Customer Reviews for

Big Sky Country

Average Rating 4
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

B+ rating...

My Review:


I am definitely going to like this new series by Linda Lael Miller. Set in Montana ranch country, this little town features some really sexy guys. I do have a thing for cowboys and this is already set up to be a fabulous series.


This book starts wit...
My Review:


I am definitely going to like this new series by Linda Lael Miller. Set in Montana ranch country, this little town features some really sexy guys. I do have a thing for cowboys and this is already set up to be a fabulous series.


This book starts with Slade, the town sheriff who was also the illegitimate son to one of the town founders. His father has died and although he never acknowledged him in life, has now left him with half his substantial estate. Slade doesn't quite know what to do with that, either the money or the fact that his father left him it. To complicate things, he's having to deal with Hutch, his half-brother who inherited the other half. They've never gotten along and this change of circumstances certainly hasn't helped that fact.


On the other side of the story is Joslyn. She grew up as one of the town's wealthy elite, until it came out that her step-father ripped off almost everyone in town and went to prison. Since that time, Joslyn has been trying to repay those citizens who were victims although none of them realize it's her behind the substantial checks they've received.


There's a lot of backstory for both these characters. They knew each other growing up, but were both very different people then. I like how their chemistry is so confounding to both of them. They don't know quite what to do with it or even if they want to do anything with it. It's a good chemistry which builds throughout almost the entire book. It made it even more satisfying to read when they finally gave in to that passion.


I really liked all the aspects of this book. I loved Slade and Joslyn. I liked the addition of the stray animals and the teenager, Shea. I loved the town and all the characters therein. It was definitely an entertaining read, but I do admit I felt like the end was rushed and not quite everything was resolved. Maybe, *crossing my fingers*, those other little details are still to come in the next books in the series, because that was really my only complaint about this book.


It set up several story lines that I am excited to see in the next few books, Kendra, Hutch, Boone, Amy (chicken farmer)...so you can see who I hope are the characters who are coming. ;o)

posted by SmittenWithReading on May 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Will leave readers homesick for Montana's open skyline!

Review:

I am usually not a fan of Harlequin romances or westerns, but somehow the love-struck crime-fighting cowboy in Big Sky Country kept me entertained. Of all the characters involved, I loved Slade (the aforementioned cowboy) the most! He's a down-to-earth, ...
Review:

I am usually not a fan of Harlequin romances or westerns, but somehow the love-struck crime-fighting cowboy in Big Sky Country kept me entertained. Of all the characters involved, I loved Slade (the aforementioned cowboy) the most! He's a down-to-earth, passionate man, full of rancher's dreams, and a lot of history to go with them - not to mention a lot of muscles... I found Slade to be the most well-developed character, however, I did enjoy reading about most of the characters milling about in Parable, Montana - especially Joslyn, Hutch, Opal, Shea, Boone, Jasper, and Lucy-Maude (furry friends included). Speaking of Parable's pets, I must comment on Linda Lael Miller's writing abilities, it is rare to find a book where the reader is groomed to care as much about the four-legged characters as they do for their human counterparts. I am an animal lover, so I liked the contrast between the person-to-person and person-to-pet relationships - dogs, cats, horses... they tend to bring out the "softer" (and more vulnerable) side of the people they interact with. The story is filled with rich imagery, making me yearn for the openness of the Montana skyline; if the cover-art did not thrill me, the landscape descriptions sure did! I found the dialogue simple, yet effective, although I wish that the conversations between Slade and Joslyn had not been so predictable. I enjoy a well-cultivated romance - slow to bloom, but full of promise, potential, and hidden passions - however, I thought that once Slade and Joslyn got over their history of "sideways glances" and "hidden feelings" that they moved too abruptly into a full-blown relationship. I understand that they had known each other since childhood, but there was no real "build-up" or excitement. It is unfortunate that the romance never seemed to hit a peak, because it made the ending feel rushed and unrealistic (no spoilers). I hope that Linda Lael Miller rounds up some of the loose-ends in book two of the Parable series, Big Sky Mountain, due out this August; I would love to know more about Hutch and Kendra! Overall, Big Sky Country is a nice summer romance that will warm the heart and leave readers homesick for Montana's big sky.

Rating: Bounty's Out (3.5/5)

*** I received this book from the author (Meryl L. Moss Media Relations, Inc.) in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.

posted by The_Paperback_Pursuer on June 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Will leave readers homesick for Montana's open skyline!

    Review:

