Customer Reviews for

The Big Splash

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    CLEVER FROM BEGINNING TO END

    I adore this book. Clever from beginning to end. First, the idea: a noir detective story, a la "The Big Sleep," set in middle school. And the world these characters inhabit is complete: the detective, the case to solve, the kingpin, his lackies, the swell girl--even the neighborhood "bar" where they can all hang out (I won't ruin what it actually is, because it's one of the many ingenious touches throughout this ingenious book).

    Not only is the story flat-out funny and yet also sweet when it comes to family and friend relationships, the writing itself is first rate. There were so many choice phrases I had to go back and reread, just to savor them.

    I finished this book a few days ago, and have already recommended it to at least ten people. Boys will love it, girls will love it, grown men and women will love it.

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    Wow this was great

    Wow this is a great book...this is my favorite book now .......dairy of a wimpy kid better step up

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    "Life at the Frank is tough...."

    I'm a big fan of hard-boiled detective stories, so when I saw The Big Splash---the first one of that sort that I've ever seen written for a juvenile audience---I really, really wanted to read it. After all, where else but in middle school will you find the situation so ideal for the noir-style mystery? And Jack D. Ferraiolo includes just about all the elements of the genre: there's an organized crime boss, bully boys, assassins, dangerous dames, a story-hungry reporter, and the law, represented by the orange sash of a hall monitor, of course.

    I really enjoyed the combination---and the mystery---but I'm not so sure The Big Splash will hold the interest of its intended juvenile audience. After all, how much fun is it to read a book written in Humphrey Bogart's voice when you don't even know who Humphrey Bogart is? There are also a few more adult themes hovering behind the story---the relationship between the hero's mom and his best friend's married dad, for example. Perhaps a juvenile reader won't think anything about that detail, but I'm more inclined to err on the side of caution and recommend The Big Splash to a slightly older audience, just in case.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sarah Bean the Green Bean Teen Queen for TeensReadToo.com

    "The Frank" may seem like a typical middle school, but it's actually run by Vinny Biggs and his gang. Need a stolen exam? Or want a sugar high? You'll have to go through Vinny. Cross Vinny, and you'll be facing one of his "hired assassins." <BR/><BR/>Vinny's "hired assassins" hold your social life fate in their hands. These assassins hide water guns, and with one quick shot you'll look like you peed your pants, face social humiliation, and immediately are put in "the outs." <BR/><BR/>Nikki Fingers used to be the fastest and most feared shooter at "The Frank," but at the beginning of seventh grade decides for a fresh start. But when Nikki is taken out, seventh grade detective Matt Stevens is hired. Could it have been her former boss, Vinny? The boy who had a crush on her? Or one of the many students at "The Frank" with a reason to hate Nikki? Matt only has a week to find out or he might find himself in "the outs" as well. <BR/><BR/>I can't say enough good things about this book! It's wonderfully written in a clever noir style that kept me laughing and guessing all night. It reads just like an old pulp detective novel and includes many of the characters you would expect to be there - the mob boss, the hired guns, the detective, the girl crush - only this time they're in sixth and seventh grade. At times it reminded me of one of my favorite old movies, Bugsy Malone, in which kids play the gangsters. <BR/><BR/>There were so many things sprinkled in this story that made me smile. The kids who would do anything for a pixy stick rush, the frazzled newspaperman, and the kid-owned sandwich shop all added to the style, and I felt like I really was transported back into one of those old pulp detective novels. <BR/><BR/>The mystery had plenty of twists and turns and kept me guessing and second-guessing who did Nikki in. The dialogue is witty and snappy and is full of humor. <BR/><BR/>Although the setting is middle school, readers who have gotten through their middle school years are sure to enjoy THE BIG SPLASH, as well. Fans of great detective novels or gangster stories should add this one to their reading pile! <BR/><BR/>I'm looking forward to reading more from Jack D. Ferraiolo - and hope that Matt Stevens is on another case soon!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Okay, I wasn't totally convinced with the story plot at first. T

    Okay, I wasn't totally convinced with the story plot at first. The thought of somebody wetting another child's pants.... It seemed kind of childish, immature.
    But I do like a good detective book so I gave it a try. I'm glad I did!! 

    The main character Matt Stevens is the kind of character that readers will instantly like: brilliant, comical, sassy, compassionate. But unlike other characters, 
    Matt Stevens does have his flaws. I really liked that Jack D. Ferraiolo didn't portray the main character as this perfect role model because we all know that
     reality isn't like that. Matt Stevens felt like a real person to me because of his flaws.         
           
     After getting used to the idea of kids humiliating other kids by wetting their pants, I found the middle school mob very comical! Kids with water guns, placing bets,
     selling under the table candy, blackmailing.. oh my! Jack D. Ferraiolo somehow spends these notorious actions into a comical idea.

    I enjoyed this book thoroughly but I cannot give it a five star rating due to the fact that it took a hundred pages to convince me that &quot;The Big Splash&quot; was worth a read.
    So forget that the whole concept seems childish and indulge on Franklin's middle school mob.... because you'll never know when your going to be put in the Outs.   
     

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Vey intriguing...

    This book is very interesting and is full of different personalities. In some scenes, this book really twists and turns. Great book overall!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2012

    BRILLIANT! Seriously, this book is pure genius. Adults will laug

    BRILLIANT! Seriously, this book is pure genius. Adults will laugh out loud, children will devour the story, and everyone goes home happy. The most genius part about this idea is that the kids in the book take themselves seriously. There’s no winking at the audience, no subtle phrasing to show that forged hall passes aren’t that big of a deal in the grand scheme of things, and no sense that these kids realize how much scarier the world can be. Ferraiolo touches on some big issues for this age group including bullying, peer pressure, fitting in, and finding your own way. The dialogue snaps like a wet towel in the locker room, and the story isn’t dumbed down for the audience. There are twists and turns that even the adults won’t see coming. This is truly a sophisticated debut novel for all ages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    Pretty good

    It was very funny book and the authir must've made a huge effort to make this book because it's really goodm but it left me wanting more. I also suggest the book sidekick. Its just as funny as the big splash - wait no. It is more funny and its just plain better.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    I

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1