Customer Reviews for

Big Papi: My Story of Big Dreams and Big Hits

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Okay

    Some minor cussing. Overall a good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    Great Sports Read!

    The book "Big Papi" was narrated, by David Ortiz, and co-written with Tony Massarotti, author and sports reporter. Ortiz is currently a member of the Boston Red Sox, but the book covers far more than his career with the Sox. His story begins back when he was playing ball in the Dominican Republic. It continues to cover his experiences in the minor leagues, and eventually to the MLB where he was drafted by the Mariners, and traded to the Minnesota Twins where is major league career began. Ortiz discusses the physical, mental, and emotional stress that ball players at any level are faced with. He especially stresses the importance of hard work, determination, patients and support, were to him while he making it into the big leagues.
    I enjoyed the book because you feel a connection with Ortiz while reading. He hold nothing back and tells the truth about how long it takes to make it to the MLB. Just by the way he describes vagarious topics as a reader you know Ortiz is a honest, respectable, everyday guy. For example he explains he feel guilty for not always paying attention to his fans, but on the other had he just wants to live his life like any other person. "I feel badly about it"(Ortiz 13). remarked Ortiz after having an encounter with a fan who wanted to hang out with him and his friends. He does more then just explain baseball he makes it as personalized as possible.
    From this book I learned what it takes to be a major league ball player; determination, hard work, practice, and support of family and friends. I would recommend this book to baseball players and fans who can understand and appreciate the book as well as the game its self. It is a great read that inspires young players and excites the reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    baseball lovers be inspired!

    This book is about the Red Sox's designated hitter David Ortiz and his journey to becoming a Red Sox fan favorite. He starts out at is home in the Dominican Republic with his mom, pop and his three other siblings. He explains how into baseball the Dominican is, they would use anything to play, broomsticks, bottle caps,and his sisters doll heads. He and his friends loved to play baseball outside, they were almost never inside. But that was because they didn't have the technology that the U.S has. He goes onto saying that he started going to the U.S for baseball when he was 17 year old; his first professional team that he played on was the Seattle Mariners. Ortiz says he loves it when there is someone from the Dominican on his team, so he doesn't feel out of place. Through the book he explains his relationships with some of his team mates like him and his close friend Martinez, Martinez was one of the first people he got to know in professional baseball. He goes on to say that is was a very difficult ride getting to where he is now. His inspiration for going for his dreams in baseball was his parents, and they supported him with everything he did. I definitely recommend this to baseball fans, especially Red Sox Fans. It is very inspiring with inspiring quotes like "once that happens, once you hold up that trophy or put on that ring, everybody starts to look at you a little differently, even if you still see yourself the same way." This book also had a lot of information about his record breakings. The only problem with this book for me was that it talked to much about his statistics over and over again, other than that this book was very good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2010

    A Must Read for All Red Sox Fans!

    Big Papi: My Story of Big Dreams and Big Hits is written by David Ortiz and Co-written by Tony Massorotti is an autobiography about Ortiz and his rise to fame and becoming an icon for the Boston Red Sox. David Ortiz begins his book by explaining how he grew up with a father who loved baseball but how to give it up when he was born. He talks about how everyone in the Dominican Republic loves baseball and describes all the different ways him and his friends would play the game. He would even go as far as taking head's off his sister's dolls to use them as balls. As David got older, he begin to start to really enjoy playing the game and take it more serious. He started playing at camps and working very hard. He knew he wanted to be a major league baseball player and nothing would stop him. Eventually, Ortiz was signed by the Minnesota Twins. He was released a few years later, only to be picked up by the Boston Red Sox. And the rest is history. In this book, Ortiz talks about some of his achievements in his baseball career, including breaking Jimmie Foxx's home run record, the 2004 playoffs and becoming a legend in Boston. It is also an intresting look inside of his personal life since joining the major leagues. He talks about how everywhere he goes, he is referred to as Big Papi and how he has become a huge celebrity in Boston. In one of his stories he explains about one Halloween night when he was giving out candy, there was a line of children and parents outside his house trying to get pictures with him. This book is a great look inside one of the best clutch hitters in baseball history, and all baseball fans and especially Red Sox fans will love reading about this story and will leave them wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2008

    David Ortiz

    I enjoyed this book, I think anyone who likes baseball or David Ortiz could really get into this book. In the book Big Papi, tells about his highs and also some of his lows in his career. I liked that you could see how he is a real down to earth person, like he comes off as. You see how much family means to him, and also how much the his birth place, the Dominican means to him. Ortiz talks just like any other person using the word 'bro' alot, which tended get irritating after a while, but again it showed that hes just like any other person, and does not think he is better than anyone else because he is famous. The curse of the Bambino was also talked about and how Ortiz was part of the team that broke the curse. Ortiz did not really get into great detail about his friendships on the team, but he did mention people who helped his career out a lot. ¿How Mo was beloved by the fans, and that¿s something I always hoped would happen to me.¿ Ortiz has so much respect for other players. I think that hes beloved by his fans, and other players as well. I personally think this was a well written book, and I think anyone could easily enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2008

    Big Papi

    The book Big Papi: My Story of Big Dreams and Big Hits was written by David Ortiz, with help from Tony Massarotti. It is about David's life as a baseball player, and his life growing up in the Dominican Republic. It covers his time in the minors, up till his time with the Red Sox where he broke the Red Sox single season home run record, made a name for himself as the most feared clutch hitter in baseball, and helped the Red Sox win their first world series in 86 years. This book is not only about baseball, but motivation and how much help family can be. I liked this book because baseball is my favorite sport. You do not need to like baseball to enjoy this book, because it is about a lot more than just baseball. It is about growing up in a Hispanic country, working hard to get to where you want to be in life, perseverance, and family. People of all ages, baseball lovers or not, would enjoy this book very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2008

    Exellent Read for any Red Sox Fan!

    David Ortiz hits a home run with his well-put together and insightful book Big Papi. In his book he tells stories about his childhood and about how it was playing baseball in his home country of the Dominican Republic. Also he tells what its was like to play for the beloved Boston Red Sox. Big Papi is a book that shares the conformation of a man who was born and raised in a world completely different from the USA. Whether it is stories about how he interacts with people, or what he used to play baseball when he was a kid,this heartwarming tale is sure to score big with anyone who enjoys baseball. I would recommend this book to other readers because it shows how an athlete that is extremely famous still doesn¿t take things for granted. He tells how things are the same as they were as when he wasn¿t playing for the Red Sox.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1