2008

    AMAZING

    I loved the book. I couldn't put it down, Allison reminded me of myself and I love Sarah Dunn's writing style.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2006

    Book on Audio, Smiling in my car

    I enjoyed listening to The Big Love on CD while driving. It was easy to identify with Alison and her ups and downs (and humiliation, disappointment,uncertainty, over-reaction and triumph). The pleasant voice of reader Eliza Foss smoothly handled the long sentences. This book made me laugh.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2006

    Great Book

    This is one of the best 'chick lit' novels that I have read, and trust me, I've read a lot of them. Alison, the main character, is very quirky. Sarah Dunn has a blunt writing style that's fresh and keeps you laughing. I couldn't put this book down!! I'd definitely recommend it to anyone, especially us ladies who know what it's like to constantly have guy troubles.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    amusing and intelligent

    Alison and Tom prepare to host a dinner party with some friends when she realizes that she is out of Dijon mustard needed to make a sauce for the chicken she is cooking. Tom goes to the grocery store to buy some, but instead of returning with non-spicy mustard, he calls an hour later to inform Alison that he is not coming back because he loves someone else. Tom demands that Alison not write a word of how he broke up their relationship in her weekly column she writes for the Philadelphia Times, a floundering Village Voice wannabe.---- Tom, who met his college sweetheart for lunch periodically, went back to the beautiful Kate Pearce, with whom he has been sleeping with for several months. A broke Alison, with the encouragement of her pregnant friend Bonnie seeks THE BIG LOVE. She meets males including her boss on sex quests, but though she partakes with some she keeps asking what about Henry, her peer at the paper? He does not seek her scalp for his jock strap, but instead provides support to the bewildered Alison.---- THE BIG LOVE is an amusing and intelligent observation of how a thirty-two years old female reacts to her live-in lover dumping her. Alison who narrates much of the chick lit tale is a lively protagonist wondering whether she wants Tom to return to her (could King and Alison's girlfriends be right that ¿They Always Come Back¿?) or find her BIG LOVE as Tom obviously is not. With a strong support cast, Sarah Dunn provides a witty account of recovering and exploring life following a ¿Big Love¿ dumping.---- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Funny love

    This was a nice first read with my Nook. Funny and hard to put down. Good characters, nice short read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2010

    Loving BIG LOVE

    Love the Book, I actually read it in One day, It was very Interesting on thinking that the Book was going to end one way and it didnt... Very good Book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2007

    New Favorite Book

    I absolutely loved this book. I read it in two days, and I only put it down because I had to go to work. The random tangents make the book feel 'real'. But maybe you have to experience some of the situations in order to appreciate the humor. I recommended it to all of my friends who have been hurt, and to all of my friends who simply think too much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2007

    fresh and new

    I really liked this book. The author writes it as if she is talking personally to the reader. I read it in two days and looked to see if Sarah had wrote anything else. I can't wait for her next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2007

    A reviewer

    i loved this book. i was at sams club just looking through books & it caught my eye.. i started reading it when i got home and couldn't put it down. i read it in 2 days & told all my friends about it so now they are all reading it. it's so good i loved it.. i can't believe people didn't like it they must have no sense of humor or have never gotten hurt before. Sarah Dunn is a truly amazing author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2006

    great book!

    i absolutely LOVED this book! very quick read! i finished it in a day and wish the story continued! very rarely do i finish a book and wish there was more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2004

    Big Love, Big Win

    The Big Love was definitely a page-turner. I initally bought it...because I loved the cover with the pink neon sign! Turns out, I really connected with the main character Alison, who grew up in a very conservative Christain family, sheltered from the world and made to feel guilt for only being human. Alison comes to a realization in the story that her Big Love is more about finding love for herself and the strength to leave her cheating boyfriend, Tom. Sarah Dunn is a great writer and I hope she writes more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2004

    Very Funny!

    I really enjoyed Big Love. I do not remember another book I have read that has made me laugh out loud as much as this book. I enjoyed her honest perspective on relationships. I could really relate to the main character. This book is a wonderful read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2004

    Fantastic

    I love this book. Sarah Dunn is hilarous, honest, engaging and smart. This book shows the vulnerability of the main character and the freedom she obtained while finally realizing that loving someone is not the same as being in love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1