Customer Reviews for

Biocentrism: How Life and Consciousness are the Keys to Understanding the True Nature of the Universe

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Biocentrism is a very good read. Lanza is able to give clarifyin

    Biocentrism is a very good read. Lanza is able to give clarifying examples that make an unnatural subject understandable. Biocentrism in a nutshell is the idea that everything exists as a result of an observer or consciousness, there is no concrete object until your mind creates it throught the senses. These ideas challenge our understanding of the universe, because if there were no one to perceive the universe it would not exist, at least not in a concrete form. He asserts that the universe would not or has never existed without life, and that the universe is here because of life or because of our conscious mind. The two are eternally intertwined, and one cannot exist without the other. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    Dr. Lanza Has Given Us A Masterpiece Of Modern Science!!

    First off, let us consider that Dr. Robert Lanza is one of the most well respected and well known scientists in the world, and yet seems to be able to simplify this elegant theory into something we can all understand.. And even more, something we can not avoid. He offers a perspective very different from what we've all been taught and challenges us to step outside of the box and dismiss conventional wisdom in order to fully comprehend his central thesis.. That life creates the universe, not the other way around. He insists that Physics will keep falling flat on its head when searching for a unifying theory unless they incorporate consciousness into the equation. Sound far fetched?? Not when he brakes down the basics of his theory with a style and flare that I wish my High School science teacher had. He never fails to be informative while entertaining all at once. Sure to be regarded as a classic, and even more impressive that for once we get an honest explaination of the universe and our role in it.. From the mind of a Biologist, not a Physicist!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    Great book

    Im 14 and i really enjoyed reading this book i rccomend it to everyone. I had to re read alot of pages in order to comprehend it fully.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Compelling and Relevant

    Compelling and Relevant Book, August 9, 2009


    This is a brave new book. For me, it exhibits the same courage as the 2006 The Language of God: A Scientist Presents Evidence for Belief.

    In the August '09 issue of Discover Magazine, Roger Penrose participated in an interview in which he states that physics has been looking in the wrong corners. He believes some of the newer theories may not be valid and calls for a new way of thinking. That's how I recall the article anyway.

    The same week I read this magazine, Amazon delivers Biocentrism to my doorstep. While Lanza and Berman may not be kindred spirits with Penrose, they most certainly attend the same family reunion. That is, I believe Biocentrism addresses a large part of the problems espoused by Penrose.

    This book sets forth a new look at the universe. Lanza and Berman contend that our current theories of the physical world simply don't work. Instead of placing life as an accidental by-product, the authors place life at the apex of universal existence and purpose. It is a very thrilling and disturbing read. And I also could use the adjectives, compelling and relevant as the arena of physics seems to be moving in a direction of silliness (multiverse, string theory, etc.) that can possibly never be proved.

    While the proposals made in Biocentrism seem radical and counter-intuitive at first, a bit of reflection will soon make the images clearer and place us on the pathway to a better and more commonsensical mindset.

    You may also enjoy Fingerprints of God: The Search for the Science of Spirituality, The Mind of God: The Scientific Basis for a Rational World, The Goldilocks Enigma: Why Is the Universe Just Right for Life?, Just Six Numbers: The Deep Forces That Shape The Universe and The Conscious Universe: Parts and Wholes in Physical Reality

    I hope you find this review helpful.

    Michael L. Gooch

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    What if Life Selected this Universe? Robert Lanza's thought-pro

    What if Life Selected this Universe?

    Robert Lanza's thought-provoking book, BIOCENTRISM, raises the question of how our universe developed in such a way that it is perfect to support life. The odds against such a thing happening purely by chance are astronomically high. The concept of "fine-tuning" has been utilized in the past as an argument in favor of the existence of God, based on the notion that because fundamental physical constants are perfectly positioned to support life, some organizing effect behind the scenes must be going on to have created such a remarkably unlikely situation. 

    We tend to assume that chaos is the order of the day, as most of us are familiar with in our daily lives. We don't expect our homes and gardens to tidy and organize themselves, but rather we come to learn that order takes effort, whereas chaos naturally unfolds. So taking a long, hard look at just how organized our universe seems to be leads us to wonder how, exactly, we ended up on a planet that happens to be just the right distance from our sun in a universe that naturally tends to be supportive of life. 

    Lanza asserts, as the subtitle of his book BIOCENTRISM states, that life and consciousness are the keys to understanding the true nature of the universe. Just how this occurs, Lanza says, has much to do with the extraordinary effects consciousness has been proven to have in the quantum realm. Since experiments conducted in quantum physics have determined that human observers influence behavior of quantum particles in such a manner that results can be shown of a decision before it is made, Lanza suggests this indicates that life itself is the deciding factor in the "Goldilock's Universe" we find ourselves living in. 

    The word "biocentrism" was originally intended to convey a sense of reverence for all life, as opposed to focusing primarily on human life, and Lanza's definition has taken that meaning a bit farther to suggest that biological consciousness is the fundamental consciousness at work in providing us with this particular universe. 

    While I respect Lanza's premise that there exists sufficient evidence supporting the tremendous connection between microscopic quantum descriptions of reality and macroscopic classical reality, it seems clear to me that consciousness must be more than merely biological or bio-centric. While it's true that we likely do experience the most biologically friendly universes in the multiverse of all possible realities, consciousness itself extends beyond our ability to fully comprehend it, and is worthy of a 'centrism' of its own in terms of being the ultimate creative force in establishing physical reality. 

    I at times enjoyed and at other times felt annoyed by Lanza's style of writing, which ranges from playful to verging on arrogant. I'd love to feel Lanza was sharing more of his authentic, deeper feelings when describing, for example, what must have been a devastating blow as his sister slipped into a state of losing touch with her sense of reality. On the positive side, Lanza's breezy writing style makes this book about fairly heavy topics easy to read... so this book delving into physics, neuroscience, and the nature of reality is something you can sit down and read in a weekend. 

    I am enthusiastically supportive of Lanza's premise in BIOCENTRISM that consciousness is at the center of creating the physical world. Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1