Customer Reviews for

Big Red

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2006

    Adventure and Action!

    Big Red by Jim Kjelgaard is an exciting, adventurous book. In the very beginning, the reader learns about the dangers that will be faced. ¿The bull¿s neck had been broken by a single blow from a sledge-hammer paw, and there was a hole in its belly where Old Majesty had started to eat.¿ This quote really captures your attention. It draws you into the book and makes you wonder what will happen next. This is a realistic fiction story about a 17 year old boy, Danny, and his Irish setter, Red. They live in Canada in the Wintapi wilderness. Life in the wilderness is difficult because of the many wild animals. The most dangerous of all is a giant bear that they call Old Majesty. The bear is responsible for killing many animals and injuring many hunters. The bear must be stopped. I really liked the story. I liked reading about the relationship between Danny and Red, especially when Danny taught Red by using words instead of hitting him. I also liked the action in the hunting scenes and the steps taken to take down Old Majesty. I recommend this book to most middle school kids that like the wilderness or dogs.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    Fantastic read for younger readers!

    I remember this book from my childhood and I purchased it for my grandson. He loved it as much as I did. I was delighted with his response and of course, purchasing it online from Barnes&Noble was just the easiest shopping.

    Thanks so much B&N!!

    Mickild

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2004

    All TRAPPERS, VARMINT HUNTERS, AND DOG LOVERS Will LOVE THIS BOOK

    This book was fantastic, because i love dogs, and i love the bond that that is made between the two (Danny and Red). This is a book that is packed with detail, so you always know what is going on. There are sad parts, but there is always something that comes along and overcomes it. I loved this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2003

    loved it

    I loved this book it is one of my all time favirotes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2003

    i like it

    i loved this book it talks about relacanship and hard work but most of all i like how it all tied togather. this is a MUST read book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2002

    Interesting, loving, and exciting.

    A wonderfully inspiring book on the world of hunting dogs, Big Red is a book that has you flipping quickly in suspense some chapters, and has you crying enough to put it down in others. Even if you are not a dog lover or an outdoorsman, this book is a must read. But as an avid hunter and lover of hunting with dogs, it is an incredible story. I have read it eight times, and a ninth time is in the near future. It is one of my all time favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2001

    mmmmmmmhmmmmm

    This is a great book! I suggest everyone should read it, its so good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2002

    Great

    This is a good book. I am an owner of an Irish Setter, so I found it more enjoyable. It can be a little boring, though it is good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2002

    Great and interesting book!!!

    i loved this book for one reason that this boy taught big red with love instead of lickin him there is some sad parts but its really happy at the ending i really encourage u to read this book! you will love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2001

    The Bset

    If you like dogs and hunting than you need this book it is the best hunting dog book i have ever read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2000

    Awesome!!

    I liked when Big Red fought the wolverine. He was great in the dog show, too. This is a great book if you want to read about a hunting dog. I hope Jim Kjelgaard writes another book like this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2000

    a reviewer

    Thsi book is REALLY great and is extremly hard warming. The only true freind a man has is his dog, and Danny knows that. They go through many hardships but still remain together and always will, even after death tolls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2000

    THSI WAS THE BEST BOOK

    I loved this book. It was the best Jim Kjelgaard has ever wirtten. I love his work most likely becuase I love dogs. It had great detail and it really told the friendship between boy and dog. It was a real heart warmer especially how it told about the love and courage of that big red dog. I think if you shoose to rea this book you won't be disatisfied.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2000

    Big Red

    Big Red is an exciting book on true friendship and courage. Danny is an amazing young man that falls in love with a beutiful irrish setter named Red. Can Danny and Reds friendship over come the powerful king of the wilderness, Old Majesty

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 1999

    YAWN!

    This book is by far the worst I've ever read. There was too much hunting and killing which got old after a while. The book should've been about more than just a hunting dog because this book really had no point. The next time this author tries to write a book, I suggest they throw it away because they can't write for BEANS! To those of you out there who are thinking of buying this waste of time, DON'T!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2