Customer Reviews for

The Biology of Belief: Unleashing the Power of Consciousness, Matter and Miracles

Average Rating 4
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Finally, some answers from a scientific professional!

This is not an easy book to wade through, but certainly worth the effort. It is written by a cellular biologist, who has spent his career dissecting the cell's structure and core. He concludes, that a cell removed cannot live more than two days, but its encasing dies ...
This is not an easy book to wade through, but certainly worth the effort. It is written by a cellular biologist, who has spent his career dissecting the cell's structure and core. He concludes, that a cell removed cannot live more than two days, but its encasing dies immediately. This is profound in that, he concludes that it is not the cell but it's membrane that holds the key to life. I am grossly simplifying this but he compellingly and scientifically ties this new discovery to the soul, which science has been trying to find and identify forever.

I have been all over the map, first an Episcopalian, an agonistic, then an atheist and after having read this book, finally conclude that there is something larger in life -- the soul does exist. Lipton's findings have renewed my faith, not only in a higher being, but also in mankind as well. If you are looking for answers, this book gives, in my opinion, some highly plausible scientific conclusions beautifully tied to spirituality. I highly recommend The Biology of Belief. I continue to re-read sections, and would give it as a gift to open minded people searching for answers to life.

posted by PKWhitney on August 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

BORING!

I bought this book because Dr. Dyer endorsed it in his book Excuses Begone! What a mistake! It was so boring I kept falling asleep. I'm a pretty smart guy with a medical degree, degrees in genetics, zoology and inorganic chemistry so the medical lingo was no big deal...
I bought this book because Dr. Dyer endorsed it in his book Excuses Begone! What a mistake! It was so boring I kept falling asleep. I'm a pretty smart guy with a medical degree, degrees in genetics, zoology and inorganic chemistry so the medical lingo was no big deal. I just wanted some inspirational reading that would keep me focused. I wanted a book that I couldn't put down until it was finished. This is not the book!
I agree with the concepts but the material he presents could be stated in two pages. If you want to stop taking your ambien buy this book.

posted by NeilDTN on September 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Finally, some answers from a scientific professional!

    This is not an easy book to wade through, but certainly worth the effort. It is written by a cellular biologist, who has spent his career dissecting the cell's structure and core. He concludes, that a cell removed cannot live more than two days, but its encasing dies immediately. This is profound in that, he concludes that it is not the cell but it's membrane that holds the key to life. I am grossly simplifying this but he compellingly and scientifically ties this new discovery to the soul, which science has been trying to find and identify forever.

    I have been all over the map, first an Episcopalian, an agonistic, then an atheist and after having read this book, finally conclude that there is something larger in life -- the soul does exist. Lipton's findings have renewed my faith, not only in a higher being, but also in mankind as well. If you are looking for answers, this book gives, in my opinion, some highly plausible scientific conclusions beautifully tied to spirituality. I highly recommend The Biology of Belief. I continue to re-read sections, and would give it as a gift to open minded people searching for answers to life.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    Great explanation of cell biology

    Lipton has a gift of explaining complicated ideas in an easy to understand manner.He gives us a way to look at our biology that makes sense.By detailing cell biology, he gives us a scientific understanding to realize we are not at the mercy of our genes.He marries science & spirituality well.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2009

    A must have if you want to change your life!

    Biology of Belief, really shows us how little we know about our thoughts and beliefs. Most times we just follow someone else' opinion without during further research. We are gullible by nature and we carry around negative thought patterns and are not even aware of where most of it came from. This book "opens you up to your mind process, your thought processes and gives you the tools to allow for change and promoting more positive thinking. It is also very educational - talks about the Conscious and Sub-conscious Mind. This book clearly explains "Mind over Matter" as a true process. Bruce Lipton is a genius in this time and he really cares about the change we can make, in our lives to help ourselves, which helps others as well. Well done Bruce!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Bruce Lipton breaks exciting new ground in how we view our lives and more importantly, how we can change them.

    Biology of Belief is a must read for anyone who wishes to better understand how we are made and how we are constructed to work. Whether you are student of science or a spiritualist, Bruce Lipton takes us through a fascinating journey of discovery of ourselves. His scientific approach will appeal to scientific minds and his careful deduced conclusions will give everyone a fresh perspective on how we are meant to live. While the scientific process he employs may at times become too technical for the average person, his insights encourage us to a greater understanding of ourselves. Although this book was not advertised as a parenting book, parents and especially new parents could not have a better guide to help raise their children. This would make a great gift to be used and referred to for many years. It has challenged my core beliefs and given me a fresh perspective on my life. I believe, that the Biology of Belief will do the same for you.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2010

