BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Big Stone Gap

Average Rating 4
( 170 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A classic of introspection that exposes the subtle influences of

A classic of introspection that exposes the subtle influences of one's upbringing. Easy-flowing 1st person narrative that sometimes broke my heart while inviting me to consider my own life: my relationship with my father, my husband, my daughter, my life as a single. ...
A classic of introspection that exposes the subtle influences of one's upbringing. Easy-flowing 1st person narrative that sometimes broke my heart while inviting me to consider my own life: my relationship with my father, my husband, my daughter, my life as a single. Secrets intended to spare those we love, secrets kept out of shame, and the healing power of truth and honesty are the underlying themes.

posted by Anonymous on August 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

It was good enough to finish, but far from fabulous.

I thought this book was okay, but it definitely is not great. The plot was predictable most of the time, except for the places where it was just weird. The twists were never clever, but mostly strange. I didn't like the characters at all. Sure they were different, and a...
I thought this book was okay, but it definitely is not great. The plot was predictable most of the time, except for the places where it was just weird. The twists were never clever, but mostly strange. I didn't like the characters at all. Sure they were different, and a few were possible to relate to, but for the most part it felt like she was trying to hard too create quirky characters and in the end she made a bunch of crazy, unrealistic people. And the romance? Awkward. Even though Trigiani was setting it up through the whole book, it felt weird. I kept hoping for someone new to come along and steal Ave Maria's heart so that she wouldn't be with Jack. All in all, not great. The best thing that I can say for this book is that I was able to finish it.

posted by My_Purple_Pen on July 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 170 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted July 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    It was good enough to finish, but far from fabulous.

    I thought this book was okay, but it definitely is not great. The plot was predictable most of the time, except for the places where it was just weird. The twists were never clever, but mostly strange. I didn't like the characters at all. Sure they were different, and a few were possible to relate to, but for the most part it felt like she was trying to hard too create quirky characters and in the end she made a bunch of crazy, unrealistic people. And the romance? Awkward. Even though Trigiani was setting it up through the whole book, it felt weird. I kept hoping for someone new to come along and steal Ave Maria's heart so that she wouldn't be with Jack. All in all, not great. The best thing that I can say for this book is that I was able to finish it.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2006

    Not so impressed

    The 'plot twists and turns' were absurd and did not relate to REAL life. I found many of them to be completely ridiculous and annoying and ruined the story. It was an okay book, but not anything to knock your socks off or write home about.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    A classic of introspection that exposes the subtle influences of

    A classic of introspection that exposes the subtle influences of one's upbringing. Easy-flowing 1st person narrative that sometimes broke my heart while inviting me to consider my own life: my relationship with my father, my husband, my daughter, my life as a single. Secrets intended to spare those we love, secrets kept out of shame, and the healing power of truth and honesty are the underlying themes.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Recommended but not highly

    Story of an unmarried lady in a Southern Virginia town who eventually works through her background and foreground problems. This seems to have cleared the air to allow her to love a friend of 30 years.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Great!

    This book was very good. The plot was interesting which made me just want to keep reading! I cant wait to read the other books!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2010

    One of my favorite books

    I have reread this book at least three times. It is like an old friend that you love to visit from time to time. This book is funny yet poignant. Adriana Trignani really knows how to convey feelings through her prose.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2009

    wonderful book

    I loved this book. One really feels they know the characters and can relate to them.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2008

    First time reading her work - LOVED IT.

    I never read any of her books this was my first. My friend gave me a author signed copy from a luncheon I missed her speaking at. After the first chapter I was hooked. When I finished the book I couldn't wait to get the next one in the series. Hopefully, she will continue writing about this town and the people it in it!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2007

    Held my interest

    It took me a little while to get into this book for some reason, but I eventually found myself really hooked to each character and situation. The southern dialect did annoy me at some parts, but it really just made a better impression of how the characters lived. Ave Maria is a great character that stands up for herself and knows how to take a chance. This is a really good book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Help

    How do u delete a book from ur library?

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2000

    I want to move to Big Stone Gap, VA!

    Big Stone Gap is a close knit town, where all the players are familiar with each other. The narator, Ave Maria, feels as though she is a plain woman, who does not stand out in the town - the town spinster. Throughout the novel, Ave Maria, and the reader, come to learn what effect she has on the other town members. She learns how significant she actually is. This is a heartwarming read that I would recommend to anyone who enjoys a beautifully written story, and likes to read about wacky small town characters.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Not for me

    This just didn't do it for me. Didn't really like the characters in the story that seemed to drag on about nothing. Unfortunatly I bought the 2 other sequels. Will NOT be reading them.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Witty and insightful

    This is my first Adriana Trigiani book and it won't be my last! I laughed at the wry, witty social observations of small town life, spoken with a bit of self deprication. I cried at the hard learned lessons of love, family and self. It is engaging from start to finish. Big Stone Gap is a heartfelt glimpse into small town USA. I'm glad I had the chance to visit.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    The first book I read by Adriana. Great read!

    This novel was beautifully written and heartwarming. The characters were well-developed and realistic. I was skeptical when my Mom encouraged me to put down my mystery novels and read this book. I thought I would be bored and would not complete it, but that certainly was not the case. I flew through this novel and read the other 2 in the set as well. Ms. Trigiani is an amazing writer with the ability to make the reader cry and laugh all within the same paragraph. I was completely impressed with the details regarding location descriptions, as well.

    Do not miss out on this wonderful novel. Ms. Trigiani is a breathe of fresh air...and if you get the chance to see her in person, it is a real treat!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2012

    Fat woman's pity party. Nothing interesting about the main chara

    Fat woman's pity party. Nothing interesting about the main character, Ave Maria, just spite and bitterness.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Good

    But predictable

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    Fabulous Book, Fabulous Series!

    A must-read for married women in their mid-life or those who want to understand us!! Love her writing style and her character development. AWESOME!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2009

    Talented Trigiani

    I found this book on a whim and I just requested all of Trigiani's books from my library after I finished it today. I absolutely love the quaint characters and their town. Ave Maria's character is so real. You can really relate to her, especially in the area of not appreciating all of your blessings that have been in front of you all along. I had to hold my hand over my mouth while my kids were napping because I was laughing so hard at certain passages!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2006

    Wonderfully warm...

    I love this book. It pulled me in right from the start. The characters are comfortable and familiar, and the story has restored my faith in good old-fashioned romance. I just started Big Cherry Holler, and it seems promising.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2003

    The Big Stone Gap Pulls You In!

    Adrianna Triganni weaves a wonderful story with realistic characters. I found myself an onlooker in the lives of the small town. I have read the two sequels- and enjoyed them all! The light, realistic stories are a pleasure to read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 170 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9