Customer Reviews for

Big Stone Gap

Average Rating 4
( 171 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(83)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A classic of introspection that exposes the subtle influences of

A classic of introspection that exposes the subtle influences of one's upbringing. Easy-flowing 1st person narrative that sometimes broke my heart while inviting me to consider my own life: my relationship with my father, my husband, my daughter, my life as a single. ...
A classic of introspection that exposes the subtle influences of one's upbringing. Easy-flowing 1st person narrative that sometimes broke my heart while inviting me to consider my own life: my relationship with my father, my husband, my daughter, my life as a single. Secrets intended to spare those we love, secrets kept out of shame, and the healing power of truth and honesty are the underlying themes.

posted by Anonymous on August 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

It was good enough to finish, but far from fabulous.

I thought this book was okay, but it definitely is not great. The plot was predictable most of the time, except for the places where it was just weird. The twists were never clever, but mostly strange. I didn't like the characters at all. Sure they were different, and a...
I thought this book was okay, but it definitely is not great. The plot was predictable most of the time, except for the places where it was just weird. The twists were never clever, but mostly strange. I didn't like the characters at all. Sure they were different, and a few were possible to relate to, but for the most part it felt like she was trying to hard too create quirky characters and in the end she made a bunch of crazy, unrealistic people. And the romance? Awkward. Even though Trigiani was setting it up through the whole book, it felt weird. I kept hoping for someone new to come along and steal Ave Maria's heart so that she wouldn't be with Jack. All in all, not great. The best thing that I can say for this book is that I was able to finish it.

posted by My_Purple_Pen on July 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 83 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Highly Recommended: Something a bit different

    This was a delightful book beginning to end. Unusual family, setting, and story with fleshed out characters and a great plot. Two possible men for our heroine, and we don't know until the very end, will she wake up and smell the down home cooking or..... Read this book, a review can't do it justice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    P

    Pebble groans, laying on her side. She flattens her ears.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    To brandi

    Hey whats up

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    New chatroom!!!!

    Olay first result ask for brandi

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Love the entire series!

    Great book, great characters. Could not wait to keep reading on!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Zoey

    Lawl

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    KENS' STORY ~CHAPTER 15~

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    KEN STOP

    NOW

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Hanna here

    Im a lesbian, and my back storie is that i had a bf, and he left me for another girl where we were, a girl took me home, we became gfs and she moved last week im a very sexy girl

    0 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2010

    A favorite

    I've read all of Ms. Trigiani's books and this one is my favorite. I like to read a book where characters are well developed, and all the characters certainly were. This is a charming story that wasn't sappy, and it was enjoyable all the way through.

    A very nice read that was uplifting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2005

    Wonderful regional fiction!

    You just wanted it to keep going. The characters pull you right into the story. I've read all 3 in the series~each as good as the next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2005

    love, love, love

    I am and have always been an avid reader. This is maybe the best series I have ever read. Ms. Trigiani just makes her characters come alive---her writing is truly awesome. After reading Big Stone Gap, I couldn't wait to read Big Cherry Holler and Milk Glass Moon. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2005

    The thought of this book makes me smile.

    What can you say? This book is just nice! Nothing fancy, nothing amazing...just a darn good book. I loved this community and the characters the author created. I was pulled in and watched this town grow. This story was about much more than Ava Maria and her search for answers. It was about this town and the people who made this such a rich place to visit. The best part of this book is knowing that I can visit these characters in the next two books. I look forward to visiting again, and reading more by this author!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2004

    As comfortable as your favorite sweatshirt!

    Several years ago, Adriana was profiled on the CBS show, Sunday Morning. I was very intrigued by her personal story, the stories she tells and the bridge between those two worlds. While looking for a new audiobook to read, or listen to, I lucked upon Big Stone Gap. Adriana is a true storyteller! And she is definately a southern writer! These are stories about real people with true emotion and wit. And I enjoyed hearing these stories told with Adriana's voice. Eventually, I know I'll have to buy a printed copy so I can read the whole story but the abridged recording was still very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2003

    A total hoot...

    I totally enjoyed this story. Being from the deep South myself I could totally relate to the Southern humor. Only someone who grew up in the South can truly understand and appreciate all the subtle and not-so-subtle innuendos that rang true in the characters. I found myself laughing out loud repeatedly especially at Iva Lou and Fleeta. I will definitely be reading the rest of the trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2003

    Heartwarming and charming

    I gave this novel a try after a friend recommended it to me, and I wasn't disappointed. A wonderful, slice-of-life tale about a woman, who at 35, feels that life has passed her by. Ms. Trigiani has created a gem of a book here, with colorful characters supporting this beautiful story. I can't wait to read the other two installments.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2003

    So good, I could read it all over again!

    I loved this book so much that I've recommended it to people at work, and they can't put it down! The characters are so intriguing and entertaining- I felt like I knew them! It definitely makes you want to go visit Big Stone Gap and keep reading about Ave Maria...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2003

    Sensational Small-town Novel

    Having grown up in Big Stone Gap and having entertained Adrianna at my daughter's slumber parties, I can close my eyes and see the mountains. I can smell the dogwood blossoms and the woodsmoke; I can feel the eyes of everyone on my back when I did something wrong. I can hear the BSG band performing in Bullitt Park and the sounds of the gospel singers during the Singing Convention.I read the novel every time I get homesick and it takes me right to my old front porch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2003

    Amazing

    Big Stone Gap is a novel which contains a nice, simple, and enjoyable plot. The characters are easy to relate to and this helps the book to really flow along well. It takes place in Big Stone Gap, Virginia. Not much happens in this mountainous city. The highlight of 35 year-old Ave Mulligan is the arrival of the Bookmobile every friday. Her favorite book concerns the ancient Chinese art of reading faces. Through her face-readings, she is able to make some sense out of her family. Ave attempts to juggle her job as a pharmacist, a drama coach, and a member of the rescue squad. After her mother's will reveals that the man Ave thought was her father isn't, she becomes sidetracked from her routine. Her life has some unexpected turns. She has two marriage proposals, the clerk at the pharmacy has decided to quit and her aunt has decided to sue her. To add to her hectic life, she discovers a skeleton in her own family's closet. Ave is left to make many decisions. This book has made it to my top 10 list and I hope it does the same to yours.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2003

    Wonderful & Addictive Read

    If I would have been able to readit all in one night I would have(but I finished it in less than a week) With engaging, funny, down-to-eart characters, this is a story with a down home touch. You follow Ave Maria's venture through her own personal mid-life crises with humor & heartfelt emotion. A woderful book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 83 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5