Customer Reviews for

Billy Lynn's Long Halftime Walk

Average Rating 4
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Did you ever wonder about the war?

I read fast. Really fast. Very few books slow me down. This book brought me to a standstill--and sent me back to read again. It knit the realities of combat to the realities of American civilian life. And with the same stitches, it bound the absurd fantasies of both ...
I read fast. Really fast. Very few books slow me down. This book brought me to a standstill--and sent me back to read again. It knit the realities of combat to the realities of American civilian life. And with the same stitches, it bound the absurd fantasies of both experiences. It is no wonder that civilians who experience combat experience nothing the same way ever again. This slice of life was a story intricately spun and made into an uncomfortable but irresistible jacket. Thank you.

posted by Dickinson on June 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

OK

I was disappointed overall. It sounded good from the write up of the story, but I found it to be very repetitive in terms of the characters. I'm glad I bought it as a daily special.

posted by 8104320 on July 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 16, 2013

    This book is as good as the best reviews say it is. It's very mo

    This book is as good as the best reviews say it is. It's very moving and sad and insightful and revealing. What happens to the young, impressionable men we send to war is something we can't comprehend without the experience ourselves. This story helps reveal a lot about them and also a lot about ourselves and our responses to them. And most of it happens during one professional football game at Cowboys stadium. What a clever way to tell their story. I loved this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    One of my Top 10 for 2012

    Dark satire of war and the selling of war.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The title of this book sounds as if it should be a children&rsq

    The title of this book sounds as if it should be a children’s story – it suggests adventure, morality lessons, guidance, with an ending that leaves a restful “at peace” feeling. With the exceptions of this NOT being a children’s book (by any stretch) and the ending lending itself more toward deep discussion than rest, this is a book of adventure, morality and guidance. It asks the reader to consider the possibility that the wall behind the pretty paper may be, at its best, flimsy and to dare to look what it may be hiding.
    The ten members of “Bravo Squad” became famous when the embedded Fox News team attached to it for two weeks filmed the three minute, 43 second battle of Al-Ansakar Canal in Iraq. Eight members of the platoon are on the final day of a two week “Victory Tour,” spending it being “honored” at Texas Stadium during the halftime show of Thanksgiving game between the Cowboys and the Bears. After two weeks of such honors, he “Bravos” are ready for this Temporary Duty to be complete. The day is described through the eyes of 19-year-old William “Billy” Lynn, Silver Star recipient and old-soul philosopher.
    Mr. Fountain is talented in his ability to keep a complex story concisely focused and articulated quickly. The story is told as the day as it progresses with sufficient recalls, by Billy, to give him and the Bravos a history and development enough for him to become “real.” Billy observes life and its participants then opines of those observations with the authority of one who has faced The Ultimate and was gifted by that meeting with the clarity of thought and perspective far beyond his years. As he plays with his three-year-old nephew, he comes to an understanding of a God that is real, not a plastic sketch he had been offered when he was younger, “Divine spark, image of God, suffer the little children and all that – there’s real power when words attach to actual things.” (p. 74). The “actual” things he has seen have taught him a meaning of power, one that shows his present surroundings to be as false the god he was offered when he was younger.
    The author expertly uses a fictional setting to speak to present realities. He has a Texas billionaire orate about the evils from which America has saved Iraq and the rant could have been lifted from any present-day electoral speech by any Presidential Candidate (p. 118).
    The satire and barbs are so good and clear that the author either received permission from various political figures (unlikely) or he has a very good lawyer who is expert at defending against slander suits. He lays bare the excesses and cronyism, often using familiar names, upon our economy has come to depend and the complicity thereof we all bear in its success. The overall commentary the book offers is one of questioning where society is and how it managed to arrive there. Often humorous, deeply biting and profane in its profundity, this book is one that is in much need of being read and discussed. The book is centered upon a member of an active duty combat platoon, told as they interact with each other, therefore, the language is as would be expected – raw, graphic and not for those easily offended. There is also graphic description of battle and its results.
    The six hours of Billy’s life he shared on this particular Thanksgiving were enough for him to become a friend. I hope he writes more soon.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Superb

    With malice toward none.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2013

    Excellent book. well written.

    Like being in a pinball machine of sensory elements. Great Book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Reminded me of Catch 22

    Reminded me of Catch 22

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Well written, good read

    I loved this book. Some of the descriptive phrases are so powerful that you are transported into the storyline. I will read this book again.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Great

    This is one of the best books i have ever read this is oneof the best

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Perfect Pitch

    It took awhile to get a feel for storyline, but thank God, I didn't give up. A terrific first novel! Should be in line for the National Book Award!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    I am Victor

    Ares destroyed my family

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Tina

    Yes?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Drew

    I still want to be friends though

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    7th res

    .

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Jiselle

    "I doesnt matter."

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Roy to cate

    HI CAN I BE YOUR GF PLEASE I ALWAYS LIKED YOU

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Z

    Im here!!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Next res

    For forge

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Knowing I know nothing...

    I've heard wisdom is knowing you know nothing. I'm feeling wiser after reading Ben Fountain's "Billy Lynn's Long Halftime Walk." To read this book is to enter a virtual reality world of a young soldier's experience with the civilian world after the rawest of wartime experiences. It's a surreal place where every sensation and thought is multiplied in intensity and then questioned for validity.

    I would put this on the "must read" list for:
    - anyone who has ever said "I know how you feel"
    - anyone who has counselled someone on enlisting in the military
    - every high school student
    - anyone affected by the politics of war
    - anyone who has been touched by war and terrorism, even if peripherally

    I'm not saying the book will change views. But I think it will make us more aware of the impact of those views.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Fab

    Wonderful. Engaging. Sexy.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    Come to zenclan at zen result 2 thanks singerstar

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3