Customer Reviews for

Big Stone Gap

Average Rating 4
( 171 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(83)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A classic of introspection that exposes the subtle influences of

A classic of introspection that exposes the subtle influences of one's upbringing. Easy-flowing 1st person narrative that sometimes broke my heart while inviting me to consider my own life: my relationship with my father, my husband, my daughter, my life as a single. ...
A classic of introspection that exposes the subtle influences of one's upbringing. Easy-flowing 1st person narrative that sometimes broke my heart while inviting me to consider my own life: my relationship with my father, my husband, my daughter, my life as a single. Secrets intended to spare those we love, secrets kept out of shame, and the healing power of truth and honesty are the underlying themes.

posted by Anonymous on August 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

It was good enough to finish, but far from fabulous.

I thought this book was okay, but it definitely is not great. The plot was predictable most of the time, except for the places where it was just weird. The twists were never clever, but mostly strange. I didn't like the characters at all. Sure they were different, and a...
I thought this book was okay, but it definitely is not great. The plot was predictable most of the time, except for the places where it was just weird. The twists were never clever, but mostly strange. I didn't like the characters at all. Sure they were different, and a few were possible to relate to, but for the most part it felt like she was trying to hard too create quirky characters and in the end she made a bunch of crazy, unrealistic people. And the romance? Awkward. Even though Trigiani was setting it up through the whole book, it felt weird. I kept hoping for someone new to come along and steal Ave Maria's heart so that she wouldn't be with Jack. All in all, not great. The best thing that I can say for this book is that I was able to finish it.

posted by My_Purple_Pen on July 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    A classic of introspection that exposes the subtle influences of

    A classic of introspection that exposes the subtle influences of one's upbringing. Easy-flowing 1st person narrative that sometimes broke my heart while inviting me to consider my own life: my relationship with my father, my husband, my daughter, my life as a single. Secrets intended to spare those we love, secrets kept out of shame, and the healing power of truth and honesty are the underlying themes.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Great!

    This book was very good. The plot was interesting which made me just want to keep reading! I cant wait to read the other books!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2007

    Held my interest

    It took me a little while to get into this book for some reason, but I eventually found myself really hooked to each character and situation. The southern dialect did annoy me at some parts, but it really just made a better impression of how the characters lived. Ave Maria is a great character that stands up for herself and knows how to take a chance. This is a really good book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Good

    But predictable

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2006

    Wonderfully warm...

    I love this book. It pulled me in right from the start. The characters are comfortable and familiar, and the story has restored my faith in good old-fashioned romance. I just started Big Cherry Holler, and it seems promising.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2000

    Highly recommended

    With a charming Appalachian background, this debut novel by Adriana Trigiani was very enjoyable! Ave Maria engrossed me with her insecurities, her wit, and her refusal to be pitied as the 'town spinster'. All of the characters were interesting, from Theodore - her soul mate, to her bookmobile friend Iva Lou, to Pearl, the young girl she takes under her wing. I hope Adriana is working on a second book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    TWL

    Their eyes widened. "Wow. Thats strong!" Wingkit squealled. Lightkit thought in her head. "I dont think thats possible..." she said doubtfully looking down at it. "Cool!" Squealled Thornkit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2013

    Loved this story of self discovery. The characters are wonderful

    Loved this story of self discovery. The characters are wonderful and truly memorable. I cannot wait to start reading the next book in the series. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Great!

    Can I say epic. This is a story that is bigger than life. A small Application town with an Italian heroine. I enjoyed every word.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    I highly recommend this story

    It has so many interesting characters and descriptions of places and events. I could hardly put it down until it was finished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2013

    Its been several years since I read this book, it takes up a spa

    Its been several years since I read this book, it takes up a space on my bookshelf to be reread, and thank you for the reminder. I enjoyed the era, the characters. It made me think about my own relationships. I need to catch up on reading this author's work... my own life got in the way

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Good book... So glad it is going to be made into a movie.

    Big Stone Gap is the 5th book I have read by Adriana Trigiani... I even have the cookbook with Adriana and her sisters.. Will be getting more books by Adriana... The books make me want to go back to Italy, especially Bologna, where my grandparent came from to America..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2006

    it was outstanding...

    this was one of a kind novel...it was great...and to be it all i live in a small town about an hour away from Big Stone,in a very small town called Rose Hill..it is somewhat like Big Stone, we have the beautiful mountains and a lot of farm land,it is a getaway place,place where you come to relax and enjoy the great outdoors... :D but i have to say that was a great novel..

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2005

    Hard to put down

    I really enjoyed this book. I didn't want to put it down and stayed up late reading it. I adore the characters in the story. They are down to earth and honest. I appreciated the insightfulness to the relationships in the book. I am currently reading Big Cherry Holler (which is just as good) and plan to read Milk Glass Moon. I'm recommending this series to my reading partner and our local library book club.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2005

    Charming & enchanting

    I can't say enough about Adriana's description of people, places and life in Big Stone Gap, so realistic. She captures the essence of what it's like to grow up in a small town, where everyone knows the good and bad times in your day to day life, but your immediate friends are the people you depend on and will be there eventhough they aren't your family. Adrianna's description of the personal interaction with the host of characters is charming, desriptive and makes you wish you knew these people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2004

    Great Book

    It took me about 100 pages to really get into this book! I am so glad I stuck with it though because it turned out to be a very charming story. I truly enjoyed it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2002

    A good comfortable book

    Boy, I enjoyed this book. It took me a few chapters to become "attached" to the characters, but then I was hooked. I especially enjoyed the little suprises throughout the story. I am from North Carolina, and I think being southern makes for more of an attachment to Big Stone Gap and it's residents.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2000

    every character in this story leaps from the pages !

    This is an enchanted place and an enchanting story. I felt like crawling right into the pages and mingling with the characters. Please tell me more, Adriana.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3