Customer Reviews for

Big Sky Country

Average Rating 4
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

B+ rating...

My Review:


I am definitely going to like this new series by Linda Lael Miller. Set in Montana ranch country, this little town features some really sexy guys. I do have a thing for cowboys and this is already set up to be a fabulous series.


This book starts wit...
My Review:


I am definitely going to like this new series by Linda Lael Miller. Set in Montana ranch country, this little town features some really sexy guys. I do have a thing for cowboys and this is already set up to be a fabulous series.


This book starts with Slade, the town sheriff who was also the illegitimate son to one of the town founders. His father has died and although he never acknowledged him in life, has now left him with half his substantial estate. Slade doesn't quite know what to do with that, either the money or the fact that his father left him it. To complicate things, he's having to deal with Hutch, his half-brother who inherited the other half. They've never gotten along and this change of circumstances certainly hasn't helped that fact.


On the other side of the story is Joslyn. She grew up as one of the town's wealthy elite, until it came out that her step-father ripped off almost everyone in town and went to prison. Since that time, Joslyn has been trying to repay those citizens who were victims although none of them realize it's her behind the substantial checks they've received.


There's a lot of backstory for both these characters. They knew each other growing up, but were both very different people then. I like how their chemistry is so confounding to both of them. They don't know quite what to do with it or even if they want to do anything with it. It's a good chemistry which builds throughout almost the entire book. It made it even more satisfying to read when they finally gave in to that passion.


I really liked all the aspects of this book. I loved Slade and Joslyn. I liked the addition of the stray animals and the teenager, Shea. I loved the town and all the characters therein. It was definitely an entertaining read, but I do admit I felt like the end was rushed and not quite everything was resolved. Maybe, *crossing my fingers*, those other little details are still to come in the next books in the series, because that was really my only complaint about this book.


It set up several story lines that I am excited to see in the next few books, Kendra, Hutch, Boone, Amy (chicken farmer)...so you can see who I hope are the characters who are coming. ;o)

posted by SmittenWithReading on May 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Will leave readers homesick for Montana's open skyline!

Review:

I am usually not a fan of Harlequin romances or westerns, but somehow the love-struck crime-fighting cowboy in Big Sky Country kept me entertained. Of all the characters involved, I loved Slade (the aforementioned cowboy) the most! He's a down-to-earth, ...
Review:

I am usually not a fan of Harlequin romances or westerns, but somehow the love-struck crime-fighting cowboy in Big Sky Country kept me entertained. Of all the characters involved, I loved Slade (the aforementioned cowboy) the most! He's a down-to-earth, passionate man, full of rancher's dreams, and a lot of history to go with them - not to mention a lot of muscles... I found Slade to be the most well-developed character, however, I did enjoy reading about most of the characters milling about in Parable, Montana - especially Joslyn, Hutch, Opal, Shea, Boone, Jasper, and Lucy-Maude (furry friends included). Speaking of Parable's pets, I must comment on Linda Lael Miller's writing abilities, it is rare to find a book where the reader is groomed to care as much about the four-legged characters as they do for their human counterparts. I am an animal lover, so I liked the contrast between the person-to-person and person-to-pet relationships - dogs, cats, horses... they tend to bring out the "softer" (and more vulnerable) side of the people they interact with. The story is filled with rich imagery, making me yearn for the openness of the Montana skyline; if the cover-art did not thrill me, the landscape descriptions sure did! I found the dialogue simple, yet effective, although I wish that the conversations between Slade and Joslyn had not been so predictable. I enjoy a well-cultivated romance - slow to bloom, but full of promise, potential, and hidden passions - however, I thought that once Slade and Joslyn got over their history of "sideways glances" and "hidden feelings" that they moved too abruptly into a full-blown relationship. I understand that they had known each other since childhood, but there was no real "build-up" or excitement. It is unfortunate that the romance never seemed to hit a peak, because it made the ending feel rushed and unrealistic (no spoilers). I hope that Linda Lael Miller rounds up some of the loose-ends in book two of the Parable series, Big Sky Mountain, due out this August; I would love to know more about Hutch and Kendra! Overall, Big Sky Country is a nice summer romance that will warm the heart and leave readers homesick for Montana's big sky.

