Customer Reviews for

The Big Sleep

Average Rating 4
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Dated, Yes, Entertaining, Very Much

Nobody understood hardboiled language better than Chandler. Some of his sentences are blatantly bad in terms of grammar, but who really cares? I noticed someone mentioned the different ways of looking at the world. I imagine they are talking about the view of women a...
Nobody understood hardboiled language better than Chandler. Some of his sentences are blatantly bad in terms of grammar, but who really cares? I noticed someone mentioned the different ways of looking at the world. I imagine they are talking about the view of women and minorities. What the heck do you expect? Everyone's attitudes were different back then. Do we judge Greek plays for their atavistic features? No. Don't worry about stuff like that and I promise you you'll actually live longer! As for The Big Sleep, the one thing that has always sort of bothered me about Raymond Chandler books is that the mysteries don't quite add up. In The Big Sleep, there are actually murders that go unaccounted for. It makes it seem as though it was easy to shoot someone back in old L.A. Tht just wasn't true. Nevertheless, this is an entertaining read, like all of Chandler's books. Highly recommended.

posted by robcort on August 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Printing errors

My biggest gripe with this edition is that it has numerous printing errors -- misspellings, wrong punctuation (e.g. missing quotation marks), a blank page (but with header and footer), and paragraphs that end or begin mid-sentence. Even the back cover has the word "ava...
My biggest gripe with this edition is that it has numerous printing errors -- misspellings, wrong punctuation (e.g. missing quotation marks), a blank page (but with header and footer), and paragraphs that end or begin mid-sentence. Even the back cover has the word "availible" on it. I would recommend prospective buyers to buy another edition.

posted by 12650035 on May 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    Dated, Yes, Entertaining, Very Much

    Nobody understood hardboiled language better than Chandler. Some of his sentences are blatantly bad in terms of grammar, but who really cares? I noticed someone mentioned the different ways of looking at the world. I imagine they are talking about the view of women and minorities. What the heck do you expect? Everyone's attitudes were different back then. Do we judge Greek plays for their atavistic features? No. Don't worry about stuff like that and I promise you you'll actually live longer! As for The Big Sleep, the one thing that has always sort of bothered me about Raymond Chandler books is that the mysteries don't quite add up. In The Big Sleep, there are actually murders that go unaccounted for. It makes it seem as though it was easy to shoot someone back in old L.A. Tht just wasn't true. Nevertheless, this is an entertaining read, like all of Chandler's books. Highly recommended.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2009

    Still a classic

    It is an easy read, that keeps your attention. Perfect for late night in the Summer when you wish to escape in a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Raymond Chandler's Novel The Big Sleep is a great novel if you l

    Raymond Chandler's Novel The Big Sleep is a great novel if you love detective stories. The whole novel is about this man this private detective Phillip Marlowe people call him Marlowe. He is requested by General Sternwood another major character to take care of Arthur Geiger a pornographer who has been blackmailing the General scandalous pictures of his eldest daughter Carmen Sternwood, but Marlowe ends up finding much more than he bargained for. Through a few twists and turns in the plot things become much more difficult for private detective Marlowe. The whole plot is very well developed and thought out. There are two themes in The Big Sleep cynicism and corruption. My beliefs on cynicism and corruption are that the amount of both was right for that time period the 1930's and that it fit the plot well. It's the many twists and turns that make The Big Sleep a great book to read if you love a good crime or detective story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Classic

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2011

    a matter of time dating the mystery.

    I found Raymond Chandler's classic to be terrific but oh what a diffeerent
    way of looking at the world in his novel's day vs today. In spite of that
    I def recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2011

    Captivating detective novel.

    You certainly can`t put this book down.It was my first novel by Chandler and now I have finished reading the third one.I normally wouldn`t read detective stories but this is original.Chandler has a distinguished style that stands out.I don`t think I will be buying more by the same author though after finishing the third book.It becomes a little too predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2007

    A reviewer

    I didn't really know what to expect from this book, but I have to say I really enjoyed it and thought it was very well written. Even though it didn't really pose any deep or intellectual questions (like books I usually like), the dialogue in this book was so life like, clever, and witty that I became really absorbed in it. The plot is a bit hard to follow at times, with the various characters and events, but in all it is written in a way that really brings the reader into it. I could also believe the actual characters and their natures, which is another reason why the book grabs the reader and takes them into the plot's mystery. Overall I would recommend this book, because it offers a kind of narrative that is not seen anymore and is refreshingly different.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2006

    a book crying out successfully for a great movie version

    THE BIG SLEEP was fortunately made into a movie with Bogie and Bacall back when Hollywood thought it o.k. for the film to follow the book pretty closely. The one complements the other. Neither should be missed. *** The book, alas, is more story than mystery. It is good from time to time to go back to the canons of the Detection Club of London and remember that the best detective story is a SHORT story. Think of FATHER BROWN as a good example of the truth. *** Chandler lets himself wander off into a world of admittedly fascinating seedy characters without making them contribute their fair share of clues to unraveling the puzzle. But a good yarn, for all that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2003

    A Great Read for Detective Wanna B's

    The Big Sleep by Raymond Chandler is a great detective story. It portrays Philip Marlowe, a private investigator, on a case in Los Angeles that involves murder, blackmail, and sex. Chandler writes with such detail and uses language so wretched, you wouldn't think this novel was written in the 1930's. Its not really the setting or the plot that makes the story come alive, it's Chandlers writing. This is my first Ray Chandler book, but not the last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2