Customer Reviews for

Big Sky Wedding

Average Rating 4
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Loved it!

My review:

I love a good contemporary western and Linda Lael Miller is really good at bringing it alive with the decent plot and characters to die for. It is a second book of hers that I read. The first one was from the same series - Parable, Montana - Big Sky Summer...
My review:

I love a good contemporary western and Linda Lael Miller is really good at bringing it alive with the decent plot and characters to die for. It is a second book of hers that I read. The first one was from the same series - Parable, Montana - Big Sky Summer and when I got the chance to review Big Sky Wedding I had no doubts that I wanted to read it. I fell in love with the surroundings and characters of Parable and I was glad to meet them again in Big Sky Wedding.

Plot:

All the books in the series are standalone books where different couples are the main characters. Big Sky Wedding gives you the story of Brylee and Zane. I met Brylee and many other characters already in Big Sky Summer.

Anyway, Brylee has experienced something that no woman ever should - she was jilted while walking down on the isle for getting married. Even though she understood, that it was a right thing for her in long term, it broke her heart and she lived in humiliation for quite some time. Now, being an owner of a big company, she keeps her heart safe from men and focuses on her company. That is until Zane shows up.

Zane is an A-list Hollywood player and has come back to his roots, at least for a while. Neither Brylee nor Zane are looking for love, but it just happens. The attraction between them is too strong to avoid and when Zane realizes that Brylee is not just a woman, but the woman, he is going after what he wants - Brylee.

It is a love story, but besides that, there are other great things about this book - the dialogue was captivating and witty and I got a lot of giggles while reading. I truly enjoyed all the characters in the story and the Parable itself. The author gives you quite bright and vivid pictures of Parable, so it's impossible not to want visiting the place and experiencing it in person!

Characters:

Before writing about the characters, I was thinking, that in Linda Lael Miller's books there are always two very important non-human characters - family and community. Family ties play a big role in the book and it influences almost all the characters either they want it or not. And community is another big influencer in Parable. It is tight-knitted society where almost everybody knows everyone and when it matters, they are there for you to help and support. I loved that!

I liked Brylee already in the previous book where her background story was mentioned and I was excited to see what the author had to offer to Brylee. It is mortifying and humiliating to be left in front of the family and whole Parable just few minutes before getting married, so Brylee had to struggle to get over the humiliation. It takes a very strong person to have faith and trust in love after that. So she has hidden her heart away. Little did she know when Zane came into the picture. I was happy to see, how she step by step gave herself a chance. She definitely deserved a happy ending.

Zane comes from a family with no means and he understands the value of the family.I loved how he took in his brother, knowing, that family matters and that family is exactly what Nash needs. I also admired Zane's persistence in his relationship with Brylee. Loved the relationship dynamics and how Zane proved, that he truly loves her.

I think Linda Lael Miller does a great work with all the other characters in the book. She gives them their own stories and you keep wondering which ones of them will be the main characters in the upcoming books.

posted by IngaKS on August 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

3 STARS Big Sky Wedding is finally Brylee's story. Brylee has n

3 STARS

Big Sky Wedding is finally Brylee's story. Brylee has not been to happy since she was left at the alter by Hutch. He ended up marrying someone else. Brylee threw herself into her business and made it a success. She lives in her own apartment on the ranch that s...
3 STARS

Big Sky Wedding is finally Brylee's story. Brylee has not been to happy since she was left at the alter by Hutch. He ended up marrying someone else. Brylee threw herself into her business and made it a success. She lives in her own apartment on the ranch that she and her brother own.

Newcomer to the area is Zane Sutton. Zane was a rodeo champion turned actor and decided to come to Montana and live on the ranch his brother Landry and him had bought years ago. Zane leaves a note and a big check to his housekeeper back in LA. Zane's house needs work badly he is sleeping on a air mattress.

Landry calls him up and tells him his father dropped off their half brother 12 year old Nash. They really don't know him. His mother is out of the picture. Landry is supposed to go on a business trip overseas tomorrow. So he is putting him on a plane and Zane better meet the plane.

Nash does not have much and his life had not been to stable. At least when he and Landry were kids and his dad took off they had their mom's love. Things were tough but they were together. They went shopping and bought some groceries and beds. Then before they get to comfortable Zane gets another call on his cell from Cleo. She is mad that Zane just took off and left her. She was too old to look for a different employer. She orders him too buy her a first class ticket in two days.

Zane had met Brylee on his property and liked her a lot first of all. When she saw his dog the next day and read his collar she came over to give him a lecture. Slim was starving and she could not believe he was not taking better care of his dog. Zane had just got the stray from the pound before moving here. He had not time enough yet to make a difference.

Zane's idea of a simpler life has not going as planned. He now had his brother living with him, dog, housekeeper and his ranch was torn up getting it fixed like Cleo wants. Even Landry shows up to see what the ranch they had bought and split looks like.

