Customer Reviews for

Big Red Barn

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    The fun at the big red barn

    I love this book but wouldn't recommend it for infants, it's too long for them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Perfect for little children learning about animals!

    I loved sharing this book with my little grandson. He loved it and so did I.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    I have read this book to my 2 year old grandson at least twice a

    I have read this book to my 2 year old grandson at least twice a week before his nap since he was a year old and we both love it. The illustrations are wonderful and the fact that it rhymes makes it so much more enjoyable. ice.
    I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2013

    Another book has migrated downstairs for my review. Before I wro

    Another book has migrated downstairs for my review. Before I wrote this review, I had to do a little research on the author. I vaguely remembered that she had no children and died young -- I was right: she never married, had no children and died of a post-surgery blood clot in 1952 at the age of 42. Yet her work lives on in a big way. Why?
    Big Red Barn, like Goodnight Moon, reads like a lullaby. It is about impossible to not lull your voice when reading it. Its phrases end with a gentle rhyme, not forced-feeling rhyming couplets. And, also like Goodnight Moon, as the book winds down, the phrases become shorter until they just disappear and the story is over. That's why an adult at a child's bedtime would like. Why a toddler likes it, I don't know. It could be the animal noises interspersed in the story. It could be the lullaby effect of the book. It could be anything. I just know that my toddler likes it.
    Felicia Bond is very well-known for her illustrations in the "If You Give..." series, and rightfully so. Her pictures brim with personality, color and humor. None of those qualities are lost in this edition of Margaret Wise Brown's classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    I adore this book.

    This book has become a love of mine and my four year old son's. I'm ashamed that I didn't know about it when my older kids were little. The verse is musical, the illustrations are simple yet engaging, and the story line takes me to a life that is slower paced than mine. My son will have me read it to him multiple times in a row, and it has been this way since he was one. I really can't recommend this enough. I grew up loving Good Night Moon, but I like this even more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Nobody can resist Good Night Moon. As a matter of fact, I receiv

    Nobody can resist Good Night Moon. As a matter of fact, I received 11 copies of it as baby shower presents (in various formats and sizes) when i was pregnant with my son. I promise you, this is a welcome regift but beware of it as a shower gift because of its popularity!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2010

    an early library classic

    I recently purchased a copy of THE BIG RED BARN for a friend who was adopting 1 and 2 year old brothers. I remembered this book fondly as one of my son's favorite bedtime reads. The text is simple and rhyming. The story takes the reader through a day on the farm, introducing a variety of animals through charming illustrations. At the end of the book all of the animals go to bed in the barn. It's sweet how Margaret Wise Brown steadily darkens the sky so the reader can anticipate the end of the day. When my son was little, we would sing a soft, simple tune to say goodnight to each of the animals sleeping in the barn. Bonus: Since it's a boardbook, my son was able to turn the pages without me having to worry about them being torn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    The Words Are Magical

    Margaret Wise Brown had a gift for words; but mostly for putting words together in a way that makes you love to read them aloud. I bought this book when my first-born was a baby. I read it to him many times. Then I read it to his younger brother many times, then to both of them together many times. Here comes the magical part. When the boys were too old to appreciate "The Big Red Barn" I didn't dream of giving it away, as I did many of their other books they outgrew. I kept it for me and sometimes when I'm stressed or tired or scattered I grab "The Big Red Barn" and I read it aloud to myself. It's soothing and the imagery is lovely. It's a gem, to be sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Down on the Farm Again

    When I found The Big Red Barn and noticed it was written by Margaret Wise Brown, also the author of Goodnight Moon, I quickly added it to our collection. Goodnight Moon had stood us in good stead for over a year, and I was sure The Big Red Barn would soon be another favorite. We especially love the colorful illustrations; there is much to see on every page and you can notice new things with each reading. Sometimes we have to look very very close to see little mice! The rhyming, easy writing style makes for great animal-noise making moments. My mom grew up on a farm and we spent lots of time there as children, so the chance to expose my grandson to an environment he'll likely never know is immensely pleasing to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2009

    love this book!

    this is one of four that we give at baby showers. we've noticed that very few people give books at showers. this purchase was for my sister-in-law. as she began opening it, she started to cry when she realized what the gift was, because she used to read all these books to my daughter when she was small.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    My 2 yr old LOVES this book.

    I purchased this book for my 2 1/2 yr old daughter because she always talks about farm animals and loves Goodnight Moon by the same author. This is now her favorite book. We've read it so many times in the last month that she now recites it while sitting on the potty. Great book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2009

    A winner with the Whole Family

    We received this as a gift for our oldest son who is know 7. We have replaced that copy twice. The pictures are wonderful and we love to look for the mouse and butterfly on different pages. The story is simple enough for little kids to follow along. Now our oldest son reads this to his brothers!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Some nice moments, text is awkward and lacks flow. Not a favorite.

    I was disappointed in this book. I purchased it without having ever read it, based on the few pages and text snippets I was able to find here and on other book sites - the few pages I read seemed to have a nice rhythm and the illustrations looked fine. I didn't have a book with farm animals for my baby, so this seemed a good, fun start -- plus, my baby (a 10-month-old) loves Goodnight Moon.

    I find the text very awkward. It lacks consistent rhythm and doesn't always flow. Some of the lines are really nice, and it seems to start to flow when suddenly, there are animal noises. Part of this may be the layout of the book, as well, when lines are broken up over two pages and the sense of rhythm is lost entirely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    The best farm animal book for babies!

    This book has great illustrations set on a farm. I like it better than the books that just show a picture of one animal at a time. The moon at the end was a favorite early on for my baby. This is probably her favorite book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    Beautiful illustrations.

    I love the wonderful illustrations and each picture has a lot of animals to pick out and talk about. The story does not rhyme, unlike most board books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2009

    Fun to read!

    My grandsons are ages 2 and 4. They both enjoy me reading this book to them. They enjoy books about animals and the rhymes in the book make it a very engaging and fun book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sticks with me in the best possible way

    When I first purchased this book, as part of a bundled set, the cover did not grab me so I didn't read it to my son for a while. Then I read it to him before bed one night and was taken by how perfect the rhythm is, and how the sing-song nature of it stuck with me, but only in the best possible way, sort of like a song you hear and instantly like.

    We have many books, but I read it to him again and again, until I memorized the whole thing. On car trips, I would recite the whole book to my son from memory, and I am not one to memorize lines from a play nor from a poem--but I can remember song lyrics. The text is so lyrical, that it's sort of like a song, and it does not become boring when read over and over.

    By the big red barn / In the great green field,
    There was pink pig / Who was learning to squeal.
    There was a great big horse / And a very little horse,
    And on every barn / Is a weather vane, of course,
    A golden flying horse.

    If I was told I could only have ten books out of the hundreds that I own, I would likely include this one. It's that delightful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Engaging and great fun to read

    My two year old daughter loves this story - we checked it out from the library first. After repeated requests to go and get "Big Red Barn" from the library, we purchased a copy for her birthday. The rhymes and images make for a delightful shared story experience, especially if your child likes animals. I would recommend this book to anyone with young children, in fact, if you don't have young children go and borrow one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    Great bedtime story

    Since we had memorized all of my son's bedtime books we went looking for something different. I love this book and he loves all of the animals and the animal sounds we make together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2008

    Children love it

    durring the school year i had an internship at a child care center, and every morning the children would ask me to read this book, it is deffinitly a children's favorite

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2