Rating: Bounty's Out (3.5/5)

*** I received this book from the author (Meryl L. Moss Media Relations, Inc.) in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.

posted by The_Paperback_Pursuer on June 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    B+ rating...

    My Review:


    I am definitely going to like this new series by Linda Lael Miller. Set in Montana ranch country, this little town features some really sexy guys. I do have a thing for cowboys and this is already set up to be a fabulous series.


    This book starts with Slade, the town sheriff who was also the illegitimate son to one of the town founders. His father has died and although he never acknowledged him in life, has now left him with half his substantial estate. Slade doesn't quite know what to do with that, either the money or the fact that his father left him it. To complicate things, he's having to deal with Hutch, his half-brother who inherited the other half. They've never gotten along and this change of circumstances certainly hasn't helped that fact.


    On the other side of the story is Joslyn. She grew up as one of the town's wealthy elite, until it came out that her step-father ripped off almost everyone in town and went to prison. Since that time, Joslyn has been trying to repay those citizens who were victims although none of them realize it's her behind the substantial checks they've received.


    There's a lot of backstory for both these characters. They knew each other growing up, but were both very different people then. I like how their chemistry is so confounding to both of them. They don't know quite what to do with it or even if they want to do anything with it. It's a good chemistry which builds throughout almost the entire book. It made it even more satisfying to read when they finally gave in to that passion.


    I really liked all the aspects of this book. I loved Slade and Joslyn. I liked the addition of the stray animals and the teenager, Shea. I loved the town and all the characters therein. It was definitely an entertaining read, but I do admit I felt like the end was rushed and not quite everything was resolved. Maybe, *crossing my fingers*, those other little details are still to come in the next books in the series, because that was really my only complaint about this book.


    It set up several story lines that I am excited to see in the next few books, Kendra, Hutch, Boone, Amy (chicken farmer)...so you can see who I hope are the characters who are coming. ;o)

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2012

    4 STARS Its a nice romance story that deals with some real issue

    4 STARS
    Its a nice romance story that deals with some real issues. Fast easy read. thier is a couple of love scenes.
    Sheriff Slade Barlow grew up in a with a single mother and a father who never claimed him or showed him he cared. So Slade was surprised when he was included with his half brother Hutch in the reading of the will. He finally was claimed and left half of the estate.
    Hutch did not care about the money but he did care about the ranch. Everyone knew they were half brothers but no one mentioned it. Hutch and Slade have been in a few fights with each other and where never friends.
    Hutch is divorced and misses his step daughter who now lives in another state. She wants to come live with him because her mom and new stepfather were going to send her to boarding school for her last two years of school.
    Joslyn Kirk has come back to Parable, Montana after years of being gone. They had snuck out of town at night after her stepfather was arrested for conning money from a lot of the town. It was not her fault but she is trying to make amends. Hutch was one of her oldest friends and they dated in high school. He never turned away from her as others did. She is drawn to Slade though.
    Kendra is living in Joslyn old home and running a business. She is another old friend and is renting the guest house to her and a job.
    It was a good book to relax with. I was given this ebook to read in exchange of honest review from Netgalley.
    05/29/2012

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2012

    another very good book by Ms. Miller! If you want a really goo

    another very good book by Ms. Miller! If you want a really good feel good book, read this one as well as the second one in the series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2012

    I’ve read this author before and so when I saw it on Netga

    I’ve read this author before and so when I saw it on Netgalley I snagged it. I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I was slightly hesitant in that I was afraid the author would deliver a similar plot line as her other books I’ve read. Not so. Other than being the similar in country, the family dramatics involved were much more different than the other series I read.

    This book is a quick read. It grabbed me and I quickly needed to know what was going to happen. I enjoyed all the characters. The author has created some memorable relationships between the various characters. First beginning with what they used to be when they were all growing up in the small town and then taking those relationships to a new level now that they have all returned.

