Customer Reviews for

Big Trouble

Average Rating 4.5
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Fine fine yarn

I hadn't read much of Dave Barry, knew only that once there was a TV show sort of based on him starring Harry Anderson. Harry Anderson, I knew, was hilarious. It turns out Dave Barry is too, and this is one of those rare books that finds you on the last page, smiling,...
I hadn't read much of Dave Barry, knew only that once there was a TV show sort of based on him starring Harry Anderson. Harry Anderson, I knew, was hilarious. It turns out Dave Barry is too, and this is one of those rare books that finds you on the last page, smiling, tears of mirth flowing generously, and wishing to God it were just a few pages longer. More, it may turn you onto this whole 'Florida' genre that seems to have popped up. Dave Barry is the master of sticking his finger in the American melting pot and pulling out all the boogers. This is a wonderful, wonderful book that will bring the corners of your mouth a little closer to your eyelids.

posted by Anonymous on November 13, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Expected much more from this great author

I thought the book had a very promising start, with a unique style and some great humor, then it just completely lost momentum. I almost felt as if Barry wrote the first half of the book, then turned it over to someone else for the remainder. The story became ...
I thought the book had a very promising start, with a unique style and some great humor, then it just completely lost momentum. I almost felt as if Barry wrote the first half of the book, then turned it over to someone else for the remainder. The story became less and less funny the more unbelievable it became. I was just really dissapointed with it.

posted by Anonymous on January 31, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Sherbear

    Loved it! Very funny.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Very funny! Great fast read.

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    The characters were very entertaining!!

    The characters were very entertaining!! A very good investment of your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2002

    A Wild, Hilarious Ride

    Dave Barry's first fictional work is much in the vein of Carl Hiaasen. A cast of odd, dysfunctional characters whose paths all cross leading to an outrageous, but seemingly possible events. The only gripe I have is it was way, too short. Oh yeah, and Mr. Barry HAS to bring back Roger the dog in another story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2001

    HILARIOUS!

    I have always been a Dave Barry fan, but who could have expected that he would write something as funny as this. I agree with Stephen King who said that you should put pillows on the floor when you read this book, just in case you fall out of your chair. This book is so incredibly zany, I can't wait to see the movie coming out soon starring Tim Allen, Rene Russo, Johnny Knoxville, Chuck D, Jenneane Garafallo (i can't spell her name) and many other great actors. Read this book! IT IS HILARIOUS!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2001

    Dave Doesn't Disappoint

    Those who read Dave Barry's literature are knowledgable in various scholarly topics, such as exploding Pop-Tarts and raining lizards. However, Big Trouble is a whole new brand of hilarity. The mix of observational and situational humor in this book, as well as the intricate (meaning 'confusing at times') plot, makes it a fun read from start to finish. I am not sure if this book makes me more likely or less likely to visit South Florida, but I know that it did make me substantially more afraid of Elizabeth Dole. Either way, I don't recommend reading it while eating unless one of your friends is familiar with the Heimlich maneuver. You'll laugh, you'll cry, and I'm not sure what else you'll do. But if you don't mind a bit of crude language, read it. Trust me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2001

    Lighten up...it's funny.

    Was this the funniest book I have ever read? No. Was it funny? YES. I enjoyed this light-hearted frolic created by Mr. Barry. So, if you are looking for a quick read for that boring airline trip to the next business meeting on the other coast, this is a book for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2001

    Big Trouble

    I'm new to Dave's work. This one being the first book i've read from him, i have to say it's one of the best books i've ever read. It's intelligent, funny, suspenseful and sexy, although i thought it kinda dragged a little towards the end. But it was great. I hope Barry works on more fiction books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2001

    very enjoyable book

    enjoyed this book very much.Great idea with all the characters coming together in some way

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2000

    A fun book, Not for the whole family.

    Okay, this book is scream. But Barry has also done great things with charicture and plot developement. He does a close to home satire on life in Miami, including hitmen, Russian arms dealers, drunks, teens, halucinagen- secreting toads, a would be cop, punks with a nuclear bomb, the demond of Elizibeth Dole (I won't elaborate. Read the book.), a stupid but friendly bumb, and many more great charicters. In the end, everyone gets what's coming for them, both good and bad, ensuring a happy ending I won't tell you about. The only problem, if you think it's a problem, is frequent swearing. Otherwise, it's a great book, I recomend you read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 1999

    Viva Puggy!

    I sat reading this thing, and i thought how great of a movie this would be. Near the end, it just seemed to drag out, which was funny, suspenful, but annoying. The plot seems like a splicing of The Big Lebowski, Mission Impossible, and some movie that I have probably never seen. I recomend that his younger readers to stay away from it, as there is a great deal of profanity and a few elicit scenes. Other than that, it is a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 1999

    Dave Does Fiction

    There's a difference between Dave Barry, Carl Hiaason and Elmore Leonard: Hiaason and Leonard are SUPPOSED to be funny. Barry actually is. Okay, granted, Barry isn't as funny here as he is in his columns or his many humor books. He tries -- perhaps a little too hard -- to inject column-like one-liners here, but, at times, it comes off awkward. But, his characters are likeable, his prose is smooth as sliced ham, and -- yes -- he does manage to develop a plot. And, unless you're clinically numb, the toad will at least make you smile broadly. Sure, we've read enough about South Florida whackos, and, sure, a lot of people have attempted to write in that funny-crime genre. But most of them are about as funny as a finite math textbook. If someone is going to write about South Florida weirdos in the next century, I want Barry to be the man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1