Customer Reviews for

Big Trouble

Average Rating 4.5
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Fine fine yarn

I hadn't read much of Dave Barry, knew only that once there was a TV show sort of based on him starring Harry Anderson. Harry Anderson, I knew, was hilarious. It turns out Dave Barry is too, and this is one of those rare books that finds you on the last page, smiling,...
I hadn't read much of Dave Barry, knew only that once there was a TV show sort of based on him starring Harry Anderson. Harry Anderson, I knew, was hilarious. It turns out Dave Barry is too, and this is one of those rare books that finds you on the last page, smiling, tears of mirth flowing generously, and wishing to God it were just a few pages longer. More, it may turn you onto this whole 'Florida' genre that seems to have popped up. Dave Barry is the master of sticking his finger in the American melting pot and pulling out all the boogers. This is a wonderful, wonderful book that will bring the corners of your mouth a little closer to your eyelids.

posted by Anonymous on November 13, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Expected much more from this great author

I thought the book had a very promising start, with a unique style and some great humor, then it just completely lost momentum. I almost felt as if Barry wrote the first half of the book, then turned it over to someone else for the remainder. The story became ...
I thought the book had a very promising start, with a unique style and some great humor, then it just completely lost momentum. I almost felt as if Barry wrote the first half of the book, then turned it over to someone else for the remainder. The story became less and less funny the more unbelievable it became. I was just really dissapointed with it.

posted by Anonymous on January 31, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 41 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2001

    This book caused my husband and me to lose lots of sleep!

    I haven't laughed so hard in years. I enjoy reading a few pages before going to sleep but I couldn't put this one down. I had to see what was on the next page. Even my husband lost sleep. I tried to laugh silently but shook the bed so much I kept waking him up. It was great, I'm sure I've met that dog. Elizabeth Dole and Enemy Toad were right over the top. I hope this is just the start of a frequent and prolific fiction career for Dave Barry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2001

    Dave Tries His Hand At Fiction, Dave-1, Fiction-0

    After reading Dave's columns, and his account of his musical adventures with Steven King et al (The Rock Bottom Remainders), I knew I would like his shot at fiction. I was not disappointed. This is a book that you hate to see end, and one you can read over and over. Good job Dave!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2001

    Big Trouble

    Except that it was so good that I didn't want it to end. Dave, you should switch to fiction for good my man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2001

    THANK GOD THERES GOING TO BE A MOVIE!!!!!!!!

    i have not even finished this book yet but i love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2000

    IT'S A HOOT, KIDS!

    'Big trouble' is a lot of laughs. You'd expect that from Dave Barry. He makes the transition to fiction very well. Characters are true, if ridiculous, and there's some real suspense, as well. Hooray for Dave Barry!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2000

    a great book!

    I loved Big Trouble! This book was really really funny, just like all of Dave's columns are (and I've read them religiously since I was 12 or so). But I think Big Trouble really catches the essence of Miami, since almost anything is possible here. I'm bringing it with me when I go to college so it will remind me what I left back at home! ;-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2000

    Hilarious! Irreverent!

    Although somewhat offensive (to me), this was a truly hilarious read! Many excellent one-liners and amazingly ridiculous but nearly credible developments. It got funnier and funnier. There were places I found myself in the ludicrous situation of laughing out loud, very loud, and could not control myself for a very long time. Great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2000

    Dave Barry a Ten Star Killer

    Okay, Dave Barry needs a review from me like another hole in his head - it's said he's well ventilated - but I'm gonna take a shot here anyway. I picked up an ARC of this book at a book fair in Nashville last fall and nearly killed myself from convulsive laughter. This is just what the world needs - to take a big old deep breath and get over ourselves. When he brought Ms Dole into the lunacy, I was just about undone. He might be the funniest man writing today and God knows, I enjoyed this facre much more than the last one he wrote 'Performing Your Own Root Canals' - or was it that talking nude manatee thing? Whatever, to Mr. Barry - keep up the good work, Bubba. To the reading public - please buy his book - he needs the money to continue his therapy. See ya around B&N, Dave. Hey, did you pay for that newspaper?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2000

    Thanks Dave!

    Big Trouble is the funniest book I have read. It is a nice break from all of the other novels out there that seem to be the same. Dave does a great job of describing each and every character, and also giving them all a important part in the plot. The best thing about this book is all of the characters and how they all tie together without even knowing it. Dave, this is a great novel I would hope you write another, even though it would be hard to match what you did here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2000

    This book needs a movie, NOW!!!

    This was an amazing book for someone who doesn't normaly write fiction. Even though he occasionally lies in his other books. This book should definately be made into a movie. ( I would also like to be mentioned in one of his books!!!!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2000

    Light, funny, well crafted.

    This is light and very funny summer reading. Dave Barry has created amusing, colorful and surprisingly believable characters whose life paths collide in a most amusing way. Not a single dull page. It was a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2000

    Great Book

    I'm Only A Teenager And I Found This Book To Be GREAT. Please If You Know any other Books By Dave Barry Tell Me or any other good books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2000

    I LAUGHED, I CRIED, AND I NEVER WANT TO VISIT MIAMI!!!

    As every fan of Dave Barry knows, there are two things he does better than anybody else; writing about Miami and very stupid dogs. Both get the royal treatment in 'Big Trouble', the funniest book I've read since the last time I read one that was funnier. After reading this tome, you will come to regard Miami as the rubber room of the world and you will also regard your dog as the Einstein of all canines. If I say anything more I will be giving away an extremly thin plotline, but it doesn't matter anyway. THIS IS A FUNNY BOOK. TRUST ME. Ok you don't know me, but then again you are so bored you are actually reading the reviews of complete strangers, whom for all you know, think that 'Mein Kampf' is a laugh riot. It isn't by the way. Not that I've actually read 'Mein Kampf', I just heard that it wasn't actually funny. Ok, I should stop now before I look like a fool. Too late.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2000

    Great Book

    By far the funniest novel I've ever read. This would make a great movie. If any of this is remotely acurate, Miami has some crazy people. I hope Dave Barry writes another book cause I enjoyed this one. READ THIS BOOK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 41 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3