    It does have a western feel to the story, but anyone who likes a good story to include a romance would enjoy this book. I was also able to get Big Sky Mountain off Netgalley and can't wait to read the next book of the series!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    swoon-worthy characters

    This new series takes place in the small town of Parable, Montana. The tale offers us Joslyn Kirk’s and Slade Barlow’s story. Joslyn has just returned to the town of Parable after her family left years ago in the middle of the night. She and her mother where shamed into leaving when her step-father was sent to jail for swindling half of the town folk out of their money. Joslyn has recently sold her successful company and has secretly begun paying them back. Parable has always been home to her and so she returns. Her best friend, Kendra Shepherd, gives her a job as a receptionist in her successful real estate business. Joslyn finds herself living in the guest house of the home she and her family once owned. Swoon worthy Sheriff Slade Barlow is living in limbo after a painful divorce that left him more upset about the lost of his step-daughter then his wife. He is due for re-election, but secretly dreams of owning his own ranch. Things are about to get a little crazy for him. He learns the father who never claimed him as a son has left him half of Whisper Creek Ranch. As if that wasn’t enough he bumps into Joslyn the former beauty and rodeo queen who stirred something in him as a teenager. The chemistry between them is all fireworks. Both are hung up on their own personal demons and neither knows how to react. They choose avoidance…however this doesn’t work at all, and the tale that unfolds is delightful. I love the town of Parable and we meet some memorable characters. There is Hutch the legitimate son of John Carmody and the half-brother of Slade. Kendra Shepherd looks like a million bucks and personifies success, but inside she is lonely and fearful of love. Other characters make the tale and the town come alive and I look forward to hearing more of their stories. I likes both Slade and Joslyn, they are good people and their pasts present them with a lot of emotional luggage. Seeing them dance around the fireworks that occur whenever they are near each other is hilarious. When the two of them finely connect..the results are smoking! I want to thank netGalley and Harlequin for providing this ARC in exchange for my unbiased review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2014

    Enjoyed

    Enjoyable story, good characters, looking forward to reading more in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Posted on Romancing the Book's blog Reviewed by JoAnne Review Co

    Posted on Romancing the Book's blog
    Reviewed by JoAnne
    Review Copy provided by Netgalley

    Miller is one of my favorite authors having read most of her other books. While an enjoyable read this book didn’t quite draw me in and keep me engrossed as her McKettrick, Stone Creek or Montana Creed series have. Part of it could have been the secrets that Kendra was keeping that were never divulged or the lack of family ties and history that the characters had. But like her other books Big Sky Country is set in a small town in the West with a few cowboys/ranchers thrown in. The character development was slow at times. Joslyn and Slade had chemistry that they tried to fight throughout the story but eventually they gave in to it and the sparks did fly. The romance was slow to materialize and it seemed unrealistic that in such a small town that they could avoid each other as long as they did once their romance ignited. It was fun to watch the give and take between Hutch and Slade and to see the positive turn their relationship took by the end of the story. Shea was a nice addition to the storyline and you could feel her vulnerability shine through but most of the time she was a typical teen who wanted to be a part of things and be loved and often spoke without thinking. The descriptions of the Montana scenery was breathtaking in parts and made you feel that you were there. I look forward to reading the other books in the series and getting deeper and more involved in the lives of those that live in Parable.

    Favorite Quote: …and if she hadn’t known it earlier when he kissed her, she knew for sure now. Slade Barlow was absolutely, definitely, inevitably going to make love to her.
    And she was not only going to let him, she was going to respond with everything she had.
    There was a strange, jangly kind of peace in this dazed clarity, along with a helpless sensation that frightened her a little…

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Highly recommednded

    I am a big fan of Linda Lael Miller. I have enjoyed her many books for years. This one is no exception. I read it within one day. I like some of her stories because they take in a group of people in the same town or area. I really enjoyed this book and the last one of the series, Big Sky Summer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    HOT!!

    I cant wait to read the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Good read

    Looking foward to the next saga

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    I really liked this book. I thought the story was good and so we

    I really liked this book. I thought the story was good and so were the characters. Would recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2