Brylee is coming out more and more socially now and just not working. She is also scared to trust a guy now.

I like that now that Zane realizes that Nash needs someone at first was not happy but steps up to the plate and takes care of Nash and when he promises something he will keep his word. He remembers his childhood and how his father would come and go. He plans to make Nash a part of his family give him stuff he needs and wants.

This romance novel is all about relationships between different people and what they want in the future. Their is a couple of love scenes towards the end of the book that I skipped over. It kept my attention and I read it in one setting. Did not want to put it down. I do want to know Landry's story and hope the next book is his.

I was given this book to read and asked in exchange to give honest review of it by NetGalley and Harlequin.
08/28/2013 PUB Harlequin Imprint Harlequin HQN ISBN9780373777747 384 pages

posted by rhonda1111RL on August 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 27, 2013

    3 STARS Big Sky Wedding is finally Brylee's story. Brylee has n

    3 STARS

    Big Sky Wedding is finally Brylee's story. Brylee has not been to happy since she was left at the alter by Hutch. He ended up marrying someone else. Brylee threw herself into her business and made it a success. She lives in her own apartment on the ranch that she and her brother own.

    Newcomer to the area is Zane Sutton. Zane was a rodeo champion turned actor and decided to come to Montana and live on the ranch his brother Landry and him had bought years ago. Zane leaves a note and a big check to his housekeeper back in LA. Zane's house needs work badly he is sleeping on a air mattress.

    Landry calls him up and tells him his father dropped off their half brother 12 year old Nash. They really don't know him. His mother is out of the picture. Landry is supposed to go on a business trip overseas tomorrow. So he is putting him on a plane and Zane better meet the plane.

    Nash does not have much and his life had not been to stable. At least when he and Landry were kids and his dad took off they had their mom's love. Things were tough but they were together. They went shopping and bought some groceries and beds. Then before they get to comfortable Zane gets another call on his cell from Cleo. She is mad that Zane just took off and left her. She was too old to look for a different employer. She orders him too buy her a first class ticket in two days.

    Zane had met Brylee on his property and liked her a lot first of all. When she saw his dog the next day and read his collar she came over to give him a lecture. Slim was starving and she could not believe he was not taking better care of his dog. Zane had just got the stray from the pound before moving here. He had not time enough yet to make a difference.

    Zane's idea of a simpler life has not going as planned. He now had his brother living with him, dog, housekeeper and his ranch was torn up getting it fixed like Cleo wants. Even Landry shows up to see what the ranch they had bought and split looks like.

    Brylee is coming out more and more socially now and just not working. She is also scared to trust a guy now.

    I like that now that Zane realizes that Nash needs someone at first was not happy but steps up to the plate and takes care of Nash and when he promises something he will keep his word. He remembers his childhood and how his father would come and go. He plans to make Nash a part of his family give him stuff he needs and wants.

    This romance novel is all about relationships between different people and what they want in the future. Their is a couple of love scenes towards the end of the book that I skipped over. It kept my attention and I read it in one setting. Did not want to put it down. I do want to know Landry's story and hope the next book is his.

    I was given this book to read and asked in exchange to give honest review of it by NetGalley and Harlequin.
    08/28/2013 PUB Harlequin Imprint Harlequin HQN ISBN9780373777747 384 pages

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Brylee Parrish Finally Gets Her fairytale Wedding

    Brylee Parrish meets and falls in love at first sight with Zane Sutton after her disasterous botched wedding to Hutch Carmody she finally gets her chance at a husband and future children. Another great visit to Parable Montana.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    Lost Her Luster

    Who are you and what did you do with LL Miller??? This book is nothing she could have/would have written even a year ago. So much dog kibble I gained 10 pounds! Book was 236 pages and nothing happened until page 200 and then the first time her "stars" made love it immediately jumped 6 months to the wedding. Don't get it at all. So much about this book was strange. What millionaire movie star lets his housekeeper design and furnish his ranch house. Promised the kid brother a horse he never got. Missing father who never appeared or was heard from. Too many lose ends. Poorly done. Sorry!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    Good but.....disappointed

    I was just starting to enjoy this book and then we rushed to an ending. I have read the others in this series but this was disappointing. I also had a hard time really liking the female lead. This book just was not at the same level as what I would expect from this author. Hope the next one is better!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2013

    I have to say that I was a bit disappointed with this one. I hav

    I have to say that I was a bit disappointed with this one. I have enjoyed the entire Big Sky series so far, but this book
    felt too short; cut off at the end. What is there, is well written,but it wasn't enough. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    My review:

    I love a good contemporary western and Linda Lael Miller is really good at bringing it alive with the decent plot and characters to die for. It is a second book of hers that I read. The first one was from the same series - Parable, Montana - Big Sky Summer and when I got the chance to review Big Sky Wedding I had no doubts that I wanted to read it. I fell in love with the surroundings and characters of Parable and I was glad to meet them again in Big Sky Wedding.

