Customer Reviews for

Binaural

Average Rating 5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    fabulous

    Let me firmly state that I LOVE this album. It's still the Pearl Jam we all love, but with some softer tracks balances out the heavy. I love love love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    who said pearl jam cant rock anymore????

    from the first track to the last, this album is a must for any true fan of rock n roll. breakerfall is in your face rock, the kinda song you dont want to end. grievance and insignificance are two of the most sonic songs they have ever recorded and will make even the most down trodden want to jump up and down. slight of hand and of the girl are to of the most uneasy, yet beautiful songs every written. pearl jam unlike many of the bands of the 90's have stood the test of time, and will continue to do so. the only thing that will make these songs sound better to the true music fan, is putting this album on 25 years from now, so you can remember what real rock n roll sounded like. pearl jam will be a stapple of rock n roll. thank yopur higher power that they are around

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great rock for a smart audience!

    From the explossive album opener to the eastern softness of the album's last track Binaural takes the listener through a magic sonic ride. This album will be sure to please listeners with a more deep tase and yet somehow it's done in such fashion and style that an untrained ear can enjoy aswell. Pearl Jam has been my favourite band since they came out in 1991 and to me personally this great album has become my fav. There are enough delicate, beautiful, passionate songs in here aswell as great rockers, there is actually something here for everyone, if you love great rock, or just great music in general give this album a try, like I said if you are a fan of great music you will not be dissapointed, just expect a lot of variety so please listen with an open mind, in my mind and heart this is the best album of the year 2000. A mixture of All othe Pearl Jam albums.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    they've done it again.......

    If you love pearl jam's other albums and you do not yet own binaural- you're missing out!After 5 albums pearl jam is still producing excellent work. Listen to ''Of the girl'' and ''thin air''.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Binaural - I'm all ears

    Binaural, Pearl Jam's 6th album, pulses with lyrical and musical genius. The very first cord of the first song resonates the Who. You know this is a good album. Lost soul coverage combined with love songs, fabulous riffs and powerful guitar emotion... topped off with Mr. Ed Vedder and his ukulele singing a song that Vedder often dedicates at shows to Bill Gates called 'Soon Forget.' ''Sorry is the fool who trades his soul for a corvette. Thinks he'll get the girl... he'll only get the mechanic, what's missing? He's barely living a day he'll soon forget.'' The combined spotlight of music and lyric writing throughout the band members preserveres in an array of topics touched. Stone Gossard (guitar) writes a blatant, beautiful love song and a song about growing up gay in Littleton. Other lyrics were provided by Jeff Ament (bass) including 'Nothing As It Seems,' and 'God's Dice.' Matt Cameron (former drummer of Soundgarden and Well Water Conspiracy) even contributed in songwriting, writing the music for 'Evacuation.' Vedder's stories contribute to the beauty of this album. 'Insignificance' explains of celebrating army guys in a bar, listening to the juke box, oblivious they are going to be bombed by the enemy. Vedder is such a genius, ''The swallowed seeds of arrogance...breeding in the thoughts of ten thousand fools who fight irrelevance.'' Vedder also includes his punk-laced heart of government resistance in Grievance, a rich bumper sticker laden piece of art. ''Have a drink, they're buying... bottom of, bottle of Denial... Big guy, big eye watching me.. have to wonder what it sees.'' And Mike McCready is God. That is all I have to say. My favorite tracks are Breakerfall, Light Years, Thin Air, Insignificance, Grievance, Sleight of Hand, Soon Forget, and Parting Ways

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    P.J. rocks again!!

    With their latest album, Pearl Jam have once again proven that they are not going to play for the masses, they are just simply going to play what they feel is great music. For this they must be praised, and listened to. They bring us back to what 'Rock' is all about, guitars and great lyrics. With 'Breakerfall' and 'Evacutation', PJ go back to their roots of Ten and Vs, and show that they can still crank it up! On 'Thin Air' Vedder and Co. engross you with a beautiful melody about relationships. Binaural cements Pearl Jam's postition on the podestal of Rock Gods, and confirms that they're not leaving anytime soon. Throughout Pearl Jams roller-coaster rock career, they've always been true to their fans, and they show that commitment once again on Binaural. Buy this c.d.!!, and let Pearl Jam remind you that their's still a band that loves rock and roll,their fans, and staying true to themselves! Pearl Jam rules!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Viva la grunge!

    Back in 1991 grunge rock changed my life. Pearl Jams is my all-time favorite groups. If it wasn't for PJ I would have never discovered Tivas, my favorite brand of sandals. I'm looking forward to wearing them to the shows this summer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Sweet Album! ;)

    After PJ realized people didn't like Yield b/c it was too soft -- this is a major contrast to that album! They proved people wrong by giving them what they're known for -- grunge rock. This group, in my opinion, has yet to reach their climax!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Every Album Just Gets Better

    A testament to the continued originality, insightful lyrics and powerful music that has become a Pearl Jam staple. These guys may not have rock god status, but they have certainly remined true to providing some of the finest music of the late 20th century and this album re-affirms that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Binaural is an Instant Classic

    Pearl Jam is a band that is not out to please anyone but themselves, & we all know that is what makes for excellent listening pleasure. It's obvious Eddie still isn't taking his Prozac, but for PJ fans like myself, that would be a disappointment. PJ is depressing rock, & sometimes we need bands like them to remind us that it's important not to lose sight of what really matters. @ least that's what I gather from them, they have my respect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1