    I am usually not a fan of Harlequin romances or westerns, but somehow the love-struck crime-fighting cowboy in Big Sky Country kept me entertained. Of all the characters involved, I loved Slade (the aforementioned cowboy) the most! He's a down-to-earth, passionate man, full of rancher's dreams, and a lot of history to go with them - not to mention a lot of muscles... I found Slade to be the most well-developed character, however, I did enjoy reading about most of the characters milling about in Parable, Montana - especially Joslyn, Hutch, Opal, Shea, Boone, Jasper, and Lucy-Maude (furry friends included). Speaking of Parable's pets, I must comment on Linda Lael Miller's writing abilities, it is rare to find a book where the reader is groomed to care as much about the four-legged characters as they do for their human counterparts. I am an animal lover, so I liked the contrast between the person-to-person and person-to-pet relationships - dogs, cats, horses... they tend to bring out the "softer" (and more vulnerable) side of the people they interact with. The story is filled with rich imagery, making me yearn for the openness of the Montana skyline; if the cover-art did not thrill me, the landscape descriptions sure did! I found the dialogue simple, yet effective, although I wish that the conversations between Slade and Joslyn had not been so predictable. I enjoy a well-cultivated romance - slow to bloom, but full of promise, potential, and hidden passions - however, I thought that once Slade and Joslyn got over their history of "sideways glances" and "hidden feelings" that they moved too abruptly into a full-blown relationship. I understand that they had known each other since childhood, but there was no real "build-up" or excitement. It is unfortunate that the romance never seemed to hit a peak, because it made the ending feel rushed and unrealistic (no spoilers). I hope that Linda Lael Miller rounds up some of the loose-ends in book two of the Parable series, Big Sky Mountain, due out this August; I would love to know more about Hutch and Kendra! Overall, Big Sky Country is a nice summer romance that will warm the heart and leave readers homesick for Montana's big sky.

    Rating: Bounty's Out (3.5/5)

    *** I received this book from the author (Meryl L. Moss Media Relations, Inc.) in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Linda Lael Miller does it again. Okay so I love Linda Lael Mil

    Linda Lael Miller does it again.

    Okay so I love Linda Lael Miller. Her books are real, engaging, and sweep you up into the lives of hardworking cowboys. BIG SKY COUNTRY is no different. Not only do you get to escape into the small town of Parable, Montana, but you get to do it with Slade Barlow.

    Slade is one very hot and rather surly sheriff. He doesn't really want the job anymore, but there isn't anyone else to take over. Slade is gifted half of Whisper Creek Ranch. He wants a ranch, but the only reason he wants Whisper Creek is because it belongs to Hutch. Brotherly love abounds---even though they've never been close like brothers. But there's a softer side to Slade. We don't only get to see it when he's with Joslyn, but also with his stepdaughter, who's not really his stepdaughter anymore. It is a fun to go through the story with Slade and see him deal with a teenager girl as well as Joslyn.

    Joslyn has her own set of problems without Slade added to the mix. She's always had a thing for him though, and when she returns to Parable Joslyn quickly learns that her feelings have intensified rather than waned. I really liked Joslyn. She has a heart the size of the ocean and wants to make right what her father did to the people of Parable. The relationship between her and Slade is fun to watch unrravel. There were plenty of times I laughed at their bickering back and forth. When things finally work out for them I couldn't stop smiling. These two deserve each other.

    Hutch and Kendra are good friends with Joslyn. Even though Hutch and Slade don't get along, it's still entertaining to watch them at each other's throats. As secondary characters they added a lot of spunk to the book. After you read BIG SKY COUNTRY you've got to check out BIG SKY MOUNTAIN to find out more of what's going on between Hutch and Kendra.

    If you like small country town stories then Linda Lael Miller is the author for you. This is definitely a book I'd recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The beginning of this book almost had me putting it down. It too

    The beginning of this book almost had me putting it down. It took me forever to be able to tell the two half-brothers, Slade and Hutch, apart. It wasn't until I started seeing their families around them that their names really started to stick for me - which made some things a tad confusing at first.

    Now once I got that little piece of information down, the story was quite good. It was told in a slow, easy pace that seemed to reflect the life in Parable, Montana - a small town where everyone seems to know everyone and things take a long time to change. What I learned of the town was amazing, makes me want to visit to get away from the city and find a little peace and fresh air - and stare at all the cowboys.

    The romance between Slade and Joslyn was very slow to build up. But that is what real life is like - it takes time to get to know someone all over again and make the decision to open your heart. Joslyn took a huge risk returning to Parable after her step-father did a lot of damage to a lot of people. She wants to fix what he did - but things aren't always as easy as they seem and she knows that.

    Slade is dealing with his own family drama - the kind this small town will be talking about for ages. But he doesn't really seem to care about what the town thinks or talks about. He's going to sit and thing about things before making any decisions. That's just the type of guy he is. So when he sees Joslyn for the first time in years, he's taken aback. Especially by his body's reaction to her.

    Theirs was a sweet and slow romance that you really just fell into to. It was a lazy afternoon of lounging in the sun just to enjoy it. I look forward to visiting Parable again to see what everyone is up to and find out who is next to fall in love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    I usually love LLM books but this one left me flat. I felt like

    I usually love LLM books but this one left me flat. I felt like she wrote so much back story that it left this story wanting. It was as if this was a book she wrote in the beginning of her writing career. Now I will buy the next in hopes that this one was a fluke but I really didn't enjoy it at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2012

    Ms Miller has lost her edge!

    LLM has been at the top of my author list for a long time but her passion for animals has diminished her appeal as a writer... There was more in this book about Lucy-Maude, a stray cat and Jasper the dog than there was about some very fine human characters... The love story between Slade and Joslyn was great but cut short by feeding the cat and dog.. I understand and share LLM's pssion for animals but I cannot believe the same person wrote this book as wrote the McKettrick Series, The Man from Stone River etc... I wanted to love this book but who interrupts a love scene to scratch a dog behind the ears?? Really!! With little exception this book could be read to elementary school children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Good but needed more

    I liked this book but it lacked some things. I would have loved to seen more romance between slade and joslyn. It seemed that they didn't even date and then they were married. I will read the next book just to see what happens with hutch and kendra.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1