    Plot:

    All the books in the series are standalone books where different couples are the main characters. Big Sky Wedding gives you the story of Brylee and Zane. I met Brylee and many other characters already in Big Sky Summer.

    Anyway, Brylee has experienced something that no woman ever should - she was jilted while walking down on the isle for getting married. Even though she understood, that it was a right thing for her in long term, it broke her heart and she lived in humiliation for quite some time. Now, being an owner of a big company, she keeps her heart safe from men and focuses on her company. That is until Zane shows up.

    Zane is an A-list Hollywood player and has come back to his roots, at least for a while. Neither Brylee nor Zane are looking for love, but it just happens. The attraction between them is too strong to avoid and when Zane realizes that Brylee is not just a woman, but the woman, he is going after what he wants - Brylee.

    It is a love story, but besides that, there are other great things about this book - the dialogue was captivating and witty and I got a lot of giggles while reading. I truly enjoyed all the characters in the story and the Parable itself. The author gives you quite bright and vivid pictures of Parable, so it's impossible not to want visiting the place and experiencing it in person!

    Characters:

    Before writing about the characters, I was thinking, that in Linda Lael Miller's books there are always two very important non-human characters - family and community. Family ties play a big role in the book and it influences almost all the characters either they want it or not. And community is another big influencer in Parable. It is tight-knitted society where almost everybody knows everyone and when it matters, they are there for you to help and support. I loved that!

    I liked Brylee already in the previous book where her background story was mentioned and I was excited to see what the author had to offer to Brylee. It is mortifying and humiliating to be left in front of the family and whole Parable just few minutes before getting married, so Brylee had to struggle to get over the humiliation. It takes a very strong person to have faith and trust in love after that. So she has hidden her heart away. Little did she know when Zane came into the picture. I was happy to see, how she step by step gave herself a chance. She definitely deserved a happy ending.

    Zane comes from a family with no means and he understands the value of the family.I loved how he took in his brother, knowing, that family matters and that family is exactly what Nash needs. I also admired Zane's persistence in his relationship with Brylee. Loved the relationship dynamics and how Zane proved, that he truly loves her.

    I think Linda Lael Miller does a great work with all the other characters in the book. She gives them their own stories and you keep wondering which ones of them will be the main characters in the upcoming books.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Loved it!!

    I absolutely love Linda Lael Miller and her books. This book did not disappoint. The characters are strong and the story is so interesting. Such fantastic romance and intrigue. Highly recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    Not dissapointed in the least

    Great read.... Warm and happy ending, just as it should be.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    Great

    Great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I love Linda Lael Miller's books. They are what romance is mad

    I love Linda Lael Miller's books. They are what romance is made of...they just make you feel so darn warm and good. The HEA endings leave you with the feeling that all is right in the world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    Josh

    Im srry im trying ok i have bad signal and im doing my best to keep it but i dont have a hotspot and i live in da middle of nowhere and it kill me not to be on more bc ik wat ur going through and my poor connection doesnt help things but its gonna be here fr awhile until my hotspot comes in the mail so plz dont think id care i can just barly get my nook to sho me the book we r on...im srry this will be my 35 try to send this message and im not jokeing thts how hard im trying

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    Evie

    Im sorry. * kisses him softly as her tears roll down her face her body shaking*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I waited months for this book, and I can honestly say I wasn't a

    I waited months for this book, and I can honestly say I wasn't a bit disappointed. I love meeting new characters as well as catching up with the ones I have read about in the past. I highly recommend this and all of Ms. Miller's books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    Great love story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    To Skypelt

    I want to rp Greykit

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    TO FROSTFUR

    "YOU CANT USE THAT NAME!!!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Frostfur

    Ok got my stuff girls are you ready to leave?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    Always a favorite

    Ms. Miller has long been a favorite of mine and the Big Sky series has not been any different. My only complaint is that there won't be any more of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2014

    Linda Miller comes through again.

    I really like her series books. It is interesting to see the characters grow and interact and see how their lives intermingle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    What I liked: Ths episode in the Parable saga was good. Not grea

    What I liked: Ths episode in the Parable saga was good. Not great. Good. I loved both Brylee and Zane and I absolutely adored Zane’s youngest brother and his housekeeper. I could have listened to them forever :)
    What I didn’t like: I really felt the the attention to detail in this novel wasn’t as great as usual – of course, I may have just been confused – the days seem to confuse me. The yesterdays and tommorows always seemed to skip days…

    More…

    Author: Linda Lael Miller
    Source: Harlequin via Netgalley
    Grade: B
    Steam: Adult, two fairly tame scenes
    Series: Parable, Montana #5

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4