Customer Reviews for

BioShock: Rapture

Average Rating 4.5
( 127 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(94)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    A Must Read for fans of BioShock and BioShock 2

    While I've written a massively long review about this elsewhere, I'll be to the punch. This is a must read for fans of the BioShock games, but be sure to have played them both first. Shirley does a great job introducing the reader to the foundation of Rapture and especially the characters of Bill McDonagh, Andrew Ryan and Frank Fontaine. However, there are many storylines that are left open-ended because they are wrapped up in the video games. If you are reading this as the starting point, you'll likely wonder why they were mentioned at all.

    Instead, read this book after playing the first two games to really appreciate how well Shirley links things together. Moments off-handedly mentioned in the games are vividly brought to life. Some of the most enjoyable aspects of the book are seeing the "origin stories" of different gameplay aspects like the Gatherer's Garden, the Little Sisters and the infamous Big Daddies.

    Bill McDonagh keeps the plot grounded around a central character but there are several vignettes about Sander Cohen, Stanley Poole, Sofia Lamb and Dr. Steinman to keep fans of the video game series interested. Each expands upon what is gleaned from the video games and enriches the whole storyline.

    The only major criticism is one or two things seem to contradict what happens in the video game series (the death of a particular character) and that nothing is mentioned about the Minvera's Den episode (probably written too late to include). Also this reviewer hopes Shirley returns to write about the events between BioShock and BioShock 2 as that's a good 8 year gap which would be great to learn more about.

    In short, if you've played the first two games, read this as soon as you can if you loved the world of Rapture.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    Bioshock Background

    I loved reading about the characters lives before during and after the fall of Rapture!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    So good.

    This book is so good that it made me want to play Bioshock all over again! Thank you, to the author, for such a well written book about two incredibly epic games. The best part, for me, was the story behind the creation of Rapture. How was Rapture built by Alex Ryan? What was Ryan's backstory? Who gets to go to Rapture and why? And, finally, what went wrong? These are all questions that I have asked myself, but I never felt satisfied with the in-game answers.

    I will admit to never having played Bioshock 2. It was due to a lack of video game funds and time. But, this book awakened a need, deep inside, that demands additional game play now. I will definitely purchase the second game!

    I loved it! This book is a keeper. I had feared that this would be a knock-off, a novel that is sold at a high cost in order to prey on Bioshock enthusiasts. Instead, this book adds to the Bioshock mythos in an important way. In the game, Bioshock, you cannot help but stop to look around at the decaying beauty of Rapture. My only complaint is that I would have liked to see some of the visual impact of the game included in the book through artistic blueprints, portraits, or other illustrations. I think that it would have enhanced the reading experience. It is a must read for fans!

    -AvidReader

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    This book is amazing

    If you have played the games and are a true fanatic of the tale of bioshock you shold read this book, it ties well witht the game and will expand your experience with rapture

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    Loved this book

    Really made me understand the game a lot more. Makes me want to go back and play it again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    Fantastic.

    Beyond my expectations for a book on a video game series. Amazing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    An Excellent Addition to the Bioshock Series

    As a fan of all things Bioshock, it could be said that my opinions in this review are biased. But as an admirer of dystopian novels, I can say that the difference between this book and others is when the story actually takes place. Many books in this genre start around the time of the downfall of the society or when it's already spiraling out of control. Here with Bioshock: Rapture, you get to experience the rise of a perfect society and its inevitable fall. With any prequel, it is a difficult task to craft a story that interlocks with what has already been laid out, without disrupting it. Thankfully, the story from the first two games was so incredible and detailed, that it left plenty of rich material to work with. But it's what you do with it that really makes the difference and I feel John Shirley pulled it off very nicely. Understanding the potential concern of there being too many point-of-views in the story, I'm not sure how else it could have worked without going the route of using a narrator. The structure (chapters consisting of multiple POVs and including location and time stamps) worked for me and the pace was gradual and not overwhelming. At first, I felt some of the characters could have used some depth, but after finishing the book, it seemed to me that it was no longer important, since Rapture itself was the main focus, not the inhabitants. To sum up: the story was very well done from beginning to end and it wasn't hard to keep track of what was going on. Adding frequent bits of information for the fans was a nice treat (some 'ah-ha' moments), but they still would make sense for those who have no knowledge of Bioshock. The story gets quite violent at times, which was to be expected. All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed John Shirley's take of the Bioshock series. Even though I read it electronically, I purchased the print book shortly thereafter and will likely reread. Please excuse me while I play the first Bioshock again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    If you love the game, you will love the book.

    This book is really well written. A little interesting how John wrote it with all the skipping around ,however this is full of little bits of information that you just never really put together. I really like also how well the writer really gets graphic in detail with a few of the scenes and really gets a little into the dirt of what life in Rapture really was like not only for the well to do's but also the well to don'ts as well. I just am happy that there was enough interest that the book is out.. Can't wait for the movie..

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Boogle

    This book is totaly awesome!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent read!

    This book made me dive back into the world of Rapture, the second i put the book down, i was back on the game. This gives an amazing idea of the events leading up to the downfall of the fabled city.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Awesome

    Awsome

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    Highly Recommended - If you have ever wanted to or played the Bioshock Games

    I loved this book so much im addicted to Bioshock and I really loved it beacuse it went in to so much detail of the characters in the game and of what happened leading up to the games. I would recommend this book to any of my friends that play Bioshock if you play Bioshock you are going to love this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2014

    Boing the balls bio

    I have one ball instead of two. I am a girl.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2014

    Zoeys bio

    Name: Zoey Overgreen (most people misspell my name by accident).

    Age: 13.

    Gender: girl.

    Hair/Eyes: brown hair with natural highlights. Brown eyes.

    Godly Parent: Apollo.

    Powers: never misses with a bow. Can shoot a ball of light that
    blinds the enemy(most of the time temporarily blinds them).

    Weapon: bow that can turn into a backpack(like percy jacksons pen/sword).

    Personality: nice, smart, fast.

    Likes: stuff.

    Dislikes: other stuff.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2014

    Callie bio

    Age: 15. Appearance: long red hair usually worn in a french braid. Hazel eyes. Small and athletic. Personality: fun and friendly but dont mess with me. Powers: pretty much anything that involves water. Weapons: bow and arrow (-> and dagger but only if needed. Skills: im clever and have great aim. Anything else: just ask! Im an open book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2014

    Bios (Camp TSG bios)

    Put ur bios here. We will tell u if ur bio breaks the rules!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2014

    To to sk

    Yes! Imag drag is awesome!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    Great for Bioshock fans!

    I love the Bioshock series of games & found this book to be quite satisfying indeed. I can't wait for the next game or another novel to come out soon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2014

    Jkshj

    Jje

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    BIOSHOCK!!!!!!BIOSHOCK!!!!!!!BIOSHOCK!!!!!!!

    I CANT EXPLAIN HOW MUCH I LOVE BIOSHOCK!!!!!!!!I F*****G LOVE BIOSHOCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!XD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5