Customer Reviews for

Big Sky River

Average Rating 4.5
( 95 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

4 stars Big Sky River bring us back to Parable, Montana. This i

4 stars

Big Sky River bring us back to Parable, Montana. This is Boone Taylor and Tara Kendall
story.
Sheriff Taylor sons have been living with his big sister after his wife died. When his sister calls and tells him her husband was injured and would have months of ther...
4 stars

Big Sky River bring us back to Parable, Montana. This is Boone Taylor and Tara Kendall
story.
Sheriff Taylor sons have been living with his big sister after his wife died. When his sister calls and tells him her husband was injured and would have months of therapy to go through. Boone agrees and leaves to pick up his sons.
Griffen 7 and Fletcher 5 have been living thier Aunt Molly and Uncle Bob for years.
Griffen is excited to go back with his father but Fletcher is unhappy and scared too.
Boone had never meant them to stay that long with his sister. He was scared amd anxious
to bring them back home.
Tara bought the property next door to Boone and has been raising chickens. She is from New York City.
Tara hates the eyesore that Boones trailer is but at least he cleaned up his yard this past year.
Tara ex-husband calls and asks her if his twin daughters can come stay with her while he takes his girl on long vacation. He has not wanted her to see them even though she raised them while they were very young. Elle and Erin were 12 and love Tara.
She was very willing to let them come, but she had to down play how much that meant for her because he could change his mind out of spite.
Tara went and traded her car a 2 seater in for a SUV to drive down and pick them up at the airport.
The four kids in a strange area for them bond together pretty fast when they get thrown together right after they get there.
I liked the romance, the kids characters,the community who come together and thier are a few characters that I do not like. There were a couple of love scenes. But plenty of plot.
I can't wait for the next story of linda's Parable Montana. I want to see the police chief of Parable fail. Which I should not be.
I was given this ebook to read in exchange of honest review from Netgalley.
Harlequin HQN (December 18, 2012) 368 pages ISBN-10: 0373777205

posted by rhonda1111RL on December 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Happy Ending..

I enjoyed reading this story and while the ending was happy for all it was a bit far fetched to think a father would sign over custody of twin daughters to a former wife who was not their mother... That said it was a cute story but again too much print devoted to the do...
I enjoyed reading this story and while the ending was happy for all it was a bit far fetched to think a father would sign over custody of twin daughters to a former wife who was not their mother... That said it was a cute story but again too much print devoted to the dogs.. As a long time reader of Ms. Millers books I simply can't believe she has given dogs so much emphasis in her recent books.. I know she is an advocate and I admire that but her earlier books were so much better reads... And, in this one I thought there was too many mentions of the chickens too... LOL... Still, I enjoyed all three books in this trilogy.

posted by SaraBetty on December 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    4 stars Big Sky River bring us back to Parable, Montana. This i

    4 stars

    Big Sky River bring us back to Parable, Montana. This is Boone Taylor and Tara Kendall
    story.
    Sheriff Taylor sons have been living with his big sister after his wife died. When his sister calls and tells him her husband was injured and would have months of therapy to go through. Boone agrees and leaves to pick up his sons.
    Griffen 7 and Fletcher 5 have been living thier Aunt Molly and Uncle Bob for years.
    Griffen is excited to go back with his father but Fletcher is unhappy and scared too.
    Boone had never meant them to stay that long with his sister. He was scared amd anxious
    to bring them back home.
    Tara bought the property next door to Boone and has been raising chickens. She is from New York City.
    Tara hates the eyesore that Boones trailer is but at least he cleaned up his yard this past year.
    Tara ex-husband calls and asks her if his twin daughters can come stay with her while he takes his girl on long vacation. He has not wanted her to see them even though she raised them while they were very young. Elle and Erin were 12 and love Tara.
    She was very willing to let them come, but she had to down play how much that meant for her because he could change his mind out of spite.
    Tara went and traded her car a 2 seater in for a SUV to drive down and pick them up at the airport.
    The four kids in a strange area for them bond together pretty fast when they get thrown together right after they get there.
    I liked the romance, the kids characters,the community who come together and thier are a few characters that I do not like. There were a couple of love scenes. But plenty of plot.
    I can't wait for the next story of linda's Parable Montana. I want to see the police chief of Parable fail. Which I should not be.
    I was given this ebook to read in exchange of honest review from Netgalley.
    Harlequin HQN (December 18, 2012) 368 pages ISBN-10: 0373777205

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    read it

    read it

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Happy Ending..

