BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Big Pumpkin

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Kids love this book

    My 3 daughters had me read this book to them all the time. It was loved to death. Now they are adults and have bought the book to share with others. It is one of their favorite childhood memories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2009

    big pumpkin

    this book, let me just tell u this book is a FACSANATING, VEEERY EDUCATIONAL, I JUST LUUUUUUUUUUUUUUVE THIS BOOK

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2008

    Love it!

    I bought this for my daughter two years ago and she reads it year around! It's a fun book and great for your Halloween collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2008

    My favorite book for kids

    I bought this book five years ago when my eldest daughter was in kindergarten. Now my kids and I take it out every October and read it several times for Halloween (we also read it during other times of the year but it has become a Halloween tradition for us). My older children are now out of the age range that this book is meant for, but they still appreciate how cute this book is, and they will listen as I read it to my youngest child. The text is fun and the illustrations are wonderful. This has become one of my all-time favorite books for kids. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2007

    Awesome book

    Im a Early Preschool teacher and all of my two year olds LOVE this book. We all have the book memorized and even our youngest kids sit still to listen to the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2007

    Best story about teamwork EVER

    I first heard this story when I taught preschoolers. It has a tape that accompanies the story that is WONDERFUL. It's a MUST with the book because it's like watching a movie/cartoon but you're actually READING with your little one. I really recommend you purchase this story WITH the tape if you can find it. It is really well made - acted out on tape with music. Because of this story/tape combo, all other books I purchased with tapes/CDs are sadly lacking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2006

    One of my three childrens' all time faves

    This is a good book on SO many levels. It is a fun read, and fun as a mom to read aloud. It has great repetition and word usage, the illustrations are engaging, the story is great. It also presents what could otherwise be considered 'scary' characters in a non threatening way. No fears of ghosts, witches, vampires or mummys in THIS house.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2005

    It's big and it's mine!

    Love It! My son loves to say 'Drat'.. engages him at an early age. Wish we had the audio tape!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2005

    Big Pumpkin is great!

    Erica Silverman. Big Pumpkin Illus. by S.D. Schindler Scholastic. 1992. I.S.B.N 0-590-47760-9 Big Pumpkin is fun, spirited, and educational. Readers watch as new friendships are formed and more colorful characters are introduced. This monster-filled book revolves around the fact that nothing is stronger than working together. Many lessons are learned despite the Halloween theme. Readers learn how to work together and share. The characters learn to respect each other and to see past appearances. Patience and hard work give rewards. The repetition teaches readers to recall words, which will help them to learn how to read. The recommended age for readers is ages 5 and up. From experience, I have found that kindergarteners enjoy Big Pumpkin, especially before Halloween. The illustrations are wonderful, for they show the character¿s emotions. The pictures are so clear, and the colors are bold, yet softened. The effect is so wonderful that it is indescribable. The pictures really pull young readers in. Big Pumpkin evolves around Halloween friendships, but the book also teaches many inspiring lessons. Most importantly, it is fun and brings parents and children together to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2004

    Best Halloween Book Ever!

    We read this book 'all year long'! Needless to say we have it memorized! So when my three year old gets bored sitting in the grocery cart, we tell the story to each other from memory and have a great laugh and the shopping time passes by quickly! This book is a 'must have' for all little people! Thank you Erica Silverman for writing such a terrific children's book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2004

    Wonderful Memories, Wonderful Pumpkin

    Amazing book!! When I was in the first grade, I'd listen to the audio tape version of the book and follow along with it. And now eight years later I can still repeat the book word for word! It's musical tape is extraordinary and now I still love reading it. The characters and setting of the book seem to come alive and I highly recommend all first grade teachers to purchase it for there students. They'll love it, as I certainly did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2003

    This book is GREAT

    I read this book to my daughter's kindergarten class and they loved it. Since then I have read it to my kids at home and they like to hear it again and again. Because the words are sort of repetitive, my five year old can 'read' the book to me and I love that! She remembers the words and is using them to develop her beginning stages of reading. I also should mention that the illustrations in this book are fabulous. I especially love the Vampire, and each time I see him pulling on the pumpkin, it makes me smile. The book also has a message about working together and also realizing that just becuase someone does not appear big or strong, they can still be greatly helpful in certain tough situations. I love this book and so do my children...I am so glad I stumbled upon it one day in Barnes & Noble.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2001

    Awesome book!

    Wish there were more than five stars to rate this story. This book has a wonderful story line to it and as a parent or teacher you can focus on the need for people to work together and to share. In the end, because they all worked together, the group shares a delicious piece of pumpkin pie. A great book for children and for adults!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1