Customer Reviews for

Billy Straight

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

KELLERMAN AT HIS BEST!

Normally, Kellerman's book's drag in the 1st few chapters, then pick up, but this book was a fast read. I could not put it down from the moment I read the first page. You really feel for the characters.

posted by Anonymous on January 17, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

good but left me hanging...

I found that this book was not as gripping as Kellerman's other titles, most of his books are real page turners. The only reason I kept turning the pages in this one was because Billy Straight. I just wanted to take him home, adopt him and make sure the rest of his li...
I found that this book was not as gripping as Kellerman's other titles, most of his books are real page turners. The only reason I kept turning the pages in this one was because Billy Straight. I just wanted to take him home, adopt him and make sure the rest of his life was fantastic! Poor wee man. How could you not get involved? I would've liked to have known more about what happened to him - the end of the book left me hanging...

posted by Anonymous on May 4, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2001

    good but left me hanging...

    I found that this book was not as gripping as Kellerman's other titles, most of his books are real page turners. The only reason I kept turning the pages in this one was because Billy Straight. I just wanted to take him home, adopt him and make sure the rest of his life was fantastic! Poor wee man. How could you not get involved? I would've liked to have known more about what happened to him - the end of the book left me hanging...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2003

    No Alex Here

    I am an Alex Delaware fan as much as the next person, but this is a very intriguing departure from that series. Very enjoyable!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2000

    Predictable Ending

    Billy Straight was a very likable young boy and wish the story had more to do with him. The killer was predictable. The book was okay but took a long time to read although it wasn't boring it wasn't a page turner either. Would like to know what became of Billy Straight.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2000

    KELLERMAN AT HIS BEST!

    Normally, Kellerman's book's drag in the 1st few chapters, then pick up, but this book was a fast read. I could not put it down from the moment I read the first page. You really feel for the characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    Excellent Book

    Loved this book & the new characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Horror in Hollywood

    This book was great. A real page turner. I read it quite a while ago, and I'm tempted to buy again. A real look into the grimey streets of LA and Hollywood and homeless street kid.This was my first Johnathon Kellerman novel and it did not dissapoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    Worth reading

    Amazing thriller. Snatches you in and then spits you out. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2004

    ripum billy

    The book Billy Straight was a pretty good book. The book is about a boy who is 12 years old and is from Watson, California. The first chapter is very interesting. The first chapter is about a beautiful lady who gets murdered that had happened in a park called Griffith park in L. A. Billy so happen to have seen the murder because he spends most of his time in the park rather then at home. Billy is so scared and worried that the killer could have seen him he pisses his pants and runs away and tries to forget about it. From here this book makes you want to read on to find out what Billy is going to do weather he¿s going to tell or not. The next couple of chapters is boring it talks about two detectives that are going to be researching the murder. It talks to much about there own life. The next chapters get interesting again Billy decides to run away to Hollywood. He can¿t handle living with his mom¿s new boyfriend who always picks on him. Billy has no idea where he is going and what he¿s going to do. He found 126 dollars in a tampax box his mom hid away and decides to take that to use as spending money. Billy jumps on a bus to Hollywood and tries to start a new life by himself. Billy is actually a really smart boy and finds away to educate him self. A reason why I like this book was because of Billy Straight because of him it made the book interesting. the reason I didn¿t like this book was when Billy wasn¿t talking. It was too boring and not interesting I kind of got lost when he wasn¿t talking. This book made me think about homeless kids and kids with no parents. It must be really hard for them growing up on their own and having to learn on their own. I think that your parent¿s play a really big roll in life and for kids with out parents must have a hard time. I don¿t know how I would compare this book to other books because I don¿t read books hardly every. I can¿t remember when I read last. I would say this was a good book for me even though I don¿t like to read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2001

    Kellerman never a disappointment!

    Great story with great characters....very enjoyable except for the end......cant say more but didn't like it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2000

    Stylistic Experiment?

    An avid fan of J. Kellerman's books, I've always been very impressed with his writing style. While 'Billy Straight' is still a good book, stylistically it seems to pay homage to a variety of mystery writers' styles. Unfortunately, this homage gets a bit distracting at times. A side note: If a female character is not interested in styles, trends, or labels, why is it necessary for her to note the label in every article of clothing she wears?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 1999

    I liked the boy...

    <P>I liked Billy Straight and wished there had been more about him and less about the solving of another Hollywood murder. I found myself skimming the non-Billy story and then savoring each moment with the scared child. <P>I wasn't fooled by the murderer or the red herrings the author kept tossing about. I figured out 'who done it' right away, but I kept reading because I wanted to make sure that Billy survived the trauma of witnessing a brutal murder, trying to survive on the mean streets of LA and the loss of innocence. <P>I'm sure the author's been in touch with major motion picture studios in Hollywood. This story has all the makings of a box office hit. I just wish there had been more about Billy and Sam, the ancient Jewish man who finally befriends Billy. I liked Sam and would have put Billy in his charge. <P>I recommend this book....not as the best murder mystery on the block, but because I really liked the boy and his struggles to survive...and even prosper!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1