    I enjoyed reading this story and while the ending was happy for all it was a bit far fetched to think a father would sign over custody of twin daughters to a former wife who was not their mother... That said it was a cute story but again too much print devoted to the dogs.. As a long time reader of Ms. Millers books I simply can't believe she has given dogs so much emphasis in her recent books.. I know she is an advocate and I admire that but her earlier books were so much better reads... And, in this one I thought there was too many mentions of the chickens too... LOL... Still, I enjoyed all three books in this trilogy.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    Linda Lael Miller is my go to author for stories that sound like

    Linda Lael Miller is my go to author for stories that sound like they could happen in my town. There is just something about the way she writes her books that just captivates me and holds me until the very last page.

    Now the only flaw in this book is that Boone is a widower. I do find that to be an issue and lately I seem to see this theme in the books I have been reading. I am not saying that I don’t feel for the person that loses a spouse because I do. What I don’t like is when the widow/widower is not over the loss of their deceased spouse and yet they go ahead and start a relationship with someone else. I just do not find that romantic at all. It wasn’t a huge issue in this story thank goodness.

    Otherwise I totally and completely enjoyed this book. As always I look forward to whatever book this talented author has coming out next!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    Great one

    Like her other books a good story and easy read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Thoroughly enjoyed this series of books. Modern Cowboy.

    Looking forward to reading the next book in this series, Big Sky Summer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    The Big Sky series as a great read! As all of Linda Lael Miller's series and books have been excellent to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Great read!

    This was another great story by Linda Lael Miller. I have read most everything she has written and enjoyed them all. If you enjoy romance with a twist of cowboy then you will enjoy this too!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Loved it

    I started reading this book before I realized that it was third in a series. I loved it. I wanted to know more about the main characters by the end. I was disappointed when I learned that each book in the series is based on a different couple. I wish that the author had more on these two and their families in Big Sky River. Regardless, I loved it and bought the first two books and am waiting for the one after this in the spring.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    Tanner

    Tell me when you arrive here !!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    Giddy Up!

    Ms. Miller has long been a favorite of mine and the Big Sky series has not been any different. My only complaint is that there won't be any more of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    To the kits

    Can i rp Russetkit?- Loveheart

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jen Book provided by NetGalley for review Review ori

    Reviewed by Jen
    Book provided by NetGalley for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    I’ve been a longtime fan of Linda Lael Miller and this story didn’t disappoint. It’s the third in her series based in Parable, Montana, but it stands well on it’s own. Like most series, it would be helpful to have read the prior books for a little back ground of the supporting characters. But there is no overarcing theme to where the reader would be lost if they were making their first visit to Parable with this book.

    Big Sky River was a pretty fast read. The story is all about the romance between Tara and Boone. There’s no mystery, suspense or even a third party trying to tear them apart. It’s a straight forward tale of two people having to overcome their own hangups to find love. But that said, I was drawn into the story pretty quickly and read it in one sitting because I just had to get to the happily ever after.

    Boone’s a widower and still hasn’t gotten over his wife’s death. In his grief, he sent his two young sons to live with their aunt and uncle. But now a family emergency has those boys coming home. He’s not sure how to deal with the kids, especially since he’s the town sheriff. And then there is Tara, his new neighbor. She’s a big city girl who has moved to Parable after leaving her marriage and career. She’s settling into town, making friends and trying not to notice her neighbor, but things get all turned upside down when her step daughters come to visit.

    I wasn’t sure how Ms Miller was going to bring together Boone and Tara. Both characters had issues to overcome as the dealt with their attraction. And neither really wanted to fall in love after past heartbreak. They were both very relateable, which made their story so sweet and in the end satisfying.

    I am always happy to recommend a Linda Lael Miller book. Although at times her stories can be cookie-cutter (how many times can you base a series on a couple brothers and their friend who all live in a small town?), I still find them to be good, solid reads and each unique in their own way. Ms Miller always seems to touch my heart-strings, which is why I look forward to whatever is coming next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    What I liked: I liked the kids. They were really making the stor

    What I liked: I liked the kids. They were really making the story enjoyable.
    What I didn’t like: I can’t say that I didn’t like the book it just wasn’t interesting enough to keep me picking it back up. I did really have a rough time empathizing with Boone, it really hurt me terribly to know that he allowed his sister to raise his kids.

    More…
    Source: Harlequin via Netgalley
    Grade: DNF
    Series: Parable, Montana #3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Bella to ryland

    What are ypu doing?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Sky to Ryland

    But Bella...shes..nevermind

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Lionkit

    If you wanna learn more symbols go to king of symbols result one. Its the last review.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Dismay to Trickstar

    It will take to long to explain.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    To Blackstar

    Hi it is Spookykit

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Worthless

    Gtg for camp on the morning bb on the 19th.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5