Customer Reviews for

Big Trouble

Average Rating 4.5
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Fine fine yarn

I hadn't read much of Dave Barry, knew only that once there was a TV show sort of based on him starring Harry Anderson. Harry Anderson, I knew, was hilarious. It turns out Dave Barry is too, and this is one of those rare books that finds you on the last page, smiling,...
I hadn't read much of Dave Barry, knew only that once there was a TV show sort of based on him starring Harry Anderson. Harry Anderson, I knew, was hilarious. It turns out Dave Barry is too, and this is one of those rare books that finds you on the last page, smiling, tears of mirth flowing generously, and wishing to God it were just a few pages longer. More, it may turn you onto this whole 'Florida' genre that seems to have popped up. Dave Barry is the master of sticking his finger in the American melting pot and pulling out all the boogers. This is a wonderful, wonderful book that will bring the corners of your mouth a little closer to your eyelids.

posted by Anonymous on November 13, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Expected much more from this great author

I thought the book had a very promising start, with a unique style and some great humor, then it just completely lost momentum. I almost felt as if Barry wrote the first half of the book, then turned it over to someone else for the remainder. The story became ...
I thought the book had a very promising start, with a unique style and some great humor, then it just completely lost momentum. I almost felt as if Barry wrote the first half of the book, then turned it over to someone else for the remainder. The story became less and less funny the more unbelievable it became. I was just really dissapointed with it.

posted by Anonymous on January 31, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2003

    A Fine fine yarn

    I hadn't read much of Dave Barry, knew only that once there was a TV show sort of based on him starring Harry Anderson. Harry Anderson, I knew, was hilarious. It turns out Dave Barry is too, and this is one of those rare books that finds you on the last page, smiling, tears of mirth flowing generously, and wishing to God it were just a few pages longer. More, it may turn you onto this whole 'Florida' genre that seems to have popped up. Dave Barry is the master of sticking his finger in the American melting pot and pulling out all the boogers. This is a wonderful, wonderful book that will bring the corners of your mouth a little closer to your eyelids.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    EXCELLENT!!!!

    I still read this book over and over even after all of these years. AND THE MOVIE IS EVEN BETTER!!!!!!! That is a true rarity in this day and age.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2011

    Absolutely loved this book

    This book was short, I finished it in a few hours, but it was fast-paced, and I laughed out loud often. If you like Davve Barry you will love this book. If you have never read anything by Dave Barry you will love this book. one million times better than some predictable series suspense novels and without the gruesome violence.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    Funny Funny Stuff

    Hilarious. Who would have thought that so many buffoons could get themselves into so many absurd situations in so few pages. Mr. Barry moved to the top of my Humor reading pile.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2008

    A laugh riot

    I had never read a book by Dave Barry, so I was unprepared for what I was about to find. I knew the story sounded funny by reading the inside cover, but it was past funny and into ridiculous. It starts out with 'Puggy' who has found a new home in the Herk's family tree. It is a step up for Puggy, who has had a run of bad luck later, so maybe his luck is changing for the better. He immediately falls in love with the Herk maid, but from there his luck takes a turn for the worse. The Herk family has their own problems, marital, financial, and a unhappy teen. Two inept hit men are sent to take care of Arthur Herk for pilfering mob funds, two small time criminals try to steal a 'valuable' suitcase that is sure to hold unknown treasure, and two FBI agents on the trail of the suitcase, which actually contains a small nuclear device. All these individual have run-ins with various animals from the Herk family dog who seems to have gone crazy, a poisonous toad, 'gators', and goats. Add into this crazy mess cops following up pranks that end up allowing them to come across some real criminals, even if it is just some small timers trying to hit a big score. The bad news for the criminals is that the suitcase is not holding a portable garbage disposal or any other type of treasure and they will never see the Bahamas. If you want a good laugh and an entertaining read, I highly recommend 'Big Trouble'. It will have you turning pages to see what mishap will fall on Puggy next, and will he ever hold hands with the maid? Will Arthur Herk be able to escape the curse of Elizabeth Dole? Will the Herk family dog ever get to eat out of his dog food bowl again or will they just keeping feeding the poisonous toad instead? All these questions will be answered and more if you choose to read 'Big Troulbe'.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2007

    Funny, funny

    Funny stuff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2005

    Couldn't Put It Down!!!!

    This is the funniest book I have ever read. I couldn't stop reading it once I had started, and it kept me laughing the whole way through. Its offbeat and candid humor will keep you rolling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2004

    It's by Dave Barry, so do you need any more info?

    THE BEST BLOODY BOOK I HAVE EVER READ, OR WILL READ. IT IS SO FUNNY THAT I ACTUALLY WET MY PANTS FROM LAUGHING.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2003

    This is the greatest book EVER!!

    Well, at first I was kind of skeptical about reading a novel by Dave Barry, but soon I realized he delivers the comedy and fast... You need to get this book now... And if you already have one, get more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2003

    FUNNY,FUNNY,FUNNY!

    very FUNNY, but also a good story with entertaining characters. Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2003

    Dave Barry Dives Into Fiction

    Dave Barry has written a hysterical novel that will please anyone who enjoys Dave's columns but wishes they were longer then a few paragraphs. Taking a cast of regular and not-so-regular characters, he puts them in situations that range from odd to outrageous, but all the while feel like they could actually happen. And let's hope he brings Roger the dog back for another novel. If you enjoy Carl Hiaasen, then you will also like Big Trouble.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2003

    Easily the Funniest Work of Fiction I have Ever Read

    Dave Barry is a hysterical genius. And BIG TROUBLE is no exception to anything that he has done. It has zany charecters, and plot that could only happen in Florida, and enough jokes to keep Comdey Central on air for seven weeks. The events are hilarious and the entire book is just worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2002

    Completely HISTERICAL!!!

    This book never left my hands until I was finished. I couldn't read this book in public. I laughed so much people thought I was crazy!! Everyone wanted to know what I was reading. The character names were great. Roger and the Toad get an A++ . Bring back Roger!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2002

    simply hilarious

    As a miami resident, I found this book doubly hysterical. I couldnt put it down. I definately reccommend!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2002

    A terrific Comedy!

    This book is hilarious. It was my first Dave Barry book, and it won't be my last. You can relate to all of the characters to some degree. There are so many stories going on that it keeps you on your toes. I read this book in 3 days, and have read it 3 more times since then. I recommend this book to anyone who loves a mixture of romance/adventure/comedy in a book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2002

    What a riot!

    Not only that but thrilling. This book has everything a bomb, goats, bumbling gansters, a macho cop, a sexy cop, a snake, a frog, a bum... Humor has a tendency to take over a book, but great books like this one is are funny yes, but more than that. If you look into past the humor you see the connection the metaphors and yes, some real emotion and even a little social commentary, after all he is a columnist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2001

    Hilarious

    I'm olny to the fourth chapter and am currently cracking up. I didn't think Dave could write a novel but he did, and it's funny as heck!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2001

    GREAT BOOK TO READ

    This book is one of the funniest books I've ever read in my life. I'm only 15, but I thought this book was hysterical. I highly reccommend it for anybody who doesnt mind laughing out loud in public and having people staring at you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2001

    Delbert Harris the 1st

    Big trouble. Exciting from the 3rd page Dave Berry does a good job taking the reader into the book making you feel the characters. Exciting, funny, realistic and dramatic Dave you get 5 stars lets do it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2001

    The Barry Book!

    This boook is an extremaly hilaroius book. I am only a teenager and I thought it was all hilarious. Dave, I have read all your other non-fictional books and almost all your columns religiously (scary huh?) anyway I think that this is better than most of them. you really need to make the transition to fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3