    Biology of Belief

    Mind altering information that will change how you view your life, what you think and what you do. Thought you were in control of what you were doing? Think again and be sure to listen to or read this information.
    It will change everything you thought about yourself. Very useful, insightful and unbelievably mind moggling.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    Riveting

    A Life changing book that will renew your soul and spirit.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2009

    Science that supports inner healing

    For those left brain thinkers, this book is an excellant read. It will help you see how positive thinking connects to the biology of our body to create change. It supports the mind-body-soul connection, and shows you just how that chain of reaction takes place within. All of us right brain thinkers will enjoy seeing how the thoughts direct the cells.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2012

    The Human Body is a Cell Phone

    Bruce H. Lipton Ph. D. successfully cloned stem cells. In doing it, he discovered that the mechanics of human cells (that together create the body you live in) are run by the same science that runs your CELL phone. Connect the two. A HUMAN BODY IS A CELL PHONE. You use it mostly on autopilot, preprogrammed with DNA and your young experiences. And, you're not just using your body to eat, breathe, and have sex, you're butt dialing, too. Want to know what you're calling into your life? Want to know how to program in what you really want to call? FINALLY, I have a book written by a cell biologist (and brilliant medical school professor) that I can give to my computer software engineer son and he'll understand me....

    You see, I am thrilled with Lipton's medical discoveries because they explain to me what I wrote in Indigo's Fall. I am a mystical artist and a science fiction screenwriter! What do I really know except how to use my imagination? Yet, in 2010, I was inspired to write Indigo's Fall, a very short, inspirational story, a conversation between GOD and a fallen angel. A work of blatant FICTION! Yet, Lipton's book just explained to me why I wrote it the way I did; why I painted the pictures that illustrate it; and that what I wrote is a metaphor for scientific fact. Wow!

    December 2012 is close and I do believe we are finally waking up in a world where peace, health, and harmony are possible for everyone. Want to believe in that? Lipton's book is a fairly easy read. And I think you will be amazed at your ability to understand quantum physics. If you want to know how to apply that science to improve your life, my book is a very easy read:) But, please read Lipton's first, and if you only want to read his, that's just fine with me. We are at opposite poles in the writing business. His book is NON FICTION. His book is BIOLOGICAL FACT. My book is entertainment, and spiritual inspiration—unless you read his book first. As a matter of fact, after writing this review, I now believe I found his book because I made a call.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2009

    BORING!

    I bought this book because Dr. Dyer endorsed it in his book Excuses Begone! What a mistake! It was so boring I kept falling asleep. I'm a pretty smart guy with a medical degree, degrees in genetics, zoology and inorganic chemistry so the medical lingo was no big deal. I just wanted some inspirational reading that would keep me focused. I wanted a book that I couldn't put down until it was finished. This is not the book!
    I agree with the concepts but the material he presents could be stated in two pages. If you want to stop taking your ambien buy this book.

    2 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Amazing, life changing

    Amazing! Please read and tell a friend

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Best book in a long time

    This is one of the best books i have read, probably number one (and i have read a lot of books). The science behind this book is incredible. I am a skeptic about most things not well studied. This book had me beleiving. It sounds silly, but it will really change your life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2010

    Life altering, for the better!

    A fabulous tool to get one started on the road to shedding negative emotions and finding true happiness. Dr. Lipton does an excellent job of building his case in a way that anyone can understand. He painstakingly walks one through his process, and his conclusion ends up being common sense. It is further uplifting when he gives workable solutions for eliminating our misperceptions and reprogramming our powerful subconscious. No longer do we have to carry with us the excess baggage of our ancestors! We can be our true selves.
    Frankly, I find such a potential very exciting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    Two Thumbs Up

    This book is good. It shakes the foundation of who and why.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2009

    For the textbook I ordered

    Delivered quick and new. Detailed ratings not applicable because I ordered a textbook.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2014

    A must-read

    Everyone needs the information in this book. It can and should change your life with an understanding of the cellular environment you're creating in your body.

    Dr. Lipton has a gift for using analogies and breaking down complex biology into terms that are easy to grasp and remember. It will enlighten both professionals and lay persons.

    I first listened to the audio book and then bought the paperback because I wanted to have it as a reference and for my loaner library. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2011

    Too New Age for me.

    I really had a problem taking this author seriously after the Prologue and the Introduction. I would like to explore more Ecogenics.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    Disappointing

    Infometcial forpsych k. No real help here but some decent science that could be covered in50 pages. Very disappointing

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Very disappointed

    This was more about Biology and cells than belief and a very misleading subtitle. What I thought would be a self help, or spititual enlightenment, was a lesson in Biology. For me, it was a waste of money. Way too much 'scientific' data.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4